Research Guides: HIST 2600: The Great War in history and memory: Society, culture and politics: Home

Manuscript Collections

Manuscript collections consist primarily of unpublished documents such as literary manuscripts, letters, diaries, cartoons, photographs, architectural drawings, and organizational, church and governmental records. Also included are some printed materials, microforms, audio recordings, films and other items. Atkins Library's Manuscript Collections focus on materials related to the people and history of the greater Charlotte region, with particular attention to the Charlotte-Mecklenburg area.

Using the Collections

While using manuscript collections, please help us preserve our materials by following a few rules:

Use only pencil when using Special Collections materials.
Use only one folder at a time.
Handle documents with care.
Keep the documents in the same order.
Do not place personal items on top of Special Collections materials.

Databases

Charlotte Observer Historical Archive, 1886-2018 (via Readex) This link opens in a new window
Includes obituaries, stocks, editorials and first-hand accounts of events.

Documenting the American South
Primary source materials relating to Southern history.
more...less...
A collection of sources on Southern history, literature and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century. Includes: First-Person Narratives of the American South; Library of Southern Literature; North American Slave Narratives; The Southern Homefront, 1861-1865; The Church in the Southern Black Community.
Robinson-Spangler Room, Charlotte Mecklenburg Library

Digitized Collections

Digital Collections
Goldmine, our digital repository, includes a wealth of resources about life in the Charlotte-Mecklenburg region, from before the Civil War to the late twenty-first century. The types of materials include oral histories, photographs and other visual formats, family papers, and correspondence. For additional oral histories, see also New South Voices.

Oral Histories

New South Voices
New South Voices provides access to more than 700 transcripts of interviews, narratives and conversations documenting life in the Charlotte, North Carolina region in the twentieth century. It includes the experiences and languages of recent immigrants to the area. The interviews were conducted by UNC Charlotte faculty, students and staff, as well as several community organizations. These interviews are part of the Oral History Collection in the Department of Special Collections.