Research Guides: Architecture Research Guide: Charlotte Resources

Charlotte House Project

Solomon-Levine House

Newspaper research

Charlotte Observer and Charlotte News are the best resources for this project. They are available via microfilm at Atkins Library.

Charlotte Observer Clippings File
Contains a subject index. Subjects include Homes - Charlotte and Housing - Charlotte. Coverage spans 1943-1974.

NewsBank This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspaper articles covering international, national, and local news. Includes the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Washington Post, Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, Charlotte Observer, and many others.

Other Resources

Charlotte-Mecklenburg Historic Landmarks Commission
A powerful historic preservation tool under North Carolina Law is the legal entity known as a Historic Landmarks Commission, sometimes called Historic Properties Commission. It exists to recommend the designation of individually significant historic property, both real and personal, as historic landmarks and to secure the preservation of same.
Charlotte Historic District Commission
includes twelve member Historic District Commission (HDC) and its staff
Triangle Modernist Houses
The Triangle area of North Carolina has the third largest concentration of Modernist houses in America; more than anywhere else except Los Angeles and Chicago. Triangle Modernist Houses (TMH) is a nonprofit historical archive. They act as a warning system for endangered Modernist houses, a source for Modernist house tours, a catalog of North Carolina and national residential architecture, and a community of advocates for Modernist construction.

GIS Local Data/Shapefiles

Mecklenburg County GIS: Open Mapping Data
Many different geographic layers in Charlotte and Mecklenburg County
NC OneMap Geospatial Portal
The geospatial backbone supporting North Carolina data and map service users. It is an organized effort of numerous partners throughout North Carolina, involving local, state, and federal government agencies, the private sector and academia.
Complete List of NC County GIS sites
GIS Links,Tax Records, and Deed Images

Books and Reports

Neighbhorhoods in Charlotte by Charlotte-Mecklenburg Planning Commission
Call Number: HC107.N82 M46
An electronic copy is also available through the catlaog.

Searching the catalog, using the subject Charlotte (N.C.) will bring up over 500 affiliated subject headings. You may also try a neighborhood name as a subject, i.e. Myers Park (N.C.) or Plaza-Midwood (N.C).

Charlotte City Directory
Call Number: F264 C4 A18
Directories for 1950-1952 are in the Local Document Collection on the 2nd floor. 1953-1974 are on the 8th floor, in the oversize stacks.
Charlotte
Call Number: F264.C4 C4
A local magazine, coverage begins in 1968.

Analytiques

The following are books that either explain the Analytique method or provide examples.

Architecture de C.N. Ledoux
NA2707.L44 A4 1983
L'architecture considérée sous le rapport de l'art, des mœurs et de la législation
NA2707.L44 A477 1997
Originally published: L'architecture de C.N. Le Doux, Premier volume contenant des plans, élévations, coupes, vues perspectives: collection qui rassemble tous les genres de bâtiments employés dans l'ordre social. Paris : C.N. Ledoux, 1804.
Visual notes for architects and designers
NA2750 .C76 1984
Architectural antiques
NA2840 .R58 1987
Many examples can be found in the "Sources" sections of the book.
Pencil Points
An architectural journal - we have volumes 4-23. The early volumes from the 1920s contain many examples of the analytique method of rendering.

City of Charlotte and Mecklenburg County

Register of Deeds
Select "real estate" icon for record 1990 to the present and "historical real estate" icon for records prior to 1990.
POLARIS
Property ownership and land records information system.

Special Collections

J. Murrey Atkins Library Special Collections Homepage
J. Murrey Atkins Library Special Collections is dedicated to preserving and sharing the past. Our Rare Book, Manuscript, University Archives, Oral History, and Local Documents collections enhance research at all levels.
New South Voices
New South Voices provides access to over 800 audio recordings and transcripts of interviews, narratives and conversations collected by UNC Charlotte faculty and students and several community organizations. These interviews are part of the Oral History Collection housed in the Special Collections unit of Atkins Library at UNC Charlotte.
Historic Charlotte Neighborhoods
This guide provides histories of Charlotte communities, some of which have disappeared or have been gentrified, but many are very much alive. Each neighborhood overview includes a brief history of the community, resources found in UNC Charlotte's Special Collections, oral histories, historic sites within the neighborhoods, and outside resources for further research.

Charlotte-Mecklenburg Library

The Public Library of Charlotte-Mecklenburg has many resources. Of special interest is the image archive, searchable by subject, the historic map collection, and the local government documents resources.

Charlotte Mecklenburg Library
Carolina Room
The Robinson-Spangler Carolina Room,houses historical information on Charlotte, Mecklenburg County and North Carolina as well as genealogical and current information, especially resources focusing on the eastern part of the United States. The Library's special collections, including sound recordings related to North Carolina, photographs of Charlotte and Mecklenburg County, archives and manuscripts, surname and biography files, and local and state government documents.
The Charlotte-Mecklenburg Story
Website of the Robinson-Spangler Carolina Room.