King-Henry-Brockington LGBTQ+ Archive

This collection contains material generated by Janice Covington Allison in her fight for LGBT rights and an end to discrimination against transgender individuals. It includes items related to her work with TransCarolina, the Democratic Women of Mecklenburg County and Pride.

Sandra Bailey is active in the Charlotte LGBTQ community, longtime member of One Voice Chorus, and co-chair of First Tuesday. Collection consists of materials donated during Bailey's oral history interview (conducted by Tina Wright). Materials are materials primarily from 1991-1995, but also includes a copy of Bailey's 2008 book.

Barret's published works focus on parenting, issues of grief and loss, and clinical services to the sexual minority community. In addition to his professional writing, Barret has been active in promoting social justice, both in his home community, and in the American Counseling Association. This is a small collection comprised of correspondence and clippings.

Keith Bernard was born in Rock Hill, SC and graduated from Winthrop University. He later attended the University of North Carolina at Charlotte. The bulk of the collection documents Bernard's participation in numerous Charlotte-area LGBTQ organizations.

Boom Boom LaTour was a Charlotte native who began performing in drag in her hometown in the 1970s. Her performances as Boom Boom LaTour won fans up and down the East Coast and she was one of the pioneers of Charlotte's drag queen scene. The collection contains material related to Boom Boom LaTour's five-decade career as a drag queen. Includes photographs, awards and memorial materials.

Danny Leonard, who performed in drag under the name Brandy Alexander, was one of the most popular drag performers in the South in the second half of the twentieth century. She began her career in the 1960s and performed until shortly before her death in 2016. The collection consists of a kimono, a Kermit the Frog puppet and an issue of Southern Exposure.

Josh Burford has done extensive work to preserve and make accessible queer history of the American South. The bulk of the collection relates to the establishment and collecting efforts of the King-Henry-Brockington LGBTQ+ Archive, as well as research into the history of Charlotte's LGBTQ community.

Closet Busters productions was owned by journalist and community activist Don King. The company produced the Gay/Lesbian Forum starting in 1986, the first local Charlotte show on cable to focus on gay and lesbian issues. The collection contains 3 pieces of correspondence concerning Closet Busters productions and 3 bank statements.

Samantha Gellar was a sixteen-year-old high school student at Northwest School of the Arts in Charlotte, North Carolina, when she wrote "Life Versus the Paperback Romance," which deal with lesbian romance. Collection materials related to the controversial 1998 production of the play.

This collection consists of material related to the 1993 March on Washington for Lesbian, Gay and Bi-Equal Rights. It contains several CDs from LGBT groups, such as One Voice, the Seattle Men's Chorus and the San Francisco Gay Men's Chorus.

Sue Henry is a prominent gay rights activist in Charlotte, NC. She was owner of Rising Moon Books & Beyond bookstore, the first out lesbian to run for Mayor of Charlotte, and an active member of several political and social LGBTQ organizations. The collection primarily documents in her participation in the Charlotte LGBTQ+ community in the 1990s, but also includes materials from her childhood and later life.

The collection contains material related to the creation of the documentary, "Charlotte SubCulture: Gay Life in the Queen City," which was about a proposal that the Charlotte Mecklenburg Community Relations Committee submitted to the city of Charlotte in 1992 that would have prevented discrimination against individuals in public accommodations based on their sexual orientation.

Lenore Jones Deutsch holds a masters degree in Clinical Psychology and maintained a private practice in Charlotte, North Carolina, where she worked as a psychologist, seminar leader, and consultant. Personal and professional papers including organizational records, magazine and newspaper articles, political buttons, books, posters, decorated HIV vest, brochures.

The Frances Curry Kerr records related to inclusion at Myers Park Baptist Church is comprised of five folders of printed records related to congregational dialogue and the resulting policy changes concerning matters of sexuality at Myers Park Baptist Church. In particular the records document the question of inclusion for LGBT people in the congregation.

The Donaldson Wells King Papers include correspondence, writings, personal memorabilia, documentation of King's involvement in the Charlotte LGBT community, as well as subject files and assorted publications.

Papers documenting Kirsch's work in the LGBT community as well as his work in theatre throughout the country. Includes press releases, brochures, newsletters, correspondence, playbills, CDs and VHS tapes.

The Linda Lawyer writings and memorabilia is a small collection which mainly consists of printed copies of her monthly column, “The Soft Spot,” published in the newspaper Q Notes between 1988 and 1992.

Includes an issue of Carolina Lesbian News, one issue of the magazine, Women's Voice, and several CDs.

Jim Long II was born in Gastonia, NC and lived in Los Angeles, CA until 2000. He was the first openly Gay city councilman from Bessemer City, NC. The collection documents Long's personal life and political career, as well as his involvement in the LGBTQ community in Los Angeles.

The Wesley Mancini papers document the work of the Wesley Mancini Foundation, which funded projects that foster the inclusion of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender individuals as full participants in the Charlotte community. The collection also documents Mancini's textile design company, Wesley Mancini Ltd. Includes correspondence, grants and minutes from the foundation as well as numerous magazines and publications that feature articles about Mancini's textile firm and advocacy work.

Kimberly Melton is from Charlotte with a long history of working with the LGBTQ community. The collection primarily documents lesbian activism in Charlotte, NC and includes: WOW newsletters, materials from National Lesbian Conference, Lambda Connections, and more.

The collection contains syllabi for the undergraduate and graduate course: Gay and Lesbian Issues in Social Work Practice that Morrow taught at UNC Charlotte beginning in 1999. Also includes textbooks created by Morrow and her colleagues based on material in these courses.

The collection consists of the footage that Penninger put together about Tonda Taylor and Time Out Youth in the 1990s.

After relocating to the Charlotte-Mecklenburg area, Don Rosenthal became active in two LGBT organizations; Mecklenburg LGBT Political Action Committee (MeckPAC) and Equality North Carolina (ENC). The bulk of the materials derive from Rosenthal's direct involvement with MeckPAC and Equality NC.

A. Kevin Scott papers contain items related to the repeal of the military's "Don't Ask, Don't Tell" policy and the Service Members Legal Defense Network.

Sid Stroupe attended UNC Charlotte in the early 1980s. The collection consists of 8 membership cards for Charlotte area gay clubs from approximately 1978-1982.

Diana Travis is a local Charlotte activist and a member of the Charlotte LGBTQ community. The bulk of the collection documents the Better Homos and Gardens events, but also includes correspondence, and newspaper clippings and articles.

Connie J. Vetter opened her law office in Charlotte, North Carolina in 1994. Her practice focuses primarily on the needs of lesbians, gay men, bisexuals and transgender individuals and couples.

Tom Warshauer, Community and Commerce Manager in the City’s Neighborhood and Business Services Department, has worked for the City of Charlotte for 20 years developing and managing programs to revitalize distressed neighborhoods and business districts. He is also an active volunteer and board member for environmental, arts, social equity and LGBT organizations. The bulk of the collection documents Tom Warshauer's involvement in local LGBT organizations.

The collection concerns the perspectives, opinions, and creativity of Julia Willis, a lesbian author in the late twentieth century. The collection consists of her writings: short stories, poems, articles, book drafts, and play scripts.

The collection consists largely of material generated during Shane's work in LGBTQ rights and anti-discrimination. There is also quite a bit of material from his personal life that include items from grade school, college, writings and memorabilia. There is also material related to Shane's husband, Thomas Feldman, a graphic designer in Charlotte and owner of Tyvola Design.