Research Guides: HIST 3600: China and the U.S.: Secondary Sources

Primary and Secondary Sources

Primary means written at or near the time of the historical event.

Secondary means written many years later, probably by a scholar researching the historical event.

Secondary Sources: Books

China's America: the Chinese view the United States, 1900-2000
ISBN: 9781438435169

United States -- Foreign public opinion, Chinese

Library Catalog Search Box

Search for books, articles, and more through our library search system.

Secondary Sources: Searching for Scholarly Articles

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to academic journals and books covering a wide range of disciplines; it also includes some limited primary source collections.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and ebooks in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
References to journal articles and other sources on the history of the US and Canada. See Historical Abstracts for world history.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
References to journal articles and other sources on the history of the world (excluding U.S and Canada).
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A great database to get started with for your research on any topic. Use it to search for articles from scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals, newspapers, and magazines.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.
Film and Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Database covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, and finance.
ERIC Database (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive bibliographic and full-text database of education research and information for educators, researchers, and the general public.