Research Guides: POLS / LTAM 3164: U.S. Latin American Relations: Primary Sources

Government Documents

Congress.gov
Public laws and bills, Congressional Record, Reports, Roll Call. Free or open source.
govinfo (formerly FDsys)
Provides public access to Government information submitted by Congress and Federal agencies and preserved as technology changes.

ProQuest Congressional
Provides access to Congressional information, including bills, laws, regulations, reports, documents, prints, the Code of Federal Regulations, the Federal Register, and the Congressional Record. Also includes information about members of Congress such as biographical data, voting records, campaign financial data and committees. Also includes legislative histories, bills and laws as well as regulations.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set
Reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, 1817-1962.

FOIA Documents Collection
U.S. Department of State declassified (FOIA) documents for Argentina, Chile, El Salvador and Guatemala
Human Rights in Latin America (CIA) (1964-1995)
This information deals with human rights in Latin America, with some documents dating from 1964 to 1995.

more... less...

Most of the documents concern El Salvador and Guatemala, but the collection also contains records on Brazil, Nicaragua, Honduras, Chile, and Peru.
National Security Archive Declassified
documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA)

Foreign Relations of the United States
Access to cumulative indexes for 1861-1899 and 1900-1918

more... less...

From University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
Foreign Relations of the United States
1914-2000. Official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions that have been declassified and edited for publication.

Foreign Relations Between the U.S. and Latin America and the Caribbean States 1930-1944
Collection of primary source documents relevant to the study of U.S. relations with Latin America and the Caribbean during the 1930's.
Foreign Relations between Latin America and the Caribbean States, 1930 - 1944
Organized by country, this collection contains primary source documents relevant to the study of Latin American and Caribbean international relations.

Presidential Libraries and Museums
Search for digitized content from the US Presidential Libraries and Museums
Public Papers of the Presidents
Volumes of the Public Papers of the Presidents from 1929 (Herbert Hoover) to 1991 (George H.W. Bush) published by NARA

HeinOnline

Legal history and government documents. Contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, U.S. Reports, and entire databases of treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, international trade, foreign relations, and more.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)
Source for legal research, business, news, etc. Search across global news sources, access federal and state legal cases, find company information, and more

DPLA
A portal to digitized content made available by libraries, archives and museums

A repository for digital collections. Items in the public domain (works published before 1923) are freely accessible online.

A digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Includes digitized books, periodicals, media, and more.