Philosophy Research Guide

On this site you will find versions of some classics of early modern philosophy, and a few from the 19th century, prepared with a view to making them easier to read while leaving intact the main arguments, doctrines, and lines of thought.

The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy was founded in 1995 to provide open access to detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy.

The Sophia Project is an online collection of original articles, primary source texts, and commentaries in the fields of philosophy and ethics designed to provide the newcomer to the discipline of philosophy with the resources necessary to read great philosophical works.

​​Includes a taxonomy browser that provides entry points for finding information on philosophical ideas.

​​The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an up-to-date reference work.

H-Ideas is a network for scholarly collaboration on intellectual history, the history of ideas, and related fields.

​Presents history, literature, and culture of the Greco-Roman world using original language and translations.

Project Vox focuses on the narratives of early modern women who impacted the history of philosophy. Created by Duke University.

Digital Cavendish is a scholarly collaborative seeking to highlight digital research, image archives, scholarly projects, and teaching materials/resources that focus on any aspect of the life and writings of Margaret Cavendish, Duchess of Newcastle (1623-1673).

In this podcast, philosopher Peter Adamson and collaborators provide listeners with introductions to major and minor figures in the history of philosophy, from ancient to contemporary. In addition to the main series which focuses on Western philosophy, this podcast includes parallel series on Indian philosophy and Africana philosophy. Episodes are approximately 20 minutes and provide accessible introductions to particular thinkers or schools of thought. Each episode has an associated web page that provides a list of primary and secondary sources for further reading.

Because this podcast aspires to cover the history of philosophy "without any gaps", it is an ongoing project. Their series of episodes in Western philosophy begins from ancient Greece and, as of 2022, runs up through the 16th century, with just over 400 episodes total. As of 2022, their series on Africana philosophy extends from ancient Africa to the mid 20th century, and includes just over 100 episodes. Their series on Indian philosophy is now finished, with 62 episodes extending from Vedic literature to mature Buddhist and Jain thought.

New Books in Philosophy features hour-long interviews with the authors of recently published books in philosophy. The content is scholarly and specialized. Episodes of this podcasts often provide helpful overviews of the main arguments in new work by contemporary philosophers.

Philosophers David Edmonds and Nigel Warburton conduct short interviews with leading philosophers on a range of topics. The conversations are accessible for non-specialists. Episodes provide helpful overviews of many topics and may provide direction for additional research.

Hi-Phi Nation adopts a narrative journalism approach to philosophy, presenting philosophical topics and history as stories. The episodes are designed to be accessible and entertaining. Nevertheless, they contain substantive philosophical content and may offer starting points for learning or research on a new philosophical topic.

Philosophy Kieran Setiya asks famous contemporary philosophers five questions about their approaches to life and philosophical work. The conversations are very accessible and tend to be focused on the experiences of the philosophers interviewed, rather than on the details of their research.