Visual Literacy

Ebook

Visual literacy is an increasingly critical skill in a globalizing, digital world. Understanding the educational benefits and risks of visual representation can help educators develop effective strategies to produce visually literate students.

Ebook

Teaching Visual Literacy in the Primary Classroom shows how everyday literacy sessions can be made more exciting, dynamic and effective by using a wide range of media and visual texts in the primary classroom. In addition to a wealth of practical teaching ideas, the book outlines the vital importance of visual texts and shows how children can enjoy developing essential literacy skills through studying picture books, film, television and comic books.

Ebook

Teaching Visual Literacy in the:
Astronomy Classroom
First-Year Seminar Course
Sociology through Photography
History Classroom
Film and Filmmaking in a Second Language

Ebook

This book explores current efforts to tease out the variables involved in the development of literacies, and will inform educators and teacher trainers of ways to improve classroom pedagogies and increase learner literacy competencies.

Ebook

Graphic novels are a uniquely poised vehicle we can use to bridge this dissonance between student communication skills and preferences with mandated educational goals. It includes practical advice on how to integrate these books into both ELA and content-area classrooms and provides an extensive list of appropriate graphic novels for K-8 students, lesson suggestions, paired graphic/prose reading suggestions, and additional resources for taking these texts further.

Ebook

This book focuses on how to effectively integrate the teaching and learning of visual and media literacies in K-12 and higher education.

Print Book

Highlighting a range of relevant topics such as writing composition, data visualization, and literature studies, this book is ideally designed for educators, researchers, professionals, and academics interested in the application of visual imagery in learning environments.

Print Book

Today's teachers need up-to-the-minute information to help their students make sense of the multimodal texts they encounter daily in and out of school. This engaging book provides theoretical, curricular, and pedagogical frameworks for teaching a wide-range of visual and multimodal texts, including historical fiction, picture books, advertisements, websites, comics, graphic novels, news reports, and film.

Print Book

Not all narrative is textual. Images, sequential or non-sequential, have made meaning and told stories since the first cave art and through to the latest 3D movies. This book collects classic and important papers from across disciplinary divides about the comprehension of sequential images.

Ebook

Over the past decade, historical studies of photography have embraced a variety of cultural and disciplinary approaches to the medium, while shedding light on non-Western, vernacular, and other photographic practices outside the Euro-American canon. Photography, History, Difference brings together an international group of scholars to reflect on contemporary efforts to take a different approach to photography and its histories. What are the benefits and challenges of writing a consolidated, global history of photography? How do they compare with those of producing more circumscribed regional or thematic histories?

Ebook

A valuable resource for budding photographers and fans of the visual medium alike, this volume traces the invention and early evolution and techniques of photography, from daguerreotypes to early attempts at color. The development of specific genres, such as portraiture, photojournalism, and fine art photography, is broken up with substantial sidebars that spotlight giants of the medium. Blending historical narrative, personal biographies, and photographs illustrating the works being examined, this book helps readers understand the rich and complex history of a relatively new visual art.

Print Book

This image-based book traces the history of photography from the first black and white images to celebrated examples of 21st-century digital photography. Charting the influence of social and cultural change, as well as the impact of science and technology, this book follows the history of photographs from the first grainy attempts at portrait and landscape photography to gritty photojournalism, street photography, and digital photography, with special features delving into the stories behind photographic images that changed how people saw the world.

Print Book

Exploring the key events and the key images that have marked the development of photography, this title examines the evolution of photography in its wider context: social, political, economic, technological and artistic.

Print Book

The Printed Picture traces the changing technology of picture-making from the Renaissance to the present, focusing on the vital role of images in multiple copies. It surveys printing techniques before the invention of photography; the photographic processes that began to appear in the early 19th century; the marriage of printing and photography; and the digital inventions of our time. From woodblocks to chromolithographs, from engravings to bar codes, from daguerreotypes to colour photographs, the book succinctly examines the full range of pictorial processes.

Print Book

The Encyclopedia of Nineteenth-Century Photography is a comprehensive encyclopedia of world photography up to the beginning of the twentieth century. Coverage includes all the key people, processes, equipment, movements, styles, debates and groupings which helped photography develop from being 'a solution in search of a problem' when first invented, to the essential communication tool, creative medium, and recorder of everyday life.

Ebook

The Photographic Image in Digital Culture explores the condition of photography after some 20 years of remediation and transformation by digital technology. Essays discuss:
- the meaning of software in the production of photograph;
- the screen as the site of photographic display;
- the simulation of photography in the videogame;
- the photograph and the digital archive;
- the curation and exhibition of the networked photograph;
- the dominance of the image bank in commercial and advertising photography;
- the complexities of citizen photojournalism.

Print Book

An examination of the contradictions within a form of expression that is both public and private, specific and abstract, conventional and countercultural. Snapshots capture everyday occasions. Taken by amateur photographers with simple point-and-shoot cameras, snapshots often commemorate something that is private and personal; yet they also reflect widely held cultural conventions.

Print Book

An interpretation of the unconscious codes and secret languages that shape our most ancient emotions are illustrated in over 1600 visual symbols, including photographs, fine art paintings and line illustrations, with authoritative in-depth commentary definitions and explanations.

Print Book

The crow spelled death for medieval Europeans, but for Native Americans it represents a guide from the spirit world. Dictionary of Symbols explores 1,000 symbols from across the world's cultures and throughout the ages.

Semiotics is the theory of signs, and reading signs is a part of everyday life: from road signs that point to a destination, to smoke that warns of fire, to the symbols buried within art and literature. Semiotic theory can, however, appear mysterious and impenetrable. This introductory book decodes that mystery using visual examples instead of abstract theory.

Print Book

Social media has made charts, infographics, and diagrams are ubiquitous--and easier to share than ever. We associate charts with science and reason; the flashy visuals are both appealing and persuasive. Pie charts, maps, bar and line graphs, and scatter plots (to name a few) can better inform us, revealing patterns and trends hidden behind the numbers we encounter in our lives. Charts lie in a variety of ways--displaying incomplete or inaccurate data, suggesting misleading patterns, and concealing uncertainty--or are frequently misunderstood, such as the confusing cone of uncertainty maps shown on TV every hurricane season. In How Charts Lie, data visualization expert Alberto Cairo teaches us to not only spot the lies in deceptive visuals, but also to take advantage of good ones to understand complex stories.

Print Book

Ever been tired of reading and digesting a bunch of tedious numbers or words on a list, form, or bar chart? Playful Data will save you from this chronic headache by featuring some of the most brilliant, playful, illustration-based infographic projects from gifted illustrators, artists, scientists, or graphic designers worldwide.

Ebook

Data visualization has emerged as a serious scholarly topic, and a wide range of tools have recently been developed at an accelerated pace to aid in this research area. Examining different ways of analyzing big data can result in increased efficiency for many corporations and organizations. Featuring extensive coverage on emerging relevant topics such as data complexity, statistics education, and curriculum development, this publication is geared toward teachers, academicians, students, engineers, professionals, and researchers that are interested in expanding their knowledge of data examination and analysis.

EBook

Data visualization involves graphical and visual tools used in data analysis and decision making. The emphasis in this book is on recent trends and applications of visualization tools using conventional and big data. These tools are widely used in data visualization and quality improvement to analyze, enhance, and improve the quality of products and services. Data visualization is an easy way to obtain a first look at the data visually. The book provides a collection of visual and graphical tools widely used to gain an insight into the data before applying more complex analysis.

EBook

This book discusses data and information visualization techniques-the decision-making tools with applications in health care, finance, manufacturing engineering, process improvement, product design, and others. These tools are an excellent means of viewing the current state of the process and improving them. The eight basic tools of quality discussed are the Process Maps, Check Sheets, Histograms, Scatter Diagrams, Run Charts, Control Charts, Cause-and-Effect Diagrams, and Pareto Charts. The new quality tools presented are the Affinity, Tree, and Matrix Diagrams, Interrelationship Digraph, Prioritizing Matrices, Process Decision Program Chart, and Activity Network Diagram along with Quality Function Deployment (QFD) and Multivari Charts.

Print Book

From tracking down information to symbolising human experiences, this book is your guide to telling more effective, empathetic and evidence-based data stories. By approaching both 'data' and 'storytelling' in a broad sense, the book combines theory and practice around real-world data storytelling scenarios, offering critical reflection alongside practical and creative solutions to challenges in the data storytelling process, from tracking down hard to find information, to the ethics of visualising difficult subjects like death and human rights.

Ebook

Cataloging everything from historic photographic processes to the latest advances in digital technology, this reference contains nearly 5,000 entries explaining the terms and techniques of photography. An ideal sourcebook for anyone with an interest in photography, entries include words associated with shooting techniques, digital imaging terms, specialized photographic subgenres, the science of photography, and notable photographers. Each entry blends ample cross-references with detailed explanations to provide both professional photographers and amateur photo enthusiasts with an essential resource.

EBook

Although graphic design is all around us, we rarely take time to notice and appreciate it. Advertisements, logos, websites, and more all rely on graphic design to create eye-catching content. This volume explores the skills artists need to produce aesthetically pleasing designs and the development of this field into the major industry it is today. Information is included for readers who are interested in pursuing graphic design as a career, and striking photographs display some of the most innovative examples of this prominent medium.

Print Book

The 35 projects Bierut presents in this book illustrate the breadth of activity that graphic design encompasses today, his goal being to demonstrate not a single ideology, but the enthusiastically eclectic approach that has been a hallmark of his career. Each project is told in Bierut's own entertaining voice and shown through historic images, preliminary drawings (including full-size reproductions of the notebooks he has maintained for over 30 years), working models and rejected alternatives, as well as the finished work.

Ebook

Aiming to produce more vibrant, emotional, and compelling images, this guide instructs how to instinctively capture the most important moments at a wedding. Since being in the right place at the right time is imperative, instruction is also provided on how to evaluate body language and subtle clues during the event. In addition, this manual, designed specifically for the professional wedding photographer, demonstrates how postproduction, album design, and photographer and client communication can maximize sales and customer satisfaction.

Print Book

Experienced journalists Richard Koci Hernandez and Jeremy Rue systemize and categorize the characteristics of the new, often experimental story forms that appear on today's digital news platforms. By identifying a classification of digital news packages, and introducing a new vocabulary for how content is packaged and presented, the authors give students and professionals alike a way to talk about and understand the importance of story design in an era of convergence storytelling. Online, all forms of media are on the table: audio, video, images, graphics, and text are available to journalists at any type of media company as components with which to tell a story.

Print Book

Living in a saturated media environment, we are crowded from all sides by persuasive messages and information. Advice, promotion and propaganda form a spectrum of persuasion, and everywhere we see it performed in its full theatricality, complete with actors, scripts, props and costumes. Media, Persuasion and Propaganda guides the reader through the many varieties of persuasion and its performance, exploring the protocols of rhetoric unique to the medium, from orality and print to film and digital images.

Print Book

The events of recent years, from 9/11 to the Japanese earthquake and tsunami disaster, have once again shown that photography remains the ideal tool for capturing human emotion, drama, and tragedy. Photojournalism presents the extraordinary history of this indispensable means of reporting. Starting with some of the first key figures, such as Roger Fenton, who photographed the Crimean War with a bulky large-format camera, it moves through the decades, from the Great Depression to space missions, the dismantling of the Berlin Wall, and the war in Iraq--all illustrated with stirring images from the world's greatest photojournalists.

Print Book

Stacy Pearsall is the most decorated female war photographer of our time and an award-winning photojournalist. In this hands-on practical guide. Starting with an overview of photojournalism and her role in the profession, Pearsall then dives into the details, providing keen insights into preparing for long- and short-term assignments, living and working in harsh conditions, maintaining physical and mental health, and managing relationships with subjects.

Print Book

This book draws on visual data, ranging from advertisements to postage stamps to digital personal photography, to offer a complex interpretation of the different social functions realised by these texts as semiotic artefacts. Framed within the media environment of the city of Hong Kong, the study demonstrates the importance of social context to meaning making and social semiotic multimodal analysis. This book will be of interest to readers in the arts, humanities and social sciences, particularly within the fields of semiotics, visual studies, design studies, media and cultural studies, anthropology and sociology.

Ebook

The question of the (photographic) construction and representation of national identity is not limited to the 'long 19th century', but is a current issue in the post-colonial, post-global, digital world. The essays by international contributors aim at studying the relationship between photographic archives and the idea of nation, yet without focusing on single symbolic icons and instead considering the wider archival and sedimental dimension.

Print Book

Encouraging research, reflection and debate, Basics Creative Photography 03- Behind the Image will revolutionize the way new projects are approached. The book's selection of images brings together an eclectic range of photographic styles and genres, creating a refreshing and inspiring resource for all.

Ebook

Theorists critique photography for "objectifying" its subjects and manipulating appearances for the sake of art. Yet even though the violating capacity of the photograph results from external power relations, the photographer is still faced with an ethical choice: whether to advance photography's truth-claims on the basis of these powers or to diminish or veil these powers to protect the integrity of the subject. Photography's acts of intrusion and destabilization, then, constantly test the photographer at the point of production, in the darkroom, and at the computer, especially in our 24-hour digital image culture.