Research Methodologies in Education

A practical guide for students undertaking their dissertation, Writing Successful Undergraduate Dissertations in Social Sciences uses a mixture of exercises, strategies, case study material and further reading to give hints and tips on beginning and managing a research project and working with supervisors. Providing an accessible overview of the essential steps in conducting research and writing dissertations, this fully updated edition contains new sections on: * The varied sources of support for students and how to make use of them * The use of modern technologies, and digital platforms in data collection, storage and processing * The important issues relating to ethnographic and feminist research * How to publish through peer review publications or using self-publishing platforms * The General Data Protection Regulation and legal issues relating to collection, storage and use of personal data * The skills that students have acquired through writing dissertations and how those skills could become useful for future career and employability * How students can relate their dissertations to existing theories and concepts in social sciences that relate to their dissertation. Packed with proven practical advice from 'real-life' data, case studies and examples, Writing Successful Undergraduate Dissertations in Social Sciences is an essential and dependable starting point and guide for any student beginning their dissertation journey in the social sciences.

Are you struggling with your dissertation? Have you started too late and now you're panicking? Help is here! Your Dissertation in Education is a straight-forward, plain English guide to doing and writing your project. It will take you from start to finish, with practical and friendly advice on every page. This second edition includes: - A new Foundations section with the concepts and tools you need to get started - An expanded guide to methodology and writing about methods - A new chapter on mixed methods An essential companion on your dissertation journey, this book is ideal for students across education, including teacher training, early childhood and education studies. TheStudent Successseries are essential guides for students of all levels. From how to think critically and write great essays to planning your dream career, the Student Successseries helps you study smarter and get the best from your time at university.

Writing Strategies for the Education Dissertation offers a unique take on doctoral writing. It uses composition and rhetoric strategies to identify key activities for generating thought to keep students writing. It de-mythologizes the view of writing as a mere skill and promotes the view of writing as thinking. It uses writing to help students invent, think through, write, rethink, and rewrite as they develop and present their innovations.

Completely revised and updated, this latest edition of the bestselling Handbook of Research Design and Social Measurement offers the most comprehensive collection of social research methods available anywhere. New topics include coverage of software used in research, as well as new methodological tools such as event history analysis and probit and logit models. This edition also includes a thorough critique of the use of sociometric scales and an updated guide to funding.

Sharp and focused, this book provides the need-to-know information on how to design and implement a good, high quality research project. Oriented around real-world application, it emphasizes the aspects of research most relevant to conducting practice-based research. Assuming no prior knowledge, but appropriate for experienced learners, it builds knowledge at a sustainable pace; It offers readers: - A no frills guide to methodology and the theory of conducting research - Strategies for communicating complex ideas - Insight into common impact-driven methods like action research, case study, and mixed methods; - Ways to develop systematic research projects within the boundaries of everyday working life - Ample opportunities to test and apply newfound knowledge. With streamlined advice tailored specifically to support research in professional contexts, this book is the essential toolkit every researcher who is embarking on a practice-led project needs.

This best-selling text pioneered the comparison of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods research design. For all three approaches, John W. Creswell and new co-author J. David Creswell include a preliminary consideration of philosophical assumptions, key elements of the research process, a review of the literature, an assessment of the use of theory in research applications, and reflections about the importance of writing and ethics in scholarly inquiry.