Contains information about cultural life and history during the 1800's and includes first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, including the Mexican War, Presidential and Congressional addresses, the humanities, world travel and religion.
Provides access to U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African-American experience. This collection includes historically significant papers and features many rare 19th-century titles.
140 newspaper titles from 22 islands from the 18th and 19th centuries. Research Colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, New World slavery, and more. Most of these newspapers were published in English, but some non-English titles are also included.
A collection of sources on Southern history, literature and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century. Includes: First-Person Narratives of the American South; Library of Southern Literature; North American Slave Narratives; The Southern Homefront, 1861-1865; The Church in the Southern Black Community.
Records of the Board of Foreign Missions (BFM) of the Presbyterian Church on social conditions in developing nations and efforts to spread the gospel during the nineteenth century. It includes correspondences, diary accounts, field accounts, and more.
Contains FBI surveillance files on the activities of the African Liberation Support Committee and All African People's Revolutionary Party. Includes views on African American support for liberation struggles in Africa and the issues of Pan-Africanism.
A compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, United Nations, World Health Organization, World Bank, World Resources Institute, UNESCO, UNICEF and OECD. Users can generate maps and graphs on a broad range of statistics.
Limited functionality; the library does not have a subscription. Pie charts, scatterplots and correlations are not available.
Provides access to a collection of newspapers reporting on the African American experience in segregated southern America from 1870 to 1926. The collection contains editorial pieces that expose the racial discrimination and violence that many suffered through, and also includes light-hearted pieces that focused on other civil affairs, events, local gossip, and more throughout the local community.
Letters, diplomatic dispatches, reports, trial papers, activists’ biographies and first-hand accounts of events from British government files offer access to the history of South Africa’s apartheid regime.
Collection consists of the Confidential Print for Africa. Topics covered include coastal trading in the early nineteenth century, the Conference of Berlin of 1884 and the subsequent Scramble for Africa, the abuses of the Congo Free State, World War II, and apartheid in South Africa. Topics range from c. 1834-1966.
A comprehensive view of African thought, covering the intellectual tradition on the continent and throughout the diaspora. Major trends in African philosophy, political theory, religion, significant historical figures, and social movements are covered.
This resource surveys American literature, covering literary history from the 1600s to present day. Content includes essays on poets, playwrights, essayists, and novelists, as well as major works and essays on literary movements, periods, and themes.
Draws together the diverse historical and contemporary experiences in the United States of Latinos and Latinas from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East. Articles address such broad topics as identity, art, politics, religion, education, health, and history.
Comprehensively covers the role women have played throughout world history. Contains biographies of influential women and articles covering geography and history, culture and society, organizations, movements, and gender studies.
This collection provides an in-depth look into the motivations, activities, and results of the European conquest of Africa in the nineteenth century using monographs, manuscripts, and newspaper accounts covering key issues of economics, world politics, and international strategy.
A core streaming video collection introducing cultural groups and practices from around the globe. The collection features documentaries, interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides and more.
Contains award-winning films, documentaries, interviews, and archival footage exploring the social, cultural, and political evolution of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people from the beginning of the twentieth century to the present day.
Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina this resource presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and in-depth oral histories.