Research Guides: HIST 4600: Non-Violent Revolutions: Primary Sources

Newspapers and Magazines (Primary Sources)

African American Newspapers Series 1: 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
Provides access to U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African-American experience. This collection includes historically significant papers and features many rare 19th-century titles.

ICON: International Coalition on Newspapers
Find digital newspaper collections for each country

New York Times (via Nexis Uni) This link opens in a new window
1980 - current. Major resource for national and international news and current events. In the guided search, choose "A Publication", then your search term(s), then choose "New York Times" in the "Find Publication" box.
New York Times Historical Archives (1851-2010) This link opens in a new window
Major global newspaper including news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, as well as photos and advertisements.
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Index for general-interest, news, and opinion magazines published primarily in the United States.
Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Historical newspaper archive with full-text coverage of the Times from 1785 to 2013. Supports research across multiple disciplines including business, humanities, political science, and philosophy with coverage of all major international historical events.

Edited Primary Source Collections

You can find some primary sources in books. Below is a list of relevant subject headings. When searching for these in the catalog, try adding "sources", "documents", "correspondence", "letters", or "writings" to your search.

Websites

Documenting the American South
Primary source materials relating to Southern history. Open access.
more...less...
A collection of sources on Southern history, literature and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century. Includes: First-Person Narratives of the American South; Library of Southern Literature; North American Slave Narratives; The Southern Homefront, 1861-1865; The Church in the Southern Black Community.
GandhiServe Foundation
Internet History Sourcebook: Asia Since 1900
Mahatma Gandhi from Division of Social Sciences at UCLA
Making the History of 1989 (Primary Sources)
Search for primary sources by country (ex. Poland, Estonia, East Germany, etc.). A project of the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media (CHNM) at George Mason University.
Martin Luther King Jr. Nonviolence Resistance
National Security Archive
Include the "Velvet Revolution Declassified", The Revolutions of 1989, and other primary source, declassified documents.

North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
Colonial to 1950 - includes the experiences of 632 women as revealed in diaries and letters.

Speeches

Vital Speeches of the Day This link opens in a new window
Full-text of speeches on a wide-range of political topics dating from 1934 to the present.

Internet Archive

Internet Archive

Internet Archive includes texts, audio, moving images, and software as well as archived web pages

HathiTrust

A repository for digital collections. Items in the public domain (works published before 1923) are freely accessible online.

DPLA

DPLA
A portal to digitized content made available by libraries, archives and museums