Research Guides: Art Research Guide: Find Articles

Subject Databases

Art and Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage for periodicals and books in art and architecture. Specifically covers fine, decorative and commercial art, plus architecture and architectural design.
Arts and Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
ProQuest Arts Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to multiple collections with thousands of journals covering the arts, humanities, performing arts, and more.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Index to journals for architecture and related topics.
Artstor This link opens in a new window
A collection of images from major museums. ARTSTOR images cover art, architecture and archeology. Useful for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations. ARTSTOR is available solely for educational and scholarly uses that are noncommercial in nature. Images may NOT be placed on publicly accessible websites. UNC Charlotte students, faculty and staff can register for an account which allows off-campus access; this registration must happen while on campus.

Related Databases

Interdisciplinary

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A great database to get started with for your research on any topic. Use it to search for articles from scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals, newspapers, and magazines.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and ebooks in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.

Newspapers

Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Source for legal research, business, news, etc. Search across global news sources, access federal and state legal cases, find company information, and more
NewsBank This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspaper articles covering international, national, and local news. Includes the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Washington Post, Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, Charlotte Observer, and many others.

Getting the Article

How to get the article:

Many databases have full text (either HTML or PDF) for articles you find.
If full text is not available, click on green icon. It may offer a link to another database, the publisher site, the Atkins Library catalog, or to Interlibrary Loan.
If the UNC Charlotte Library does not own the book/article you are looking for, you can request it through ILL (Interlibrary Loan). If you are in the catalog record, use the button located on the right side of the page.

TIP!
A book requested through ILL can take 1-2 weeks to arrive. Articles tend to be faster. Additionally, ILL is not always able to get the item you want so starting early will give you time to find additional resources.

Art Research Guide

Subject Databases

Related Databases

Getting the Article

Searching for Articles

Identifying Scholarly Articles