Comprehensive search of Gale's all literature archive resources, including Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online, Literature Criticism Online, and Something About the Author Online.
A great database to get started with for your research on any topic. Use it to search for articles from scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals, newspapers, and magazines.
Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina this resource presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and in-depth oral histories.
The full text of plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 100 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries.
A unique archive of almost every play submitted for licence between 1737 and 1824, includes hundreds of documents that provide social context for the plays.
Essentially the complete English poetic canon from the 8th century to the early 20th. Over 160,000 poems by more than 1,250 poets drawn from nearly 4,500 printed sources.
Contains unpublished poems, working notebooks, and early annotated editions from the Victorian period's most famous authors. Also showcases the business of Victorian publishing through documenting the relationship between writers and their publishers through correspondence and financial and legal documents.
Offers scans of 190 manuscripts from the 17th and 18th century. Collection includes poetry, household accounts, medicinal recipes, and draft letters through printed and handwritten works.
Uncovers the workings of the early book trade, the printing and publishing community, the establishment of legal requirements for copyright provisions and the history of bookbinding c. 1554-2007.
Explores women authors who were "lost" due to their writing only existing in an unpublished manuscript form. The manuscripts in this database were all written by women in the British Isles during the 16th and 17th centuries.
Uncovers some of the best known literature and fine art of the Romantic era. All documents are digitized in color and include verse and printed manuscripts, diaries, travel journals, guidebooks, fine art, and maps.
Showcases rare and unique prompt books that tell the story of Shakespeare's plays as they were performed throughout Great Britain, the United States, and internationally between the seventeenth and twentieth centuries.
Offers insights into the performance practices in the reconstructed Globe Theatre through prompt books, wardrobe notes, programs, publicity material, annual reports, show reports, photographs and architectural plans.
Twayne World, US, and English Authors each contains the full text of 200 frequently used Twayne Literary Masters books on individual World, US, or English authors, for a total of 600 individual full-text titles.
More than 50,000 poems by important contemporary American poets.
This unparalleled collection includes 52,000 poems drawn from 750 volumes by over 300 poets, including Adrienne Rich, Andrei Codrescu, Ezra Pound, William Carlos Williams, Denise Levertov, Wallace Stevens, Langston Hughes, Lucille Clifton, and Cathy Song.
Text of hundreds of 20th Century British poems by major poets.
A collection of 598 volumes of poetry by 283 poets from 1900 to the present day, including W. B. Yeats, Rudyard Kipling, Robert Graves, A. E. Housman, John Betjeman, Fleur Adcock, Tony Harrison, Benjamin Zephaniah and Carol Ann Duffy, and incorporating the poets in The Faber Poetry Library.
Explores Victorian social history through the growth of entertainment and leisure activities ranging from freak shows and seances to music halls and the first moving pictures.
A historical survey of literary theory and criticism. It includes more than 240 alphabetically arranged entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements. Also the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.
Comprehensive online dictionary of the English language.
The most comprehensive dictionary of the English language. It traces the development of English from approximately 1150 AD up to the present day. It covers the full spectrum of English language usage, from formal to slang, as it has evolved over time. Contains the complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition, first published in 1989, together with its 3-volume Additions Series.
Written by an international roster of more than 300 authors, the Encyclopedia comprehensively documents and interprets the books read by children throughout the world.
Provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.
