Research Guides: HIST 2600: Armenian Genocide: Primary Sources

How-To Video: Searching Historical Newspapers

Searching for Primary Sources
This learning module will help you understand how to develop a list of keywords and identify and search within appropriate databases to find primary sources.

You can search for edited collections of primary sources materials by adding terms such as sources, documents, etc. to your search.

You can find survivor accounts by adding terms such as interviews, personal narratives, oral histories, memoir, etc.

AM Explorer (AM Digital) This link opens in a new window
Access millions of pages of primary source collections across the entire portfolio of Adam Matthew Digital, spanning content from the 15th-21st centuries.

The treatment of Armenians in the Ottoman Empire 1915-16.
Documents presented to Viscount Grey of Fallodon, secretary of state for foreign affiars, by Viscount Bryce.
Sample Archival Documents
From the Armenian National Institute
History of Armenia: Primary Documents
Primary source documents (EuroDocs)
Armenian Genocide Museum-Institute
See "Documents" at the top. Includes American, British, German, French, Austrian, Russian and Turkish documents.
Documentation of the Armenian Genocide in Turkish Sources

Confidential Print: Middle East (Adam Matthew) This link opens in a new window
Collection consists of the Confidential Print for the countries of the Levant and the Arabian peninsula, Iran, Turkey, Egypt and Sudan. Topics include the Egyptian reforms of Muhammad Ali Pasha in the 1830s, the documents trace the events of the following 150 years, including the Middle East Conference of 1921, the mandates for Palestine and Mesopotamia and the 1956 Suez Crisis. Topics range from c. 1839-1969.
Church Missionary Society Periodicals (Adam Matthew) This link opens in a new window
Documenting missionary work from the nineteenth to the twenty-first century, this resource includes publications from the CMS, the Church of England Zenana Missionary Society and the latterly integrated South American Missionary Society.
First World War Portal (Adam Matthew) This link opens in a new window
From personal collections and rare printed material to military files, artwork and audio-visual files, content highlights the experiences of soldiers, civilians and governments on both sides of a conflict that shook the world.

Chronicling America: Historic Newspapers 1789-1963
Newspaper digitization project from the Library of Congress
ICON: International Coalition on Newspapers
Find digital newspaper collections for each country

New York Times Historical Archives (1851-2020) This link opens in a new window
Major global newspaper including news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, as well as photos and advertisements.
Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Historical newspaper archive with full-text coverage of the Times from 1785 to 2013. Supports research across multiple disciplines including business, humanities, political science, and philosophy with coverage of all major international historical events.
Washington Post This link opens in a new window
Full text of The Washington Post newspaper from Dec 4, 1996 - present

LIFE Photo Archive hosted by Google
Photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750's to today.
Free or open source.
more...less...
Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750's to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.

National Geographic Magazine (1888-1994) This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth coverage of cultures, nature, science, technology and more with comprehensive, relevant articles and legendary photographs and maps.
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Index for general-interest, news, and opinion magazines published primarily in the United States.
Trench Journals and Unit Magazines of the First World War This link opens in a new window
A unique source of information on the common serviceman and woman’s experience of the war. Limit your search by language, unit name, type, origin or location, etc.

govinfo (formerly FDsys)
Provides public access to Government information submitted by Congress and Federal agencies and preserved as technology changes.

ProQuest Congressional Hearings This link opens in a new window
Access congressional publications dealing with the wide variety of topics addressed by Congress.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set This link opens in a new window
Reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, 1817-1962.

Foreign Relations of the United States
Access to cumulative indexes for 1861-1899 and 1900-1918
more...less...
From University of Wisconsin Digital Collections

Eighteenth Century Collection Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
Works published in the UK during the 18th century.
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text and full-page-image access to books, pamphlets and broadsides printed in America from 1639-1800.