Research Guides: Dance Databases: Welcome

Dance Resources

Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance
From the Oxford University Press Digital Reference Shelf collection.
more...less...
Provides authoritative and up-to-date information about theatre and performance from ancient Greek theatre to the latest developments in London, Paris, New York, and around the globe. In addition to performances in playhouses, it covers dance, opera, radio, film, television, and popular performance, including carnivals, circus, and public executions.

Arts and Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
Dance in Video (Volumes I and II) This link opens in a new window
Contains over nine hundred hours of dance videos - concert videos and documentaries, covering ballet, tap, contemporary, experimental, and improvisation, among others.
International Encyclopedia of Dance This link opens in a new window
Covers the full spectrum of dance-theatrical, ritual, dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance. Cultural and national overviews are accompanied by entries on dance forms, and costumes, performances, and biographies of dancers and choreographers.
Music & Performing Arts Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes trade journals, magazines, books, and newspapers covering theater, dance, film, television, stagecraft, broadcast arts, storytelling, and more. Also includes the Music Periodicals Database.
OntheBoards.tv This link opens in a new window
Website that delivers full-length, high quality contemporary performance films that introduce audiences to artistic innovators who are defining the future of dance, theater and music.

Paramodernities
Series of lecture-performances and dance-experiments performed alongside contributions by scholars and writers.

Art and Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage for periodicals and books in art and architecture. Specifically covers fine, decorative and commercial art, plus architecture and architectural design.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
An index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities, part of the Web of Science Core Collection. (Indexing: 1975+)
Artstor This link opens in a new window
A collection of images from major museums. ARTSTOR images cover art, architecture and archeology. Useful for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations. ARTSTOR is available solely for educational and scholarly uses that are noncommercial in nature. Images may NOT be placed on publicly accessible websites. UNC Charlotte students, faculty and staff can register for an account which allows off-campus access; this registration must happen while on campus.
ProQuest Arts Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to multiple collections with thousands of journals covering the arts, humanities, performing arts, and more.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A great database to get started with for your research on any topic. Use it to search for articles from scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals, newspapers, and magazines.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
This resource provides high quality streaming videos about a range of subjects. The videos include award winning documentaries plus interviews, training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to academic journals and books covering a wide range of disciplines; it also includes some limited primary source collections.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Source for legal research, business, news, etc. Search across global news sources, access federal and state legal cases, find company information, and more
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and ebooks in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This database is a good starting point for sports and sports medicine research; it includes journal articles, books, dissertations, and other scholarly sources about nutrition, physical therapy, occupational health, exercise physiology, and kinesiology.