Research Guides: English Studies Research Guide: Finding Books

Search the Library Catalog

Search for books, articles, and more through our library search system.

Browse the Collection

Our books are organized on the shelf using Library of Congress Classification.

The following sections for books are related to British literature in English:

PR 1-78; PR 161-488: Literary History and Criticism

PR 1490-2165: Early and Middle English (pre-1500)

PR 2199-3195: Renaissance (1500-1640)

PR 3291-3785: 17th and 18th Centuries (1640-1770)

PR 3991-5990: 19th Century (1770-1900)

PR 6000-6076: 20th Century

PR 6100-6129: 21st Century

The following sections for books are related to American literature in English:

PS 185-195; PS 700-893: 17th and 18th Centuries

PS 201-217; PS 991-3990: 19th Century

PS 221-228; PS 3500-3576: 20th Century

PS 229-231; PS 3600-3626: 21st Century

PS 261-267: PS 551-559: Southern Literature

Access the full range of P class call numbers.

VIDEO: Searching for Books

This video shows you how to search for print books using the library's search system.

VIDEO: Requesting Books from the Library

This video shows you how to request print books and other materials owned by the library through the library's search system.

Online Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive online dictionary of the English language.
The most comprehensive dictionary of the English language. It traces the development of English from approximately 1150 AD up to the present day. It covers the full spectrum of English language usage, from formal to slang, as it has evolved over time. Contains the complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition, first published in 1989, together with its 3-volume Additions Series.
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism This link opens in a new window
A historical survey of literary theory and criticism. It includes more than 240 alphabetically arranged entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements. Also the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature This link opens in a new window
Written by an international roster of more than 300 authors, the Encyclopedia comprehensively documents and interprets the books read by children throughout the world.
Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new window
Provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.
Dictionary of American Regional English (DARE) This link opens in a new window
A dictionary representing the full panoply of American regional vocabulary, from Adam’s housecat to Zydeco.
Encyclopedia of Rhetoric This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of rhetorical study from classical studies to philosophy.

Online Resources

Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text and full-page-image access to books, pamphlets and broadsides printed in America from 1639-1800.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
Digital facsimile page images of historical works from 1473 to 1700.
Eighteenth Century Collection Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
Works published in the UK during the 18th century.

Google Books

Full text search of books and magazines scanned by Google.

NoveList Plus This link opens in a new window
NoveList Plus uses appeal factors and expert reviews to offer read-alike and listen-alike recommendations for fiction, nonfiction, and audiobooks. Readers can look for books about particular subjects, relationships, geographic areas, or periods of time. Access to this resource provided by NC Live.

Project Gutenberg
Download over 30,000 free eBooks to read on your PC, iPad, Kindle, iPhone or other portable device.

Using Interlibrary Loan

Need a book or article that we don't own? Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service that lets students, faculty, and staff of UNC Charlotte borrow materials that are owned by libraries at other institutions.

VIDEO: Using Interlibrary Loan

This video shows you how to request books and articles from other libraries using Atkins Library's Interlibrary Loan service.