A Century of Artists Books by
Published to accompany the 1994 exhibition at The Museum of Modern Art, New York, this book constitutes the most extensive survey of modern illustrated books to be offered in many years. Work by artists from Pierre Bonnard to Barbara Kruger and writers from Guillaume Apollinarie to Susan Sontag. An importnt reference for collectors and connoisseurs. Includes notable works by Marc Chagall, Henri Matisse, and Pablo Picasso.
The Century of Artists Books by
"Over the last ten years this book has become the definitive text in an emergent field: teachers, librarians, students, artists, and readers turn to the expertise contained on these pages every day."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Artists and Their Books, Books and Their Artists by
This stunning volume illuminates the current moment of artists' engagement with books, revealing them as an essential medium in contemporary art. Ever innovative and predictably diverse in their physical formats, artists' books occupy a creative space between the familiar four-cornered object and challenging works of art that effectively question every preconception of what a book can be. Many artists specialize in producing self-contained art projects in the form of books, like Ken Campbell and Susan King, or they establish small presses, like Simon Cutts and Erica Van Horn's Coracle Press or Harry and Sandra Reese's Turkey Press. Countless others who are primarily known as sculptors, painters, or performance artists carry on a parallel practice in artists' books, including Anselm Kiefer, Annette Messager, Ed Ruscha, and Richard Tuttle. Artists and Their Books / Books and Their Artists includes over one hundred important examples selected from the Getty Research Institute's Special Collections of more than six thousand editions and unique artists' books. This volume also presents precursors to the artist's book, such as Joris Hoefnagel's sixteenth-century calligraphy masterpiece; single-sheet episodes from Albrecht Dürer's Life of Mary, designed to be either broadsides or a book; early illustrated scientific works; and avant-garde publications. Twentieth-century works reveal the impact of artists' books on Pop Art, Fluxus, Conceptualism, feminist art, and postmodernism. The selection of books by an international range of artists who have chosen to work with texts and images on paper provokes new inquiry into the nature of art and books in contemporary culture.
Book Arts by
This collection in the popular Masters series, chosen and introduced by one of the world's top curators, offers field-defining work from 43 master book artists. The selections demonstrate conceptual, aesthetic, and technical excellence, as well as incredible beauty. Brief comments from the artists about their work, careers, and philosophies accompany the stunning images of their most innovative and technically accomplished book art achievements.
Cover to Cover by
Sol Lewitt makes them, Christian Boltanski does too. And Hamish Fulton, Francesco Clemente, Anselm Kiefer, Richard Long, Ulises Carri n, Lawrence Weiner, Richard Prince, and Andy Warhol. And many, many more. Examining the phenomenon of artist's books, Cover to Cover looks at the history of these bound objects within the context of art history. Concentrating particularly on artist's books created during the heyday of conceptual art, this volume describes the leading motives of publishers, collectors, and buyers, pinpointing to what extent artist's books and catalogs are distinct from one another, and why one genre increasingly contains references to the other. In his essay, Rob Perrae considers issues of presentation and offers a prediction about the future of the artist's book. Published in conjunction with De Beyerd, Breda..
Bookwork by
"There they rest, inert, impertinent, in gallery space--those book forms either imitated or mutilated, replicas of reading matter or its vestiges. Strange, after its long and robust career, for the book to take early retirement in a museum, not as rare manuscript but as functionless sculpture. Readymade or constructed, such book shapes are canceled as text when deposited as gallery objects, shut off from their normal reading when not, in some yet more drastic way, dismembered or reassembled." So begins Bookwork, which follows our passion for books to its logical extreme in artists who employ found or simulated books as a sculptural medium. Investigating the conceptual labor behind this proliferating international art practice, Garrett Stewart looks at hundreds of book-like objects, alone or as part of gallery installations, in this original account of works that force attention upon a book's material identity and cultural resonance. Less an inquiry into the artist's book than an exploration of the book form's contemporary objecthood, Stewart's interdisciplinary approach traces the lineage of these aggressive artifacts from the 1919 Unhappy Readymade of Marcel Duchamp down to the current crisis of paper-based media in the digital era. Bookwork surveys and illustrates a stunning variety of appropriated and fabricated books alike, ranging from hacksawed discards to the giant lead folios of Anselm Kiefer. The unreadable books Stewart engages with in this timely study are found, again and again, to generate graphic metaphors for the textual experience they preclude, becoming in this sense legible after all.
The Book As Art by
Artists' books have emerged over the last 25 years as the quintessential contemporary art form, addressing subjects as diverse as poetry and politics, incorporating a full spectrum of artistic media and bookmaking methods, and taking every conceivable form. Female painters, sculptors, calligraphers, and printmakers, as well a growing community of hobbyists, have played a primary role in developing this new mode of artistic expression.The Book as Art presents more than 100 of the most engaging women's artist books created by major fine artists such as Meret Oppenheim, May Stevens, Kara Walker, and Renee Stout and distinguished book artists such as Susan King, Ruth Laxson, Claire Van Vliet, and Julie Chen. Culled from over 800 unique or limited-edition volumes held by the National Museum of Women in the Arts, these books explore the form as a container for ideas. Descriptions of the works are accompanied by colorful illustrations and reflections by their makers, along with essays by leading scholars and a lively introduction by the most famous book artist in our culture, best-selling author Audrey Niffenegger. The exquisitely crafted objects in theThe Book as Art are sure to provoke unexpected and surprising conclusions about what constitutes a book. The Book as Art accompanies the exhibition of the same name at the Museum of Women in the Arts in Washington, D.C., beginning in October 2006.
Language of Paper by
Paper technology originated in China some two millennia ago. This title presents the origins and dissemination of paper production in various parts of the world. It discusses specific uses for paper, referring in to subjects such as paper money, paper as a cover for the body, shifu and applications relating to architecture. Paper technology originated in China some two millennia ago, from where it spread east, to Korea and Japan, and west, along the Silk Road to Central Asia, eventually reaching Europe in the 13th century. As the technology propagated, paper
The Pocket Paper Engineer (3 volumes) by
Elegant and accessible, this interactive handbook teaches crafters of all ages how to create kinetic paper art. The projects are complete with examples, formulas, and the essential instruction that allows them to be constructed directly from the book with simple materials on hand: paper, scissors, and glue. Pop-ups are grouped by type--box or triangle--and as the chapters progress, the techniques are combined and layered for more dramatic effects. With its thorough explanations and inspiring ideas, this book will bring color and motion to crafters' cards, scrapbooks, and invitations.
The Papermaker's Companion by
Craft your own colorful paper goods and personalized stationary. With clear, step-by-step instructions, Helen Heibert covers all aspects of the papermaking process -- from growing and harvesting plants for a malleable paper pulp to embellishment techniques like dyeing, embossing, and laminating. With tips on building your own papermaking equipment, ideas for transforming junk mail into dazzlingly unique notecards, and much more, you'll be inspired to let your creativity shine as you explore the endless possibilities of handcrafted papers.
Letterpress Now by
At last--a contemporary how-to reference on letterpress, a traditional craft that's experiencing a huge resurgence! Not only does Letterpress Now explain how to use a variety of presses, it also covers an amazing range of techniques, all with step-by-step photos: setting metal and wood type, lino/relief block prints, photopolymer plates, die-cuts, and more. About twenty eye-catching projects, from cards and calendars to masks, posters, and business cards--plus features on some of the best letterpress artists and community print shops--make this guide indispensable.
Essential Guide to Handmade Books by
A superb, no-fail guide to making elegant and original books by hand. Hundreds of photos and detailed instructions make the eleven step-by-step projects clear and easy to understand.
Making Handmade Books by
In the digital world, books may seem like an endangered species, but bookmaking is more popular than ever. Thanks to the 100 ideas in this volume, the craft is now available to everyone. In as little as an afternoon, beginners will be on their way to folding, gluing, and sewing handmade books in a variety of shapes and styles, from rolled scrolls to Jacob's ladders, folded flexagons to case bindings. Complete with photographs of the author's own master books and statements by more than 40 established book artists, this collection is sure to inspire. Culled from the author's best-selling books Creating Handmade Books, Unique Handmade Books, and Expressive Handmade Books, these projects will fuel bookbinding adventures for years to come.
Cover to Cover by
Even a beginner can start right out producing uniquely charming and elegant journals, albums, scrapbooks, and more. Envision handmade books to hold your writings, poems, photos, and keepsakes. More than 170 photos to inspire, and hundreds of illustrations to guide readers through the basics of an almost infinite variety of imaginative styles.
Making Mini Books by
Everyone loves handmade books--and these adorable mini volumes are generally easier to craft than their larger counterparts! Some even require only folding and stapling. This charming collection includes beautiful leather-clad journals, block print notepads, accordion-fold mini-zines, and others that feature interior pockets, unique closures, colorful stitching, and eye-catching bindings. An invaluable illustrated stitch guide provides the essential info for every binding.
How to Make Books by
From zines you can fold in a minute to luxurious leather journals and sumptuous sketchbooks, How to Make Bookswill walk you through the easy basics of bookmaking. Whether you?re a writer, a scrapbooker, a political activist, or a postcard collector, let book artist Esther K. Smith be your guide as you discover your inner bookbinder. Using foolproof illustrations and step-by-step instructions, Smith reveals her time-tested techniques in a fun, easy-to-understand way.
