Political Science Databases

A great database to get started with for your research on any topic. Use it to search for articles from scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals, newspapers, and magazines.

Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science, international relations, law, public administration, and public policy.

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.

Archive of social and political science data and datasets. Reading and manipulation of this data may require statistical software such as SPSS, SAS, Stata, or R.

The most comprehensive, up-to-date resource for US public opinion poll data.

This web-based tool allows users to access and analyze aggregate level data from US and Global polling efforts. Access to this resource will expire in November 2024.
Please note: To access this resource off-campus, you will need to be connected to the Charlotte VPN.

Provides access to academic journals and books covering a wide range of disciplines; it also includes some limited primary source collections.

Source for legal research, business, news, etc. Search across global news sources, access federal and state legal cases, find company information, and more

Full-text newspaper articles covering international, national, and local news. Includes the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Washington Post, Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, Charlotte Observer, and many others.

This resource covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources. PAIS Archive is included in this database and includes the content from printed volumes published 1915-1976.

This multidisciplinary database includes a citation mapping feature that allows you to track research across time, including almost 1.7 billion cited references allowing for comprehensive searches.

A comprehensive database collection of World News Connection's daily updates produced from 1995 to 2013, featuring 500 translated news sources from over 130 countries. The database includes full-text access to newspaper articles, transcripts and datelines that cover environmental issues, political reports, socioeconomic editorials and more.

Contains thousands of journals and offers full-text titles covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, and competitive and product information.

Contains full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, and finance.

Reports on social issues, public policy analysis, and political topics. Includes background information, chronologies, current analysis of the situation, tables and maps, and pro and con statements made by individuals with differing viewpoints. Dates back to 1991 for full-text articles.

Contains records covering topics such as: criminal justice; criminal law and procedure; corrections and prisons, police and policing, criminal investigation; forensic sciences and investigation; substance abuse and addiction; probation and parole.

Provides a comprehensive bibliographic and full-text database of education research and information for educators, researchers, and the general public.

Peer-reviewed publications of the IEEE in the areas of computing sciences, electronics, and electrical engineering.

Provides full-text articles, news feeds, reports, books, and summaries covering regional conflict, terrorism, domestic security, and risk management options.

Scholarly journals and ebooks in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.

Literature across all fields of science and social science. Comprehensive coverage of literature across all fields of science and social science. Provides access to more than 850 of Elsevier's primary research journals, which focus on scientific, medical, biomedical and technical areas.

Part of the Web of Science Core Collection, this is an index to the core journal literature in the social and behavioral sciences. Although you can search for topics, the main emphasis of the database is to locate articles that CITED a particular article or book.

Covers the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

Journals in the physical/life sciences and in the social sciences.