Research Guides: Architecture Research Guide: Websites

Evaluating Websites

Author

Who wrote the page? What organization sponsored the page? Can you verify the author's credentials?

Purpose

What is the purpose of the page? Who is the intended audience? Websites can be for information or sales purposes, sometimes both.

Currency

Is the information up to date? Is the webpage dated? Recent updates do not necessarily indicate current information.

Objectivity

Relates to purpose. Is the intent of the website to inform or persuade? Are facts completely and accurately cited?

Support

Does the author provide footnotes or citations for the information provided?

American Institute of Architects
Based in Washington, D.C., the AIA has been the leading professional membership association for licensed architects, emerging professionals, and allied partners since 1857.
Cities and Buildings Database
The Cities and Buildings Database is a collection of digitized images of buildings and cities drawn from across time and throughout the world, available to students, researchers and educators on the web.
Congress of Residential Architecture
CORA is dedicated to all aspects of building better homes for more people, open to any and all who have a passion for creating houses that respond to clients, sites, art and science.
more...less...
This is a bottom-up, crowd-sourced, open-ended group networking together to share what works, what doesn't, what sparks an outcry, what deserves revelation.
Google Arts and Culture
Expanding resource that includes still and interactive images of historical buildings from around the world.
International Archive of Women in Architecture
The International Archive of Women in Architecture (IAWA) was established in 1985 as a joint program of the College of Architecture and Urban Studies and the University Libraries at Virginia Tech. The IAWA began by collecting the papers of those who practiced at a time when there were few women in the field (i.e., before the 1950s). The IAWA, however, now collects the records of women working in the design fields of the built environment.

ArchitectFinder
An online directory of American Institute of Architects member firms. Can be searched by location, firm name, and/or specialization (building type or service type).
Pro File
This is the official directory of the American Institute of Architects. Latest edition in Hight Library is 1995: NA53 .P76.
North Carolina Board of Architecture
You may search by individual's name or firm name. This only confirms active licensure.
Directory of African American Architects
The Directory of African American Architects is maintained as a public service to promote an awareness of who African American architects are and where they are located. The sole qualification for listing is licensure in one of the fifty US jurisdictions and their territories.
UIA: International Union of Architects
Provides links to websites for regional organizations of architects and their member organizations. Over 100 countries are represented in the UIA. Some country's architectural associations provide online directories.
AIA Historical Directory of American Architects
The AIA Historical Directory helps you locate information about past U.S. architects in the AIA Archives and elsewhere. It does NOT include members who joined fewer than 30 years ago.
WorldArchitects.com
Provides selected architectural firm profiles, organized geographically.

anArchitecture
An Austrian based but internationally focused blog related to architecture and architectural thinking: a resource for people in the orbit of architecture.
ArchDaily
Arch Daily is "the online source of continuous information for a growing community of thousands of architects searching for the latest architectural news: projects, products, events, interviews and competitions among others." from the website.
archINFORM
An online database of international architecture. Over 50,000 projects. Varying levels of information (from brief synopses to plans, drawings, and bibliographies).
BLDG Blog
Architectural Conjecture Urban Speculation Landscape Futures BLDGBLOG ("building blog") is written by Geoff Manaugh in Los Angeles, California.
more...less...
Architectural Conjecture, Urban Speculation, Landscape Futures

BLDGBLOG ("building blog") is written by Geoff Manaugh in Los Angeles, California.
Architectural Association Collections
A forum for notifying researchers of important new acquisitions or discoveries within the Architectural Association Archives.