Research Guides: Languages, Cultures and Translation Research Guide: French

French Language Learning

French Conversation by Eliane Kurbegov
Call Number: 6th Floor PC2121 .K74 2012
ISBN: 9780071770873
Learn how to speak French fluently and spontaneously. Practice Makes Perfect: French Conversation gives you helpful instruction on correct pronunciation, grammar, syntax, and word usage, keeping in mind the typical problems of native English speakers like you.
Understanding Core French Grammar by Andrew J. Betts (Editor)
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 1622730704
This book contains an explanatory treatment of the core areas of difficulty for the English speaking learner of French.
A Comprehensive French Grammar by Glanville Price
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 1118697634
Characterized by clear and accessible explanations, numerous examples and sample sentences, a new section on register and tone, and useful appendices covering topics including age and time, A Comprehensive French Grammar, Sixth Edition is an indispensable tool for advanced students of French language and literature.

BBC Guide to French
Language learning guide for French

NEW: The ARTFL Project

ARTFL This link opens in a new window
Includes large corpus of French-language literary, religious, philosophical, political and scientific works from the 12th to 20th centuries. Additional materials in ARTFL: French Women Writers, Provencal poetry, the Encyclopedie Project, the Tresor de la Langue Francaise dictionary, and various other dictionaries.

French Dictionaries

Oxford Beginner's French Dictionary by Marie-Hélène Corréard; Mary O'Neill; Gearóid Cronin; Oxford University Press Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: 6th Floor PC2640 .O768 2006
ISBN: 9780199298587
The Oxford Beginner's French Dictionary is a brand new guide to learning French. Designed specifically for English-speaking adult learners who are either learning from scratch or refreshing lost language skills, it offers an easy to use dictionary, extra help with vocabulary, and essential information on living and interacting in the French-speaking world.
Le Robert and Collins dictionnaire Français-Anglais, Anglais-Français by Gough, Janet
Call Number: 6th Floor PC2640 .C69 2016
ISBN: 0007556527
Larousse Pocket French-English/English-French Dictionary by Larousse Editors
Call Number: 6th Floor PC2640 .F74 2011
ISBN: 9782035700032
For anyone speaking, reading, or studying French, theLarousse Pocket Dictionary is the ideal dictionary for everyday use. With its handy and portable paperback format, great price and clear, easy-to-use layout, it's filled with vocabulary in all subject areas. These reliable and user-friendly tools are great for all language needs, whether studying a language or traveling.

Cambridge French-English Online Dictionary

French Film & TV

Films on Demand: World Cinema Collection This link opens in a new window
With feature films from directors across the globe, this unique collection includes the best of the silent era, international directors, American and European masterpieces from the mid-20th century, and award-winning contemporary films. The collection shines a light on the history of cinema while also providing a glimpse into the cultures and issues of countries around the world.

French News Sources

Le Monde
Le Figaro
Radio France
BnF Digitized Press
Digitized French daily press titles from the 19th and 20th centuries.

NewsBank This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspaper articles covering international, national, and local news. Includes the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Washington Post, Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, Charlotte Observer, and many others.

Local Community Resources

Alliance Française de Charlotte

The Alliance Française de Charlotte is a group of unique individuals who have a sincere and vested interest in the French language and culture’s heritage. Our organization is made up of a wide variety of people from all over the globe who wish to advance the study of French language, culture and influences.

International House Charlotte

Holds French conversation hours Tuesdays from 12-1pm and Wednesdays 7-8pm.