Languages, Cultures and Translation Databases

This database provides international scholarship in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences.

Full-text database with scholarly journal articles and other sources covering linguistics.

Provides access to scholarly research pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.

Offers full-text, indexing and abstracts for many top communication journals covering all related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse.

A great database to get started with for your research on any topic. Use it to search for articles from scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals, newspapers, and magazines.

References to journal articles and other sources on the history of the world (excluding U.S and Canada).

Provides access to academic journals and books covering a wide range of disciplines; it also includes some limited primary source collections.

The Translation Studies Bibliography is an annotated bibliography of the field of Translation and Interpreting Studies.

References to journal articles and other sources on the history of the US and Canada. See Historical Abstracts for world history.

Includes large corpus of French-language literary, religious, philosophical, political and scientific works from the 12th to 20th centuries. Additional materials in ARTFL: French Women Writers, Provencal poetry, the Encyclopedie Project, the Tresor de la Langue Francaise dictionary, and various other dictionaries.

A collection of images from major museums. ARTSTOR images cover art, architecture and archeology. Useful for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations. ARTSTOR is available solely for educational and scholarly uses that are noncommercial in nature. Images may NOT be placed on publicly accessible websites. UNC Charlotte students, faculty and staff can register for an account which allows off-campus access; this registration must happen while on campus.

An index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities, part of the Web of Science Core Collection. (Indexing: 1975+)

Database covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing.

Comprehensive reference work for the fields of international studies and international relations that contains specially commissioned, peer reviewed essays, written and edited by an international team of scholars and teachers.

Scholarly journals and ebooks in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.

This resource covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources. PAIS Archive is included in this database and includes the content from printed volumes published 1915-1976.

Source for legal research, business, news, etc. Search across global news sources, access federal and state legal cases, find company information, and more

Biographical, critical and bibliographical information on authors.

Articles and other information about authors and their works. Previously titled Literary Reference Center.

Full-text newspaper articles covering international, national, and local news. Includes the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Washington Post, Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, Charlotte Observer, and many others.

Presents unique insight into interactions between American Indians and Europeans from their earliest contact, continuing through the turbulence of the American Civil War, the on-going repercussions of government legislation, right up to the civil rights movement of the mid- to late-twentieth century

A collection of national periodicals as well as local community news and student publications from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada

Spanning three centuries (c1750-1929), these rare pamphlets represent an extensive collection of literature on China and the Chinese in the Western world.

Collection of historical documents on the Mexican Revolution.

Collection consists of the Confidential Print for Africa. Topics covered include coastal trading in the early nineteenth century, the Conference of Berlin of 1884 and the subsequent Scramble for Africa, the abuses of the Congo Free State, World War II, and apartheid in South Africa. Topics range from c. 1834-1966.

Collection consists of the Confidential Print for Central and South America and the French- and Spanish-speaking Caribbean. Topics covered include slavery and the slave trade, immigration, relations with indigenous peoples, and wars and territorial disputes. Topics range from c. 1833-1969.

Collection consists of the Confidential Print for the countries of the Levant and the Arabian peninsula, Iran, Turkey, Egypt and Sudan. Topics include the Egyptian reforms of Muhammad Ali Pasha in the 1830s, the documents trace the events of the following 150 years, including the Middle East Conference of 1921, the mandates for Palestine and Mesopotamia and the 1956 Suez Crisis. Topics range from c. 1839-1969.

Explores files pertaining to China, Hong Kong, and Taiwan from 1919-1980. Topics include the Long March, the Japanese War, the Great Leap Forward, and the Cultural Revolution.

Focuses on the political and social history of India, Pakistan and Afghanistan. Events covered include independence and partition, the Indian annexation of Hyderabad and Goa, and war between India and Pakistan. Topics covered c. 1947-1980.

Addresses the policies, economies, political relationships and significant events of every major Middle East power from 1971-1974. Conflicts such as the Arab-Israeli War, the Lebanese Civil War and the Iranian Revolution are examined in detail, as are the military interventions and peace negotiations carried out by regional and foreign powers.

Organized by country, this collection contains primary source documents relevant to the study of Latin American and Caribbean international relations.

Collection of primary source documents relevant to the study of U.S. relations with Latin America and the Caribbean during the 1930's.

Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during 19th and 20th centuries. Many of these newspapers were published bilingually in Spanish and English.

Full-text access to more than 30 Latin American newspapers published 1805-1922.

Series II of Latin American Newspapers expands the number of titles available from this region, including from some countries and cities not represented in Series I.

Explores the papers, diaries, letters, and sketches of Edward Sylvester Morse, an American, who explored and studied the culture and society of Japan in the Meiji Era.

This collection focuses on the period 1800 to 1924 and covers all aspects of the migration experience, from motives and departures to arrival and permanent settlement. and includes personal accounts, shipping logs, organizational papers and printed literature.

Draws together the diverse historical and contemporary experiences in the United States of Latinos and Latinas from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East. Articles address such broad topics as identity, art, politics, religion, education, health, and history.

An invaluable reference for interested lay persons, students, teachers, and scholars in such fields as art, archaeology, religious studies, anthropology, Latin American culture, and the history of the region.

This encyclopedia encompasses the full range of topics in linguistic, including such areas as historical, comparative, formal, mathematical, functional, philosophical, and sociolinguistics. Special attention is given to interrelations within these branches of the field and to relations of linguistics with other disciplines.

Provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.

A virtual reference collection including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, audio files, and videos in a wide expanse of subject areas.

Transparent Language Online provides a fun, effective, and engaging experience for learners of all levels looking to build their listening, speaking, reading, and writing skills in a foreign language. There are over 110 languages to choose from, including English for speakers of over 30 languages.
Please note: If you want to save your progress, you'll need to create an account.

With feature films from directors across the globe, this unique collection includes the best of the silent era, international directors, American and European masterpieces from the mid-20th century, and award-winning contemporary films. The collection shines a light on the history of cinema while also providing a glimpse into the cultures and issues of countries around the world.

A core streaming video collection introducing cultural groups and practices from around the globe. The collection features documentaries, interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides and more.

A collection of high-quality documentary and educational video programs produced for the Public Broadcasting Corporation.

Academic Video Online includes streaming access to documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage.