Research Guides: CTI 2022 Library Resources : Exploring Memory & Race in America

History Databases

Bloomsbury Collections (ABC-CLIO)
Collection of ebooks covering history and literary criticism. Includes a large collection of American slave narratives.
African American Newspapers
Contains information about cultural life and history during the 1800's and includes first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, including the Mexican War, Presidential and Congressional addresses, the humanities, world travel and religion.
African American Newspapers Series 1: 1827-1998
Provides access to U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African-American experience. This collection includes historically significant papers and features many rare 19th-century titles.
American Civil War: Letters and Diaries
Provides access to more than 400 sources of diaries, letters, and memoirs from the Civil War era.

American Memory Project (Library of Congress)
Primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the U.S.

American Periodicals
Full text periodicals published between 1740 and 1940.
American Prison Newspapers, 1800-2020
American Prison Newspapers brings together hundreds of newspapers published within prisons by incarcerated people over the past 200 years. When complete, the collection will contain newspapers from prisons in every state, representing penal institutions of all kinds, including women-only institutions.

ArchiveGrid
Provides access to detailed archival collections descriptions.

more... less...

ArchiveGrid provides access to detailed archival collection descriptions, making information available about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and other archival materials. It also provides contact information for the institutions where the collections are kept.

Arts and Humanities Citation Index
An index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities, part of the Web of Science Core Collection. (Indexing: 1975+)
Artstor
A collection of images from major museums. ARTSTOR images cover art, architecture and archeology. Useful for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations. ARTSTOR is available solely for educational and scholarly uses that are noncommercial in nature. Images may NOT be placed on publicly accessible websites. UNC Charlotte students, faculty and staff can register for an account which allows off-campus access; this registration must happen while on campus.
Atlanta Constitution (1868-1942)
Newspaper includes obituaries, stocks and editorials.

Avalon Project
Documents in law, history and diplomacy. Free or open source.

more... less...

Documents from pre-18th through the 20th century relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government.

Black Women in America
Provides coverage of the achievements and contributions of African American women in sports, politics, academia, and business throughout history and highlights their contributions in America today.
Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876
140 newspaper titles from 22 islands from the 18th and 19th centuries. Research Colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, New World slavery, and more. Most of these newspapers were published in English, but some non-English titles are also included.

Charlotte and Mecklenburg County Newspapers
List of historical and current local newspapers owned by Atkins Library.

Charlotte Observer (1886-present)
Charlotte Observer online from 1886 to the present.
Charlotte Observer Historical Archive, 1886-2018 (via Readex)
Includes obituaries, stocks, editorials and first-hand accounts of events.
Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
A leading African-American newspaper, with more than two-thirds of its readership outside of Chicago.

Chronicling America: Historic Newspapers 1789-1963

City and Business Directories: North Carolina, 1886-1929 Digital Archive
Historical, personal, and professional information about the inhabitants of a city and city organizations.
Colección Revolución 1910-1921
Collection of historical documents on the Mexican Revolution.
Congress and the Nation (1945-Present)
Coverage of Congressional action from 1945 to present.

Digital South Asia Library
Provides digital materials for reference and research on South Asia. Free or open source.

Dissertations and Theses Global
Includes indexes and full-text of doctoral dissertations and master's theses.
Dissertations and Theses @ University of North Carolina Charlotte
This database provides access to the dissertations and theses produced by students at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte.

Documenting the American South
Primary source materials relating to Southern history. Open access.

more... less...

A collection of sources on Southern history, literature and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century. Includes: First-Person Narratives of the American South; Library of Southern Literature; North American Slave Narratives; The Southern Homefront, 1861-1865; The Church in the Southern Black Community.

Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800
Provides full-text and full-page-image access to books, pamphlets and broadsides printed in America from 1639-1800.

Early American Newspapers on Microfilm
Early American Newspapers owned by the J. Murrey Atkins Library, UNC Charlotte.

Education Index Retrospective 1929-1983 (H.W. Wilson)
Covers the field of education from 1929 through 1982. Contains some full-text. The database reflects more than six decades of Wilson's Education Index.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Digital facsimile page images of historical works from 1473 to 1700.
Eighteenth Century Collection Online (ECCO)
Works published in the UK during the 18th century.
Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages
The Oxford encyclopedia provides 3,000 concise and detailed articles on all aspects of the period from the fifth to the fifteenth century.

Europeana, 1914-1918
Explore stories, films and historical material about the First World War from libraries and archives across the globe

Evangelism in Africa: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1835-1910
Records of the Board of Foreign Missions (BFM) of the Presbyterian Church on social conditions in developing nations and efforts to spread the gospel during the nineteenth century. It includes correspondences, diary accounts, field accounts, and more.
Foreign Relations between Latin America and the Caribbean States, 1930 - 1944
Organized by country, this collection contains primary source documents relevant to the study of Latin American and Caribbean international relations.
Foreign Relations Between the U.S. and Latin America and the Caribbean States 1930-1944
Collection of primary source documents relevant to the study of U.S. relations with Latin America and the Caribbean during the 1930's.
Gale NewsVault
Platform for cross-searching a range of historical UK newspaper and periodical collections, including 19th century British Library Newspapers (Parts I and II); 19th Century UK Periodicals, Series 1; Times Digital Archive (1785-2006); and, Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive (1902-2007)
Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) History
Covers LGBTQ topics in Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean, the Middle East, and North America.
Greensboro Massacre, 1979: Shootout between the American Nazis and the Communist Workers Party
Collection of documents from FBI, local and state police, Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, and Firearms, and the Civill Rights Division of the Justice Department relating to the shootout and the aftermath.

Hansard (British Parliamentary Debates)

Harper's Weekly: 1857-1912
A 19th century illustrated newspaper from 1857-1912. Includes news stories, illustrations, cartoons, editorials, biographies, literature and advertisements.

HathiTrust Digital Library

HeinOnline

Legal history and government documents. Contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, U.S. Reports, and entire databases of treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, international trade, foreign relations, and more.
HeritageQuest
Includes family, local history and genealogy records, complete U.S. Census from 1790-1940, Revolutionary War records, and Freedman’s Bank records relating to free slaves.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during 19th and 20th centuries. Many of these newspapers were published bilingually in Spanish and English.
Historical Statistics of the United States
Source for statistical facts of American history.
History Commons - North America
19th Century African American newspapers, American County Histories to 1900, American Civil War Primary Sources, and more.

H-Net Reviews in the Humanities and Social Sciences
An online scholarly review resource. Free or open source.

more... less...

An online scholarly review resource.
ICON: International Coalition on Newspapers
Find digital newspaper collections for each country

Independent Voices
An open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers and magazines produced by feminists, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, and the extreme right-wing press.
Indian Trade in the Southeastern Spanish Borderlands: Papers of Panton, Leslie and Company
Trading firm papers dating from 1763-1901. Useful for the study of the American Indians of the Southeast.
International African Bibliography Online (IABO)
Contains entries from the International African Bibliography published in the years 1971 to 2015.

Internet Archive
The Internet Archive is a digital library of websites and other cultural artifacts in digital form

Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives on Day-to-Day Life
First-person accounts from interned Japanese Americans during World War II.
Latin American Newspapers (Series I), 1805-1922
Full-text access to more than 30 Latin American newspapers published 1805-1922.
Latin American Newspapers (Series II), 1822-1922
Series II of Latin American Newspapers expands the number of titles available from this region, including from some countries and cities not represented in Series I.
Liberation Movement in Africa and African America 1970-1985
Contains FBI surveillance files on the activities of the African Liberation Support Committee and All African People's Revolutionary Party. Includes views on African American support for liberation struggles in Africa and the issues of Pan-Africanism.
Literature, Culture and Society in Depression Era America: Archives of the Federal Writers' Project
The Federal Writers' Project (FWP) publications (1933-1943).
London Low Life (Adam Matthew)
Contains color digital images of rare books, ephemera, maps and other materials relating to street culture and social reform in 18th,19th and early 20th century London.

Making of America (MOA) (via Cornell University)
Primary sources in American social history for the 19th century.
Free or open source.

more... less...

A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 8,500 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.
Making of America (MOA) (via University of Michigan)
Primary sources in American social history for the 19th century.
Free or open source.

more... less...

A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 8,500 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.

Milestone Documents in American History
Combines primary source documents in American and world history with expert analysis and commentary.
Mountain People: Life and Culture in Appalachia
Diaries, journals and narratives of explorers, emigrants, military men, Native Americans and travelers to Appalachia.
New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
This leading Black newspaper of the 20th century reached its peak in the 1940s. It was a strong advocate for the desegregation of the U.S. military during World War II, and also covered the historically important Harlem Renaissance.
New York Times Historical Archives (1851-2021)
Major global newspaper including news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, as well as photos and advertisements.
19th Century British Library Newspapers

Contains full runs of 48 newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth century Britain.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO)
A comprehensive primary source collection focusing on the nineteenth century. This resource features collections on a variety of topics including children's literature, photography, European and African commerce, and more.
Eight Centuries (formerly 19th Century Masterfile)
Eight Centuries (formerly 19th Century Masterfile) is a database covering primary source materials from 1106 until 1960. Provides access to articles, newspapers, books, U.S. patents, government documents, and images.
19th Century UK Periodicals
A major multi-part series of periodicals which covers the events, lives, values and themes that shaped the 19th century world.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Colonial to 1950 - includes the experiences of 632 women as revealed in diaries and letters.
North Carolina Historical Newspapers
North Carolina Historical newspapers from late 1700s to 1859
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern World
This encyclopedia delves into the period from 1750 to the present, providing special attention to social, economic, cultural and political topics applicable to the time.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States
Draws together the diverse historical and contemporary experiences in the United States of Latinos and Latinas from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East. Articles address such broad topics as identity, art, politics, religion, education, health, and history.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures
An invaluable reference for interested lay persons, students, teachers, and scholars in such fields as art, archaeology, religious studies, anthropology, Latin American culture, and the history of the region.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History
Comprehensively covers the role women have played throughout world history. Contains biographies of influential women and articles covering geography and history, culture and society, organizations, movements, and gender studies.
Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001)
The oldest continuously published black newspaper dedicated to the needs and concerns of the fourth largest black community in the U.S. During the 1930s the paper supported the growth of the United Way, rallied against the riots in Chester, PA, and continuously fought against segregation.
Price Control in the Courts: The U.S. Emergency Court of Appeals, 1941 - 1961
Records from a temporary U.S. federal court established during World War II to determine the validity of price control regulations.

The Proceedings of the Old Bailey, 1674-1913
contains criminal trials held at London's central criminal court

more... less...

A fully searchable edition of the largest body of texts detailing the lives of non-elite people ever published, containing 197,745 criminal trials held at London's central criminal court

ProQuest Congressional
Provides access to Congressional information, including bills, laws, regulations, reports, documents, prints, the Code of Federal Regulations, the Federal Register, and the Congressional Record. Also includes information about members of Congress such as biographical data, voting records, campaign financial data and committees. Also includes legislative histories, bills and laws as well as regulations.
ProQuest Congressional Hearings
Access congressional publications dealing with the wide variety of topics addressed by Congress.
ProQuest Historical Annual Reports: America's Corporate Foundation
Annual reports from 1844 onward representing over 800 leading North American companies.
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States (1970-present)
This database continues the Statistical Abstract published annually by the Census Bureau and contains data from 1970-present. In addition, it includes enhancements such as monthly updates of content and line-item access to tables.
PubMed
Contains millions of citations for biomedical and health literature from MEDLINE and other sources. To access full text from Atkins Library's journal collections in addition to full-text content from PubMed Central and open access publications, use the links provided on Atkins Library web pages.
Punch Historical Archive, 1841-1992
Iconic British humor and satire magazine. For research on 19th and 20th century political social history.
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson)
Index for general-interest, news, and opinion magazines published primarily in the United States.
Revolution in Mexico, the 1917 Constitution, and Its Aftermath
This collection of U.S. State Department records consists of political and military documents relating to the Mexican Revolution and its aftermath 1910 - 1924.
Sanborn Maps (Digital)(1867-1970) for North Carolina
Sanborn Maps are large scale plans of a city or a town, drawn to a scale of 50 feet to an inch. These historical maps from 1867–1970 list street blocks and building numbers including numbers in use at the time the map was made.

Sarai (South Asia Resource Access on the Internet)
Sarai (South Asia Resource Access on the Internet).
Free or open source.

more... less...

Sarai (South Asia Resource Access on the Internet)

South Carolina's Historical Newspapers
South Carolina Historical newspapers from late 1700s to 1859.
Student Activism
This collection captures the voices of students across the great range of protest, political actions, and equal-rights advocacy from the 20th and early 21st century United States. The primary sources are broad-based across time, geography, and political viewpoint — from conservative to anarchist.
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States (1970-present)
This database continues the Statistical Abstract published annually by the Census Bureau and contains data from 1970-present. In addition, it includes enhancements such as monthly updates of content and line-item access to tables.
Times Digital Archive
Historical newspaper archive with full-text coverage of the Times from 1785 to 2013. Supports research across multiple disciplines including business, humanities, political science, and philosophy with coverage of all major international historical events.
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive
Full coverage from 1902-2019. Reviews of books in many disciplines, theatre, musical performances, art exhibitions, film, media, and other cultural events as well as editorial and commentary articles.
Trench Journals and Unit Magazines of the First World War
A unique source of information on the common serviceman and woman’s experience of the war. Limit your search by language, unit name, type, origin or location, etc.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set
Reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, 1817-1962.
War Department and Indian Affairs, 1800 - 1824
Collection of letters received by and sent to the War Department.

War of the Rebellion
A compilation of the official records of the Union and Confederate Armies. Free or open source. Cornell.

more... less...

Site includes correspondence, orders, reports, and returns of both the Union and Confederate armies. Series I: Formal reports, both Union and Confederate, of the first seizures of United States property in the Southern States, and of all military operations in the field. Series II: Correspondence, orders, reports, and returns, Union and Confederate, relating to prisoners of war. Series III: Correspondence, orders, reports, and returns of the Union authorities. Series IV: Correspondence, orders, reports, and returns of the Confederate authorities.

Web of Science
This multidisciplinary database includes a citation mapping feature that allows you to track research across time, including almost 1.7 billion cited references allowing for comprehensive searches.

World Digital Library
Significant primary materials from all countries and cultures

Historical Newspapers - Electronic

African American Newspapers
Contains information about cultural life and history during the 1800's and includes first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, including the Mexican War, Presidential and Congressional addresses, the humanities, world travel and religion.
African American Newspapers Series 1: 1827-1998
Provides access to U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African-American experience. This collection includes historically significant papers and features many rare 19th-century titles.
African American Newspapers in the South, 1870-1926
Provides access to a collection of newspapers reporting on the African American experience in segregated southern America from 1870 to 1926. The collection contains editorial pieces that expose the racial discrimination and violence that many suffered through, and also includes light-hearted pieces that focused on other civil affairs, events, local gossip, and more throughout the local community.
America's Historical Newspapers
Searchable American newspaper collections, including African American Newspapers Series 1, 1827-1998; Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876; South Carolina's Historical Newspapers; Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980; and selected historical newspapers.
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection
Includes over 8,000 periodicals with coverage of American and World History from 1684-1912
American Hebrew and Jewish Messenger (1857-1922)
The American Hebrew was a weekly Jewish newspaper published in New York City. In 1903 it merged with the Jewish Messenger. Covered many topics of Jewish interest internationally.
Indigenous Newspapers in North America, 1828-2016 (Adam Matthew)

A collection of national periodicals as well as local community news and student publications from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada
American Periodicals
Full text periodicals published between 1740 and 1940.
American Prison Newspapers, 1800-2020
American Prison Newspapers brings together hundreds of newspapers published within prisons by incarcerated people over the past 200 years. When complete, the collection will contain newspapers from prisons in every state, representing penal institutions of all kinds, including women-only institutions.
Atlanta Constitution (1868-1942)
Newspaper includes obituaries, stocks and editorials.
Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876
140 newspaper titles from 22 islands from the 18th and 19th centuries. Research Colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, New World slavery, and more. Most of these newspapers were published in English, but some non-English titles are also included.
Charlotte Observer (1886-present)
Charlotte Observer online from 1886 to the present.
Charlotte Observer Historical Archive, 1886-2018 (via Readex)
Includes obituaries, stocks, editorials and first-hand accounts of events.
Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
A leading African-American newspaper, with more than two-thirds of its readership outside of Chicago.
Christian Recorder, 1861-1902
The oldest existing black periodical in America. Focused on religious news, but also includes articles about education, voting rights, equality and other secular issues that affected the lives of black Americans.

Chronicling America: Historic Newspapers 1789-1963
Newspaper digitization project from the Library of Congress

Colored American, 1837-1841
Covers social and political issues of the 19th century. Published in Washington, D.C. the newspaper routinely featured articles on religion, politics, education, military affairs and black fraternal organizations.
Douglass' Monthly, 1859-1863
Dedicated to abolitionism and social reform, it was one of four newspapers published by Frederick Douglass.
Frederick Douglass' Paper, 1851-1855
Formerly known as the North Star, publisher Frederick Douglass decided to make the title change in 1851.
Freedom's Journal, 1827-1829
The first American newspaper written by blacks for blacks.
Gale NewsVault
Platform for cross-searching a range of historical UK newspaper and periodical collections, including 19th century British Library Newspapers (Parts I and II); 19th Century UK Periodicals, Series 1; Times Digital Archive (1785-2006); and, Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive (1902-2007)
Harper's Weekly: 1857-1912
A 19th century illustrated newspaper from 1857-1912. Includes news stories, illustrations, cartoons, editorials, biographies, literature and advertisements.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during 19th and 20th centuries. Many of these newspapers were published bilingually in Spanish and English.
Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection
Newspapers.com North Carolina Collection includes digitized content from over 1,000 NC county newspapers.
History Commons - North America
19th Century African American newspapers, American County Histories to 1900, American Civil War Primary Sources, and more.

ICON: International Coalition on Newspapers
Find digital newspaper collections for each country

Independent Voices
An open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers and magazines produced by feminists, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, and the extreme right-wing press.
Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives on Day-to-Day Life
First-person accounts from interned Japanese Americans during World War II.
Jerusalem Post (1932-2008)
Founded in 1932 as The Palestine Post, this paper established itself as the top English-language paper of the Middle East and Jewish world. The publication fervently supported the struggle for a Jewish homeland and freely opposed British restrictions on Jewish immigration. Over the decades, the paper espoused a left-leaning perspective that shifted to the right in the 1980s.
Jewish Advocate (1905-1990)
Founded in 1902, this is the oldest continually-circulated English-language Jewish newspaper in the United States.
Jewish Exponent (1887-1990)
Carried news of developments in Israel, efforts to rescue Jews the world over from repressive regimes, and the ever-expanding role of Jews in American public life.
Latin American Newspapers (Series I), 1805-1922
Full-text access to more than 30 Latin American newspapers published 1805-1922.
Latin American Newspapers (Series II), 1822-1922
Series II of Latin American Newspapers expands the number of titles available from this region, including from some countries and cities not represented in Series I.
LexisNexis News (Nexis Uni)

National and international news, business news and company reports including articles from magazines, newspapers and newsletters.
London Low Life (Adam Matthew)
Contains color digital images of rare books, ephemera, maps and other materials relating to street culture and social reform in 18th,19th and early 20th century London.
National Era, 1847-1860
Issued weekly in D.C. for more than 13 years. With emphasis on literary reviews and commentaries it was the paper in which Uncle Tom's Cabin was serialized.
National Geographic Magazine (1888-1994)
Provides in-depth coverage of cultures, nature, science, technology and more with comprehensive, relevant articles and legendary photographs and maps.
New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
This leading Black newspaper of the 20th century reached its peak in the 1940s. It was a strong advocate for the desegregation of the U.S. military during World War II, and also covered the historically important Harlem Renaissance.
New York Times Historical Archives (1851-2021)
Major global newspaper including news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, as well as photos and advertisements.
NewsBank
Full-text newspaper articles covering international, national, and local news. Includes the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Washington Post, Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, Charlotte Observer, and many others.
19th Century British Library Newspapers

Contains full runs of 48 newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth century Britain.
19th Century British Pamphlets
Contains the most significant British pamphlets from the 19th century held in UK research libraries. Pamphlets were an important means of public debate, covering the key political, social, technological, and environmental issues of their day.
Eight Centuries (formerly 19th Century Masterfile)
Eight Centuries (formerly 19th Century Masterfile) is a database covering primary source materials from 1106 until 1960. Provides access to articles, newspapers, books, U.S. patents, government documents, and images.

Global Press Archive (1767-2021)
The East View Global Press Archive® (GPA) is a groundbreaking program to create the most comprehensive collection of digital news sources from around the world. Includes newspapers in more than 30 languages

19th Century UK Periodicals
A major multi-part series of periodicals which covers the events, lives, values and themes that shaped the 19th century world.
North Carolina Historical Newspapers
North Carolina Historical newspapers from late 1700s to 1859
North Star, 1847-1851
African-American newspaper devoted to the cause of Liberty, Humanity and Progress. Edited by Frederick Douglass and M.R. Delaney, the paper was dedicated to the abolishment of slavery and in support of women's rights.
Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001)
The oldest continuously published black newspaper dedicated to the needs and concerns of the fourth largest black community in the U.S. During the 1930s the paper supported the growth of the United Way, rallied against the riots in Chester, PA, and continuously fought against segregation.
Provincial Freeman, 1854-1857
Devoted to anti-slavery, temperance and general literature, with no affiliation to a particular political party. Edited and published by blacks in the Province of Canada West (now called Ontario) where many fugitive slaves from the United States had settled.
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson)
Index for general-interest, news, and opinion magazines published primarily in the United States.
South Carolina's Historical Newspapers
South Carolina Historical newspapers from late 1700s to 1859.
Times Digital Archive
Historical newspaper archive with full-text coverage of the Times from 1785 to 2013. Supports research across multiple disciplines including business, humanities, political science, and philosophy with coverage of all major international historical events.
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive
Full coverage from 1902-2019. Reviews of books in many disciplines, theatre, musical performances, art exhibitions, film, media, and other cultural events as well as editorial and commentary articles.
Trench Journals and Unit Magazines of the First World War
A unique source of information on the common serviceman and woman’s experience of the war. Limit your search by language, unit name, type, origin or location, etc.
Times Picayune (1923-1988)
News Orleans-based newspaper covering 1923-1988
US Newsstream
Provides access to newspapers, news websites, and blogs from leading publishers throughout the world.
Washington Post
Full text of The Washington Post newspaper from Dec 4, 1996 - present
Weekly Advocate, Jan. 1837-Mar. 1838
African-American newspaper published weekly. On March 4, 1837, issue number 9 of the newspaper was published under the new name of The Colored American.

CTI 2022 Library Resources

Your Librarian

Africana Studies Databases

Ethnographies/ Anthropological Works

Latin American Newspapers or Magazines

History Databases

Historical Newspapers - Electronic