Africana Studies Databases

E-book collection emphasizing history and literature.

Text of poems written between 1750-1900 written by African-American poets.

An index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities, part of the Web of Science Core Collection. (Indexing: 1975+)

The full text of plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 100 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries.

Comprehensive search of Gale's all literature archive resources, including Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online, Literature Criticism Online, and Something About the Author Online.

Provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.

Gale's Literary Index is a master index that points to the actual Gale-published product that contains information on authors and their works.

Articles and other information about authors and their works. Previously titled Literary Reference Center.

An extensive compilation of centuries of analysis; includes scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals. Resources include Short Story Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Children's LIterature Criticism and other similar sources of literary criticism.

The Federal Writers' Project (FWP) publications (1933-1943).

Biographical, critical and bibliographical information on authors.

Provides access to scholarly research pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.

This resource surveys American literature, covering literary history from the 1600s to present day. Content includes essays on poets, playwrights, essayists, and novelists, as well as major works and essays on literary movements, periods, and themes.

Written by an international roster of more than 300 authors, the Encyclopedia comprehensively documents and interprets the books read by children throughout the world.

Texts of modern and contemporary African-American poetry from the early twentieth century to the present.