Charlotte's Founding Presbyterian Churches

Steele Creek Presbyterian Church was organized in 1760 by Scott Irish settlers and has since been a place for community for over 257 years. It is the second oldest church in Mecklenburg County. While the new congregation has merged with Pleasant Hill Presbyterian Church the historic building still stands  as does the associated cemetery and both are on the National Register of Historical Places. 

Steele Creek Presbyterian Church Photographs - MS0585 

Mecklenburg Iron Works drawings

• Steele Creek Presbyterian Church Building (Charlotte, N.C)--drawings, undated - Map case 1.8

Charlotte-Mecklenburg Historic Landmarks Commission Records-Box 3, Folder 67

• Steele Creek Presbyterian Church (1889) and Cemetery

Mecklenburg Historical Association Records

• Tombstone of Thomas Akins at Steele Creek Presbyterian Church, Mecklenburg County, undated

Mary Boyer collection of historical postcards and papers - Box 6.6

• Steele Creek Presbyterian Church and Cemetery

Kenneth Wilson Whitsett Papers - Box 3, folder 36

• Steele Creek Presbyterian Church--engraving plate

Arthur and Farrar Family Papers - Box 10, Folder 23

• Wilson Family, 1887-1978 - contains clippings about Steele Creek Presbyterian Church

Central Steele Creek Presbyterian Church (Charlotte, N.C.) records. 1845-1994

• Includes session minutes (1885-1838, 1958-1970), register (1911-1938, 1961-1970), membership rolls (1885, 1896, 1900, 1913), treasurer ledger (1845-1887). Also videotape "Upon this Rock" for the church's bicentennial celebration in 1994.

Steele Creek Presbyterian Church (Charlotte, N.C.) newsletters and cemetery booklet. 1953-1978

• This collection consists of congregation newsletters titled "Cross Currents" (1975, 1977-1978) and one booklet titled "A list of those buried in historic Steele Creek burying grounds, Mecklenburg County, Charlotte, North Carolina, 1760-1953" compiled by Mrs. Robert McDowell in 1953.

Central Steele Creek Presbyterian Church (Charlotte, N.C.) newsletters. 1974-2004

• Congregation newsletters, 1974-2004.

Steele Creek Presbyterian Church (Charlotte, N.C.) history. 1930-1998

• This history includes the years 1930-1931, 1936-1986, 1988, 1991, 1993, 1995-1996, 1998. Part of Presbyterian Women History collection. circa 1930-present

Watt M. Cooper papers. 1950-1973

• The collection includes photocopies of sermons and addresses delivered by Cooper, who served as pastor of Steele Creek Presbyterian Church (Charlotte, N.C.). Included are addresses given before the graduating class of Union Theological Seminary in Virginia, 1962; for the centennial of Graham Presbyterian Church (N.C.), 1950; and for the bicentennial of Steele Creek Presbyterian Church (Charlotte, N.C.), 1960.