HIST 4600: Women, Political Activism, and Resistance in the U.S.

An open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers and magazines produced by feminists, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, and the extreme right-wing press.

A great database to get started with for your research on any topic. Use it to search for articles from scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals, newspapers, and magazines.

Full text periodicals published between 1740 and 1940.

Provides in-depth coverage of cultures, nature, science, technology and more with comprehensive, relevant articles and legendary photographs and maps.

Index for general-interest, news, and opinion magazines published primarily in the United States.

Legal history and government documents. Contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, U.S. Reports, and entire databases of treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, international trade, foreign relations, and more.

Provides access to Congressional information, including bills, laws, regulations, reports, documents, prints, the Code of Federal Regulations, the Federal Register, and the Congressional Record. Also includes information about members of Congress such as biographical data, voting records, campaign financial data and committees. Also includes legislative histories, bills and laws as well as regulations.

Reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, 1817-1962.

Provides access to U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African-American experience. This collection includes historically significant papers and features many rare 19th-century titles.

Searchable American newspaper collections, including African American Newspapers Series 1, 1827-1998; Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876; South Carolina's Historical Newspapers; Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980; and selected historical newspapers.

Newspaper includes obituaries, stocks and editorials.

Charlotte Observer online from 1886 to the present.

A leading African-American newspaper, with more than two-thirds of its readership outside of Chicago.

Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during 19th and 20th centuries. Many of these newspapers were published bilingually in Spanish and English.

An open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers and magazines produced by feminists, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, and the extreme right-wing press.

This leading Black newspaper of the 20th century reached its peak in the 1940s. It was a strong advocate for the desegregation of the U.S. military during World War II, and also covered the historically important Harlem Renaissance.

Major global newspaper including news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, as well as photos and advertisements.

The oldest continuously published black newspaper dedicated to the needs and concerns of the fourth largest black community in the U.S. During the 1930s the paper supported the growth of the United Way, rallied against the riots in Chester, PA, and continuously fought against segregation.

News Orleans-based newspaper covering 1923-1988

Colonial to 1950 - includes the experiences of 632 women as revealed in diaries and letters.

Letters, memoranda, cables, and directives - written or dictated by Eisenhower from the years prior to World War II through full term of his presidency.

A civil rights group's mission - and the FBI's coverage of it - provide a perspective into American politics and society through surveillance reports, chronologies, witness statements and more.

Historical, personal, and professional information about the inhabitants of a city and city organizations.

Collection of documents from FBI, local and state police, Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, and Firearms, and the Civill Rights Division of the Justice Department relating to the shootout and the aftermath.