Research Guides: Philosophy Research Guide: Welcome

Get Started

Jump start your research with these essential resources:

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is an extensive online encyclopedia with long entries about both general and specific topics in academic philosophy. Each entry is written and maintained by a specialist on that topic and supplies a bibliography of articles and books for further reading.
PhilPapers
PhilPapers is an online directory of academic philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. It offers advanced search capabilities for contemporary articles and often provides links or download options. It is updated constantly, making it easier to stay abreast of current research in philosophy.

Dictionary of Philosophy by Simon Blackburn
Call Number: B41 .B53 2005
ISBN: 9780198610144
Publication Date: 2006-01-19
A short dictionary of philosophy written by a famous contemporary philosopher, with pithy incisive entries on major concepts, terms, and topics in philosophy.
The Oxford Companion to Philosophy by Ted Honderich (Editor)
Call Number: B51 .O94 2005
ISBN: 9780191532658
Publication Date: 2005-03-01
An authoritative and accessible one-volume dictionary of major topics and figures in philosophy.
The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy by Robert Audi (Editor)
Call Number: B41 .C35 1999
ISBN: 9780521631365
Publication Date: 1999-09-28
An authoritative and accessible one-volume dictionary of major topics and figures in philosophy.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is an extensive online encyclopedia with long entries about both general and specific topics in academic philosophy. Each entry is written and maintained by a specialist on that topic and supplies a bibliography of articles and books for further reading.
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy is an extensive online encyclopedia with long entries about both general and specific topics in academic philosophy. Scope and coverage is similar to that of the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy.

Continuum Encyclopedia of British Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive reference work devoted to philosophy in Britain.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A virtual reference collection including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, audio files, and videos in a wide expanse of subject areas.
Encyclopedia of Rhetoric This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of rhetorical study from classical studies to philosophy.
Encyclopedia of Semiotics This link opens in a new window
The study of language, symbols and the transmission of information.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive online dictionary of the English language.
The most comprehensive dictionary of the English language. It traces the development of English from approximately 1150 AD up to the present day. It covers the full spectrum of English language usage, from formal to slang, as it has evolved over time. Contains the complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition, first published in 1989, together with its 3-volume Additions Series.

Past Masters This link opens in a new window
Provides access to correspondence and primary source materials for figures important to the study of Philosophy.

Philosophy is a right | Dr Charlotte Blease | TEDxUCD

This video highlights the various ways to get research assistance from Atkins Library.