King-Henry-Brockington LGBTQ+ Archive

Campus Pride is a national nonprofit organization for student leaders and campus groups working to create a safer college environment for LGBT students. Materials include organizational records, publications and ephemera, and teaching materials.

The inception of Charlotte's Black Gay Pride event began in 2002. Charlotte NC Black Gay Pride (CNCBGP) became Charlotte Black Gay Pride (CBGP) in August of 2008 with 501C3 non-profit status. Collected materials from Charlotte Black Gay Pride, circa 2013. Included are a timeline of Charlotte Black Gay Pride events dating from 2002 to the present, 1 polo shirt with the Charlotte Black Gay Pride logo, and 1 poster from the 2013 Charlotte Black Gay Pride parade.

The Charlotte Business Guild was organized in 1992 to foster a network of business contacts and friendships, encourage fellowship, and support among business, professional and charitable pursuits, and provide and promote positive role models in Charlotte's lesbian and gay community. Records comprise administrative records, publications, and memorabilia of the Charlotte Business Guild.

The Charlotte Gay and Lesbian Film Series was the first gay film series in North Carolina. The collection includes a Screening History, 1991-1996, and programs for 8 years.

The mission of the Charlotte Lesbian and Gay Fund is to fund organizations that support the LGBTQ community through the pooled financial resources of individuals, corporations, and foundations. The collection contains 5 programs from the Charlotte Lesbian and Gay Fund Happening from 2008-2012.

Charlotte Pride presents the annual lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, questioning and queer (LGBTQ) Pride festival and other events in the Queen City. The annual festival is the largest LGBTQ Pride event in the Carolinas. The records consist of ephemera from the Charlotte Pride parade held August 24-25, 2013.

The Charlotte Royals were founded in 2004 by a group of men who felt that the community lacked a gay rugby team. Collection includes memorabilia and uniforms.

Originally opened in 1996, Hartigan’s was part dance club, part sports bar, part Irish pub and part restaurant. It attracted a diverse and unique clientele, with a mix of LGBT and straight ally patrons for lunches and dinners and women party-goers on the weekends. Hartigan's closed in 2014. The Hartigan’s Irish Pub and Restaurant Memorabilia collection consists of menus, posters, banners, a T shirt and a signed framed photograph.

The LGBT Community Center of Charlotte seeks to promote diversity, acceptance, and visibility of the LGBT community through original and collaborative programming and events, and by providing and inclusive, welcoming, and affordable environment for all. Includes financial records, articles of incorporation, board of trustees and executive committee meeting minutes, photographic prints, digital photographs on cd,

Mecklenburg Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Political Action Committee (MeckPAC) was founded in 1998 as an organization to advance LGBT issues in Mecklenburg County. The collection contains materials related to the operation of MeckPac from its founding in 1998 to 2010 including Voter Guides, Correspondence, Meeting Agendas, News Clippings and Photos.

One Voice exists to present a public face and voice of the LGBT community. The One Voice Chorus records include: recordings of concerts on various formats (VHS, CD), programs, records of business and financial transactions, personnel records, documents relating to the selection of music and performers, feedback forms, and other materials.

OutCharlotte was an annual cultural festival that celebrated LGBT culture through theater, dance, music, visual art, film and video. The collection includes organizational newsletters as well as promotional materials and programs for the OutCharlotte Cultural Festivals.

Included are materials generated by Pride Publishing and Typesetting, Inc., of Charlotte, publisher of QNotes, one of the oldest, continuously published LGBT community newspapers on the East Coast and the oldest in the Carolinas.

Records of RAIN (Regional AIDS Interfaith Network,) an organization founded in 1992 in Charlotte, North Carolina and dedicated to addressing the needs of persons with HIV/AIDS disease in the Carolinas. The collection largely documents events and activities including fund raising, public education, and organizing volunteers.

Papers documenting activities of One Voice Chorus as well as issues in the LGBT community. Includes slides of the One Voice chorus and a calendar of the organization, as well as news clippings concerning LGBT issues.

Time Out Youth's mission mission is to support lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer and questioning youth by offering vital programs, fostering unconditional acceptance, and creating safe spaces for self-expression through leadership, community support and advocacy. The collection includes records of programs and events sponsored by TOY, training documentation, and collected statistical data. Materials date from circa 2000-2010.