Research Guides: INES 8102: Infrastructure Systems: Resources

Environmental and Earth Science Databases

GeoRef This link opens in a new window
The GeoRef database, produced by the American Geosciences Institute, is focused on comprehensive coverage of geoscience literature published worldwide. The content is indexed with geoscience terms from the GeoRef Thesaurus, and geolocation data (latitude/longitude) is also assigned, when applicable. GeoRef is the most in-depth A&I database available for geoscience literature and research. It helps researchers to address some of the most urgent environmental concerns.
GeoScienceWorld This link opens in a new window
Provides access to 45+ journals in the earth sciences as well as the GeoRef abstract and index database.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage in agriculture, ecology, energy, natural resources, geography, pollution and waste management, public policy, social impacts, urban planning and more.

Engineering Databases

Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Compendex and Inspec databases. Search millions of records in physics, communications, information technology, operations research, environmental science, geophysics, nanotechnology, biomedical technology and biophysics, and all engineering disciplines.

ASCE CEDB
The ASCE Civil Engineering Database includes all ASCE publications. Includes abstracts and citations only. Full text to articles is not available.

General Databases

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database includes a citation mapping feature that allows you to track research across time, including almost 1.7 billion cited references allowing for comprehensive searches.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Literature across all fields of science and social science. Comprehensive coverage of literature across all fields of science and social science. Provides access to more than 850 of Elsevier's primary research journals, which focus on scientific, medical, biomedical and technical areas.

Database collections

EndNote

EndNote 101 - Research Guides at UNC Charlotte

Government Resources

US Geological Survey
SciTech Connect
Contains all the full-text documents and citations previously found in Information Bridge and Energy Citations Database; contains over sixty-five years of energy-related citations created and/or collected by OSTI.
more...less...
Over 2.5 million citations, including citations to 1.4 million journal articles, 364,000 of which have digital object identifiers (DOIs) linking to full-text articles on publishers’ websites. SciTech Connect also has over 313,000 full-text DOE sponsored STI reports; most of these are post-1991, but close to 85,000 of the reports were published prior to 1990.
SciTech Connect includes technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia, and data information sponsored by DOE through a grant, contract, cooperative agreement, or similar type of funding mechanism from the 1940s to today. This collection continues to grow as new scientific and technical information resulting from DOE research becomes available.
Science Accelerator
Searches information resources of the U.S. Depart of Energy. Free or open source.
more...less...
A gateway to science, including R&D results, project descriptions, accomplishments, and more, via resources made available by the Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), U.S. Department of Energy.
Science.gov
searches over 55 databases and over 2100 selected websites from 13 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results.
data.gov
The purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government.