LBST 2301: Indentureship in Mauritius, South Africa, and the Caribbean

Contains the most significant British pamphlets from the 19th century held in UK research libraries. Pamphlets were an important means of public debate, covering the key political, social, technological, and environmental issues of their day.

Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina this resource presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and in-depth oral histories.

Provides access to more than 400 sources of diaries, letters, and memoirs from the Civil War era.

Presents unique insight into interactions between American Indians and Europeans from their earliest contact, continuing through the turbulence of the American Civil War, the on-going repercussions of government legislation, right up to the civil rights movement of the mid- to late-twentieth century

Full text periodicals published between 1740 and 1940.

Access millions of pages of primary source collections across the entire portfolio of Adam Matthew Digital, spanning content from the 15th-21st centuries.

Spanning three centuries (c1750-1929), these rare pamphlets represent an extensive collection of literature on China and the Chinese in the Western world.

Covering the period 1606 to 1822, the collection includes original correspondence between the British government and the governments of the American colonies.

Provides access to a vast body of original British source material that will enrich the teaching and research experience of those studying history, literature, sociology and education from a gendered perspective.

Provides full-text and full-page-image access to books, pamphlets and broadsides printed in America from 1639-1800.

Digital facsimile page images of historical works from 1473 to 1700.

Works published in the UK during the 18th century.

A unique archive of almost every play submitted for licence between 1737 and 1824, includes hundreds of documents that provide social context for the plays.

Bringing together rare journals printed between c. 1685 and 1835, this resource illuminates all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Topics covered are wide-ranging and include colonial life, provincial and rural affairs and the French and American revolutions.

Showcases unique primary source material for the study of American social, cultural, and popular history in the 19th and early 20th centuries, c. 1800-1920.

Search across Gale UK primary source collections.

This resource explores the history and background of key commodities that have been a part of the world's trading operations for hundreds of years. Through manuscripts, printed and visual primary source materials, and data visualizations, you will find valuable knowledge on how these key commodities have influenced our lives, trading operations, and social practices.

19th Century African American newspapers, American County Histories to 1900, American Civil War Primary Sources, and more.

Contains unpublished poems, working notebooks, and early annotated editions from the Victorian period's most famous authors. Also showcases the business of Victorian publishing through documenting the relationship between writers and their publishers through correspondence and financial and legal documents.

Offers scans of 190 manuscripts from the 17th and 18th century. Collection includes poetry, household accounts, medicinal recipes, and draft letters through printed and handwritten works.

Uncovers the workings of the early book trade, the printing and publishing community, the establishment of legal requirements for copyright provisions and the history of bookbinding c. 1554-2007.

Contains color digital images of rare books, ephemera, maps and other materials relating to 18th, 19th and early 20th century London.

Explores travel writing from the later medieval period chiefly focusing on journeys through central Asia and the Far East. Maps, individual manuscript illuminations, and and some modern translations of key travel texts also included.

Combines primary source documents in American and world history with expert analysis and commentary.

Diaries, journals and narratives of explorers, emigrants, military men, Native Americans and travelers to Appalachia.

Colonial to 1950 - includes the experiences of 632 women as revealed in diaries and letters.

Explores women authors who were "lost" due to their writing only existing in an unpublished manuscript form. The manuscripts in this database were all written by women in the British Isles during the 16th and 17th centuries.

Provides access to Congressional information, including bills, laws, regulations, reports, documents, prints, the Code of Federal Regulations, the Federal Register, and the Congressional Record. Also includes information about members of Congress such as biographical data, voting records, campaign financial data and committees. Also includes legislative histories, bills and laws as well as regulations.

Iconic British humor and satire magazine. For research on 19th and 20th century political social history.

Uncovers some of the best known literature and fine art of the Romantic era. All documents are digitized in color and include verse and printed manuscripts, diaries, travel journals, guidebooks, fine art, and maps.

Showcases rare and unique prompt books that tell the story of Shakespeare's plays as they were performed throughout Great Britain, the United States, and internationally between the seventeenth and twentieth centuries.

Offers insights into the performance practices in the reconstructed Globe Theatre through prompt books, wardrobe notes, programs, publicity material, annual reports, show reports, photographs and architectural plans.

Explores travel accounts by women using diaries, correspondence, drawings, guidebooks, and postcards. Sources cover a variety of topics including customs, exploration, the British Empire, family life, diplomacy and more. Primary sources range from 1818- the 1970s.

A unique source of information on the common serviceman and woman’s experience of the war. Limit your search by language, unit name, type, origin or location, etc.

Explores Victorian social history through the growth of entertainment and leisure activities ranging from freak shows and seances to music halls and the first moving pictures.

Includes a finding aid to women's studies resources in The National Archives (UK) and original documents pertaining to women's suffrage in Britain, the British Empire, and other colonial territories c. 1903-1962.

Contains information about cultural life and history during the 1800's and includes first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, including the Mexican War, Presidential and Congressional addresses, the humanities, world travel and religion.

Provides access to U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African-American experience. This collection includes historically significant papers and features many rare 19th-century titles.

Searchable American newspaper collections, including African American Newspapers Series 1, 1827-1998; Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876; South Carolina's Historical Newspapers; Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980; and selected historical newspapers.

The American Hebrew was a weekly Jewish newspaper published in New York City. In 1903 it merged with the Jewish Messenger. Covered many topics of Jewish interest internationally.

A collection of national periodicals as well as local community news and student publications from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada

Newspaper includes obituaries, stocks and editorials.

140 newspaper titles from 22 islands from the 18th and 19th centuries. Research Colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, New World slavery, and more. Most of these newspapers were published in English, but some non-English titles are also included.

Charlotte Observer online from 1886 to the present.

A leading African-American newspaper, with more than two-thirds of its readership outside of Chicago.

Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during 19th and 20th centuries. Many of these newspapers were published bilingually in Spanish and English.

Full-text access to more than 30 Latin American newspapers published 1805-1922.

Series II of Latin American Newspapers expands the number of titles available from this region, including from some countries and cities not represented in Series I.

Major global newspaper including news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, as well as photos and advertisements.

North Carolina Historical newspapers from late 1700s to 1859

South Carolina Historical newspapers from late 1700s to 1859.

Historical newspaper archive with full-text coverage of the Times from 1785 to 2013. Supports research across multiple disciplines including business, humanities, political science, and philosophy with coverage of all major international historical events.

Full coverage from 1902-2019. Reviews of books in many disciplines, theatre, musical performances, art exhibitions, film, media, and other cultural events as well as editorial and commentary articles.