Provides a wide range of primarily full-text, international periodicals for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies of major religions, as well as the most recent trends and scholarly thought.
Included are titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion.
Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina this resource presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and in-depth oral histories.
Searchable American newspaper collections, including African American Newspapers Series 1, 1827-1998; Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876; South Carolina's Historical Newspapers; Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980; and selected historical newspapers.
A collection of images from major museums. ARTSTOR images cover art, architecture and archeology. Useful for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations. ARTSTOR is available solely for educational and scholarly uses that are noncommercial in nature. Images may NOT be placed on publicly accessible websites. UNC Charlotte students, faculty and staff can register for an account which allows off-campus access; this registration must happen while on campus.
The oldest existing black periodical in America. Focused on religious news, but also includes articles about education, voting rights, equality and other secular issues that affected the lives of black Americans.
Documenting missionary work from the nineteenth to the twenty-first century, this resource includes publications from the CMS, the Church of England Zenana Missionary Society and the latterly integrated South American Missionary Society.
Eight Centuries (formerly 19th Century Masterfile) is a database covering primary source materials from 1106 until 1960. Provides access to articles, newspapers, books, U.S. patents, government documents, and images.
Founded in 1932 as The Palestine Post, this paper established itself as the top English-language paper of the Middle East and Jewish world. The publication fervently supported the struggle for a Jewish homeland and freely opposed British restrictions on Jewish immigration. Over the decades, the paper espoused a left-leaning perspective that shifted to the right in the 1980s.
Contains full color images of the original letter collections from five 15th century English families. Collection gives insight into medieval business, daily, and domestic life. Original images and transcripts can be viewed side by side.
Full-text newspaper articles covering international, national, and local news. Includes the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Washington Post, Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, Charlotte Observer, and many others.
A comprehensive primary source collection focusing on the nineteenth century. This resource features collections on a variety of topics including children's literature, photography, European and African commerce, and more.
This collection provides essential documentary materials that examines the influence of both faith and skepticism on the shaping of many aspects of society, including politics, law, economics, and social and radical reform movements.
The Bar Ilan Responsa Project is the world's largest electronic collection of Torah literature of its kind. The project which has become the most valid and professional tool of Torah Literature, began more than 40 years ago.
Explores the Ferrar Papers, an essential source for studying the Atlantic World and Early Colonial Period as seen through the papers of the Virginia Company of London, 1606-1624. Also covers the economic history of colonial establishment and the religious and social history of early colonists.
EI-Three is the third edition of Brill’s Encyclopedia of Islam which sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World. It is an essential key to understanding the world of Islam, and the authoritative source not only for the religion, but also for the believers and the countries in which they live.
Addresses all aspects of the dialogue between the sciences and the world's religions. Examines controversial issues such as human cloning, and stem cell research as well as traditional questions such as the origins of life and the nature of sin.
Reference source on all aspects of the Christian Church.
Uniquely authoritative and wide-ranging in its scope, The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church is the indispensable reference work on all aspects of the Christian Church. It contains over 6,000 A-Z entries, and offers unrivalled coverage of all aspects of this vast and often complex subject, from theology; churches and denominations; patristic scholarship; and the bible; to the church calendar and its organization; popes; archbishops; saints; and mystics.