Research Guides: Latin American Studies Databases: Resources by Region/Country

TIP! Find Legislation by Country

A good way to start looking for the legislation of each country: write the words “gaceta official de….” (Panama, Venezuela, Cuba, etc)

Latin American Newspapers

Latin American Newspapers (Series I), 1805-1922 This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to more than 30 Latin American newspapers published 1805-1922.
Latin American Newspapers (Series II), 1822-1922 This link opens in a new window
Series II of Latin American Newspapers expands the number of titles available from this region, including from some countries and cities not represented in Series I.
Latin American Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Latin American Newsstream includes titles from Brazil, Mexico, Argentina, Costa Rica, Peru, Uruguay, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guatemala, Puerto Rico, and Venezuela. Key newspaper titles include: El Universal (Mexico City);O Globo (Brazil);La Nación (Argentina);and El Mercurio (Chile). Newspapers are in Spanish and Portuguese.

Resources by Country/Region

Abuelas de plaza de mayo
Acción Socialista
Digitized issues of a socialist newspaper published in Argentina from 1905 to 1910.
Argentina Declassification Project
Declassified U.S. Government Files about Argentina
Boletín Oficial de la República Argentina
Official journal of Argentina includes laws, regulations and other governmental information. Some materials dating back to the 1920s
CELS: centro de estudias legales y sociales
Under the subtitle "documentacion" there are hundreds of testimonies
DerechosHumanos.net
Herramientas para la Defensa y Promoción de los Derechos Humanos.
more...less...
This is a detailed report of 1970s dictatorship in Argentina. The commission of truth gathered hundreds of testimonies of people or their families who had been tortured, disappeared, or murdered in the 1970s. The report was published in 1983.
Derechos Humanos: Argentina
LIST of NGOs working about human rights in Argentina. You may like to explore one by one, some of them have maps, testimonies.
History of the Left in Latin America
Two digitized magazines: La Cultura En México (1987-1988) and Los Libros (Argentina 1969-1976)
Marshall T. Meyer Papers
This digital collection documents the human rights activism of the Rabbi Marshall T. Meyer in 1970s and 1980s Argentina.
Protesta Humana: Periódico Anarquista
Digitized version of the Argentinian anarcho-syndicalist paper from 1897 to 1902

Bolivia. Diario de lucha (Che Guevara)
Bolivia Digital Pamphlets Collection
Alfredo Montalvo Bolivian Digital Pamphlets Collection
more...less...
From Cornell University Library Digital Collections
Fundacion Tierra
Non-governmental organization in La Paz, Bolivia
Portal Juridico Lexivox Libre
Includes Bolivian laws and decrees since 1825 to the present
Biblioteca y Archivo Histórico de la Asamblea Legislativa Plurinacional
Search across digitized newspapers from the Library and Historical Archive of the Plurinational Legislative Assembly (national legislature of Bolivia). Date range depends on the newspaper but broadly includes 1873-1928.

Biblioteca Digital da Fundação Biblioteca Nacional
Digital collection of the National Library of Brazil includes books, manuscripts, newspapers and more
Brasil: Nunca Mais Digital
Brazilian documents from 1961 to 1970 including those dealing with civil rights violations
Brazilian Government Document Digitization Project
The Latin American Materials Project (LAMP) at the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) has digitized executive branch serial documents issued by Brazil’s national government between 1821 and 1993, and by its provincial governments from the earliest available for each province to the end of the first Republic in 1930.
Código Brasiliense
Collection of Brazilian laws and other official documents from 1808-1822
Diario de Pernambuco 1825-1924
Brazilian newspaper
Documentos Revelados
Documents pertaining to the military dictatorship in Brazil 1964-1985
Opening the Archives: Documenting U.S.-Brazil Relations, 1960s-80s
Joint effort by Brown University and the Universidade Estadual de Maringá, Paraná, Brazil to digitize and index 100,000 U.S. State Department documents on Brazil from 1963-73 and make them available to the public on a open-access website.

Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876 This link opens in a new window
140 newspaper titles from 22 islands from the 18th and 19th centuries. Research Colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, New World slavery, and more. Most of these newspapers were published in English, but some non-English titles are also included.

Caribbean Newspaper Digital Library
Digitized versions of Caribbean newspapers, gazettes, and other research materials on newsprint currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.
more...less...
The Caribbean Newspaper Digital Library (CNDL) is supported by the Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC), a cooperative digital library for newspapers resources from the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean.
Caribbean Sea Migration Collection (Cuban, Dominican and Haitian migration 1965-1996)
Materials from (or related to) the migration by sea of Cubans, Dominicans, and Haitians, including the refugee camp for Cuban and Haitian rafters that existed in Guantanamo Bay, Cuba, largely dating from 1991-1996.
Digital Library of the Caribbean
The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean

Central American Broadsides
Dating from the 1820s to 1922, the broadsides are primarily Guatemalan, with a smaller number from Honduras, Costa Rica, El Salvador, and Nicaragua.
more...less...
Broadsides from the Kenneth Spencer Research Library's William J. Griffith Collection of Guatemala and Central America, University of Kansas

Archivo Nacional de Chile: Colleciones digitalles
Digital collections from the National Archives of Chile
Chile and the United States: Declassified Documents Relating to the Military Coup, September 11, 1973
Collection of declassified records that shed light on events in Chile between 1970 and 1976
more...less...
National Security Archive
Chilean Protest Murals (1983-1990)
Many hundreds of protest murals were created in Chile during the dictatorship of Gen. Augusto Pinochet from 1973 to 1990
more...less...
Harvard Library
National Security Archive Chile Documentation Project
16,000 secret U.S. records on the Pinochet dictatorship in Chile, and Washington’s role in the violent overthrow of the Allende government and the advent of the military regime to power

J. León Helguera Collection of Colombiana
Collection of digitized broadsides, 1825-1972; pamphlets (including novenas), 1785-1969; and programas, 1819-1914 from Colombia
El Tiempo (1911-2007)
Colombian newspaper; part of Google News Archive
Banco de la República de Colombia, Documents and Special Collections
Database of primary sources including photographs, oral histories, and more.

Boeri Collection of Cuban-American Radionovelas, 1963-1970
Entertainment programming designed for both U.S. Latino and Latin American audiences. Content included radionovelas/dramas, comedies, advice programs, biblical dramas, mysteries, spy stories, and variety shows.
Castro Speech Database (1959-1996)
Speeches, interviews, etc., by Fidel Castro from 1959 to 1996. All texts are in English.
Cuban Heritage Collection (CHC)
Digital manuscripts, photographs, letters, maps and other resources held in the University of Miami Libraries Cuban Heritage Collection
Cuban Revolution Research Guide to Digital Collections
Curated by Yale University Library
National Security Archive Cuba Documentation Project

Repositorio Digital FLACSO Ecuador
This institutional repository has been created to administer, disseminate, preserve and provide access to academic resources produced by the different headquarters, programs and projects of the Latin American Faculty of Social Sciences, FLACSO.

Colección Conflicto Armado del Museo de la Palabra y la Imagen (1979-2001)
Political propaganda produced during the Salvadoran armed conflict, by clandestine groups and non-governmental organizations, as well as the military.
El Salvador Declassification Project
US State Department documents dealing with human rights abuses in El Salvador between 1979 and 1991
Hemeroteca del Museo de la Palabra y la Imagen (1976-1992)
Clandestine publications from the period of the Salvadoran armed conflict, collected by the Museo de la Palabra y la Imagen.
UWCHR El Salvador Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) Documents
This collection contains documents regarding human rights during El Salvador’s civil war, which were results of FOIA requests based on research conducted by the UWCHR’s “Unfinished Sentences” project.
more...less...
This collection contains documents that were released by United States government federal agencies to the University of Washington Center for Human Rights (UWCHR) as a result of Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) requests submitted by UWCHR staff and student researchers, and from a FOIA lawsuit that the University of Washington brought against the Central Intelligence Agency in October 2015.

Archivo de Inforpress Centroamericana (1978- 1982)
News clippings and documents compiled by Inforpress Centroamericana on the topic of Violence in Guatemala
Civil War, Society and Political Transition in Guatemala
The Guatemala News and Information Bureau Archive (1963-2000)
Guatemala Declassification Project
US State Department documents dealing with human rights abuses in Guatemala between 1984-1995
Guatemalan National Police Historical Archive
For the study of Guatemalan history and human rights in the region
more...less...
The AHPN Digital Archive is a collaborative project of the University of Texas' Lozano Long Institute for Latin American Studies, Rapoport Center for Human Rights and Justice, and Benson Latin American Collection, with the Archivo Histórico de la Policía Nacional de Guatemala.

Historic Mexican and Mexican-American Press
Publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s

Colección Revolución 1910-1921 This link opens in a new window
Collection of historical documents on the Mexican Revolution.

Hemeroteca Nacional Digital de Mexico
The Digital National Library of Mexico (HNDM) is a virtual repository of historical periodicals from Mexico.

Revolution in Mexico, the 1917 Constitution, and Its Aftermath This link opens in a new window
This collection of U.S. State Department records consists of political and military documents relating to the Mexican Revolution and its aftermath 1910 - 1924.

Archivo de Lucas Alamán
Collection of more than 300 documents dealing with colonial Mexico from the 17th and 18th centuries and 19th century correspondence; in Spanish
Archivo General de la Nacion (AGN) Mexico
Digital archives of Archivo General de la Nacion.
El Informador - Hemeroteca Digital
Full-text archive of El Informador (1917-2006). Allows browsing by issue or advanced search
El Siglo de Torreón
Newspaper from Torreon, Mexico digitized from 1922 to 2000.
History of the Left in Latin America
Two digitized magazines: La Cultura En México (1987-1988) and Los Libros (Argentina 1969-1976)
Legislacion Mexicana
La colección completa contiene 16,890 disposiciones numeradas, ordenadas cronológicamente, cuya cobertura va de 1687 a 1902.
Mexican Political Pamphlets, 1808-1832
The research materials, compiled between 1965 and 1980, consist of a bibliographic database of more than 11,000 citations and over 1,150 photocopies of pamphlets
Mexico Project (National Security Archive)
Zapatistas! Documents of the New Mexican Revolution
This book contains the full, English language text of every communique published (along with several that were not published, as well as many interviews, letters, and essays) from the Zapatista National Liberation Army (EZLN) from December 31, 1993 through June 12, 1994.

La Información Digital Collection (1920-1998)
The collection contains digital surrogates of La Información, an important local newspaper published in Bluefields, Nicaragua, starting in 1917
La Prensa (Managua, Nicaragua)
April 1934 - June 1937; 1956-1957. Digitized by the Center for Research Libraries (CRL).
Sandino Rebellion: Nicaragua 1927-1934
Documents dealing with the nationalist rebellion led by Sandino against US military intervention

Biblioteca National del Peru
Digitized collections of the National library includes books, images, manuscripts and more
Recovering provincial newspapers in Peru: Lambayeque, Ayacucho, Tacna, Cajamarca and Huancavelica
Digitized newspapers from Archivo General de la Nación
Sistema Peruano de Información Jurídica
Access laws and decrees for Peru

Biblioteca Digital Puertorriqueña
Digital collections of the University of Puerto Rico includes thousands of historic photographs, maps, posters, manuscript material and more
FBI Files on Puerto Ricans
Hundreds of pages of FBI documents dealing with Puerto Rico dating from the 1930s to the 1990s
Puerto Rican Civil Court Documents Collection, 1844-1845
Civil court case records from the Appellate Court (Corte de Primera Instancia)
Puerto Rico at the Dawn of the Modern Age: Nineteenth- and Early-Twentieth-Century Perspectives
Historically important writings by prominent Puerto Rican political activists and historians dating from approximately seventy years before the Spanish-American war (1831) until some thirty years after it (1929).
more...less...
Collaborative project undertaken by the Library of Congress Hispanic Division and the National Digital Library Program to recognize the centennial of the Spanish-American War (1898)

Local Libraries/Archives

You may be able to visit a local library that has a strong collection of print or digital materials relating to Latin American History. Interlibrary Loan may be able to borrow microform of newspapers or other documents that you can view on-site using our microform readers (2nd floor).

Duke Libraries Latin American and Caribbean Collections
The Duke Libraries have more than 400,000 journals, volumes, newspapers, photographs and other resources on Latin America and the Caribbean.
UNC Chapel Hill Libraries: Latin American and Iberian Collections
Strengths include the belles-lettres of Spain and Latin America, and Latin American history particularly for Argentina, Chile, Venezuela and Cuba. In recent years the Library has expanded its collections on Mexico in all disciplines, particularly in migration and indigenous studies, with an emphasis on the Yucatan Peninsula.
more...less...
In addition to acquiring materials in Spanish and Portuguese, collections include volumes in several of the Maya languages, Guaraní, Basque, Galician, Catalán and Haitian Creole, among others.

Database of open access digital primary source collections

Latin American and Caribbean Digital Primary Resources
Database of listings that provide links to open access digitized collections of primary sources that relate to Latin America and the Caribbean
more...less...
Switch to Full View to use the database