Research Guides: HIST 2600: The Nazis and the Final Solution: Secondary Sources

VIDEO: Searching for Secondary Sources

Searching for Secondary Sources
This module will familiarize you with the abstract databases that will help you find scholarly articles for your History papers

Research Tips

AND...

When using Academic Search Premier and Historical Abstracts, be sure to use "and" between the terms. (E.g. Black death and Italy)

Quotation Marks...

When using JSTOR an AND is automatically inserted between every word. To keep words together as a phrase, use quotation marks. (E.g. "Black death" Italy)

Asterisk*

An asterisk at the end of a word can find alternate endings. (E.g. Jew* will find Jew, Jews, Jewish, etc)

Library Catalog Search Box

Databases

Use these databases to search for journal articles, book reviews, and historiographical essays.

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
References to journal articles and other sources on the history of the world (excluding U.S and Canada).
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to academic journals and books covering a wide range of disciplines; it also includes some limited primary source collections.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and ebooks in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.

LC Subject Headings

When you find one good book on your topic, look at the Subjects (or Subject Headings) assigned to that book in the catalog record. Below are some examples of Library of Congress subject headings that might be helpful to you.

HIST 2600: The Nazis and the Final Solution

VIDEO: Searching for Secondary Sources

Research Tips

Library Catalog Search Box

Databases

LC Subject Headings

Accessing e-books through the Internet Archive (archive.org)