Research Guides: HIST 3600: Andrew Jackson's America: Primary Sources

Andrew Jackson's Papers

Digital Access:

The Papers of Andrew Jackson (University of Tennessee Press)

Selections from the Papers of Andrew Jackson (Avalon Project)

Legal Papers of Andrew Jackson (sign up for free library account with Internet Archive)

Andrew Jackson Papers (Library of Congress - scanned images of the manuscript collection)

Correspondence of Andrew Jackson (1833-1838)

Print Access:

The Papers of Andrew Jackson, 5 volumes, located in Atkins Library, 3rd floor.

Primary Sources on the Internet

Government Documents

American State Papers, 1789 to 1838
The American State Papers contain the legislative and executive documents of Congress during the period 1789 to 1838. From the Library of Congress (American Memory Project).

HeinOnline

Legal history and government documents. Contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, U.S. Reports, and entire databases of treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, international trade, foreign relations, and more.
ProQuest Congressional Hearings
Access congressional publications dealing with the wide variety of topics addressed by Congress.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set
Reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, 1817-1962.

Primary Source Collections

African American Newspapers Series 1: 1827-1998
Provides access to U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African-American experience. This collection includes historically significant papers and features many rare 19th-century titles.
American History, 1493-1945 (Adam Matthew)
Documents American History from the earliest settlers to the mid-twentieth century. Sourced from the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History.
Indigenous Histories and Cultures of North America (Adam Matthew)

Presents unique insight into interactions between American Indians and Europeans from their earliest contact, continuing through the turbulence of the American Civil War, the on-going repercussions of government legislation, right up to the civil rights movement of the mid- to late-twentieth century
Indigenous Newspapers in North America, 1828-2016 (Adam Matthew)

A collection of national periodicals as well as local community news and student publications from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada
American Periodicals
Full text periodicals published between 1740 and 1940.

American State Papers, 1789 to 1838
The American State Papers contain the legislative and executive documents of Congress during the period 1789 to 1838. From the Library of Congress (American Memory Project).
Chronicling America: Historic Newspapers 1789-1963
Newspaper digitization project from the Library of Congress
Documenting the American South
Primary source materials relating to Southern history. Open access.

more... less...

A collection of sources on Southern history, literature and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century. Includes: First-Person Narratives of the American South; Library of Southern Literature; North American Slave Narratives; The Southern Homefront, 1861-1865; The Church in the Southern Black Community.

Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800
Provides full-text and full-page-image access to books, pamphlets and broadsides printed in America from 1639-1800.
Eighteenth Century Collection Online (ECCO)
Works published in the UK during the 18th century.
Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection
Newspapers.com North Carolina Collection includes digitized content from over 1,000 NC county newspapers.
History Commons - North America
19th Century African American newspapers, American County Histories to 1900, American Civil War Primary Sources, and more.
Milestone Documents in American History
Combines primary source documents in American and world history with expert analysis and commentary.
New York Times Historical Archives (1851-2021)
Major global newspaper including news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, as well as photos and advertisements.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Colonial to 1950 - includes the experiences of 632 women as revealed in diaries and letters.

North Carolina Newspaper Digitization Project
1751-1898
North Carolina Newspapers (1824-2012)
Collection includes a selection of student and community newspapers from schools and towns around North Carolina

Eight Centuries (formerly 19th Century Masterfile)
Eight Centuries (formerly 19th Century Masterfile) is a database covering primary source materials from 1106 until 1960. Provides access to articles, newspapers, books, U.S. patents, government documents, and images.

Southern Historical Collection
Collections of papers, diaries and other primary source materials available at the Special Collections Library at UNC-Chapel Hill
Uncle Tom's Cabin and American Culture
Primary sources from before and after the publishing of Uncle Tom's Cabin. Users can also access a full-text edition of the work. Created at University of Virginia.

Edited Collections

You can find some primary sources in books. Below is a list of relevant subject headings. When searching for these in the catalog, try adding "sources", "documents", "correspondence" or "letters" to your search.

Presidents -- United States -- History -- Sources.

Cherokee Indians -- History -- Sources.

United States -- History -- 1815-1861 -- Sources.

Slavery -- South Carolina -- History -- Sources.

How-To Video: Searching Historical Newspapers

Searching for Primary Sources
This learning module will help you understand how to develop a list of keywords and identify and search within appropriate databases to find primary sources.

DPLA

DPLA
A portal to digitized content made available by libraries, archives and museums

HathiTrust

A repository for digital collections. Items in the public domain (works published before 1923) are freely accessible online.

Internet Archive

A digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Includes digitized books, periodicals, media, and more.

Internet Archive