Research Guides: LGBTQ+ Literature and Film: Finding Articles

Search for Articles

Databases to Find Articles

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly research pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Biographical, critical and bibliographical information on authors.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to academic journals and books covering a wide range of disciplines; it also includes some limited primary source collections.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and ebooks in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A great database to get started with for your research on any topic. Use it to search for articles from scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals, newspapers, and magazines.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
An index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities, part of the Web of Science Core Collection. (Indexing: 1975+)
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
References to journal articles and other sources on the history of the world (excluding U.S and Canada).
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text, indexing and abstracts for many top communication journals covering all related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse.

Using Google Scholar

Steps to set up Google Scholar:

1. Go to scholar.google.com

2. Find the menu located in the top left corner. Click on Settings.

3. Select "Library Links."

4. Type "University of North Carolina Charlotte."

5. Select both options.

6. Type "worldcat"

7. Select the option.

8. Select "SAVE."

What is Peer Review?

A peer reviewed journal or article is one in which a group of scholarly reviewers in the subject area of the journal reviews the content for quality of research and adherence to editorial standards of the journal. If you use materials from peer-reviewed publications they have been vetted by scholars in your field for quality and importance.

You can limit your search results to peer reviewed materials in many library databases.

Scholarly Journals

LGBTQ Scholarly Journals
This link brings up print and electronic journals based on the keyword search: homosexual OR gay OR lesbian OR transgender OR queer
Transgender Studies Journals
Transgender Studies Quarterly
TSQ: Transgender Studies Quarterly offers a high-profile venue for innovative research and scholarship. Major topics addressed in the first few issues include the cultural production of trans communities, critical analysis of transgender population studies, transgender biopolitics, radical critiques of political economy, and problems of translating gender concepts and practices across linguistic communities.