Research Guides: HIST 2600: Comparative Slaveries in African History: Primary Sources

Primary and Secondary Sources

Primary means written at or near the time of the historical event.

Secondary means written many years later, probably by a scholar researching the historical event.

DPLA
A portal to digitized content made available by libraries, archives and museums

19th Century British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Contains full runs of 48 newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth century Britain.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Searchable American newspaper collections, including African American Newspapers Series 1, 1827-1998; Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876; South Carolina's Historical Newspapers; Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980; and selected historical newspapers.

American Memory Project (Library of Congress)
Primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the U.S.

American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Full text periodicals published between 1740 and 1940.

Documenting the American South
Primary source materials relating to Southern history. Open access.
more...less...
A collection of sources on Southern history, literature and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century. Includes: First-Person Narratives of the American South; Library of Southern Literature; North American Slave Narratives; The Southern Homefront, 1861-1865; The Church in the Southern Black Community.

Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans 1639-1800 This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text and full-page-image access to books, pamphlets and broadsides printed in America from 1639-1800.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
Digital facsimile page images of historical works from 1473 to 1700.
Eighteenth Century Collection Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
Works published in the UK during the 18th century.
Gale NewsVault This link opens in a new window
Platform for cross-searching a range of historical UK newspaper and periodical collections, including 19th century British Library Newspapers (Parts I and II); 19th Century UK Periodicals, Series 1; Times Digital Archive (1785-2006); and, Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive (1902-2007)

Harper's Weekly: 1857-1912 This link opens in a new window
A 19th century illustrated newspaper from 1857-1912. Includes news stories, illustrations, cartoons, editorials, biographies, literature and advertisements.
New York Times Historical Archives (1851-2010) This link opens in a new window
Major global newspaper including news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, as well as photos and advertisements.

ProQuest Congressional Hearings This link opens in a new window
Access congressional publications dealing with the wide variety of topics addressed by Congress.
South Carolina's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
South Carolina Historical newspapers from late 1700s to 1859.
Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Historical newspaper archive with full-text coverage of the Times from 1785 to 2013. Supports research across multiple disciplines including business, humanities, political science, and philosophy with coverage of all major international historical events.

A repository for digital collections. Items in the public domain (works published before 1923) are freely accessible online.

A digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Includes digitized books, periodicals, media, and more.