Research Guides: Interpreting and Translation Studies Research Guide: Finding Books

Search Atkins Library

On our Shelves

Handbook of Translation Studies (Volumes 1-4) by Yves Gambier (Editor); Luc van Doorslaer (Editor)
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 1283943328
Publication Date: 2010-2013
The Handbook of Translation Studies (HTS) aims at disseminating knowledge about translation and interpreting and providing easy access to a large range of topics, traditions, and methods to a relatively broad audience.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Interpreting Studies by Franz Pochhacker
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 1317391268
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Interpreting Studies is the authoritative reference for anyone with an academic or professional interest in interpreting.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Translation Studies by Mona Baker (Editor); Gabriela Saldanha (Editor)
Call Number: 6th Floor P306 .E57 2009
ISBN: 0415369304
Includes approximately 30 new entries, this encyclopedia presents a comprehensive overview of the rich and complex academic discipline of translation studies.
Routledge Handbook of Literary Translation by Washbourne, R. Kelly, editor.; Van Wyke, Ben, editor.
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9781315517124
Publication Date: 2018
The Routledge Handbook of Literary Translation provides an accessible, diverse and extensive overview of literary translation today.
The Routledge Handbook of Translation and Culture by Sue-Ann Harding (Editor); Ovidi CARBONELL CORTES (Editor)
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9781317368502
Publication Date: 2018-04-09
The Routledge Handbook of Translation and Culture collects into a single volume thirty-two state-of-the-art chapters written by international specialists, overviewing the ways in which translation studies has both informed, and been informed by, interdisciplinary approaches to culture.
And Translation Changed the World (and the World Changed Translation) by Alberto Fuertes (Editor); Ester Torres-Simòn
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 1443871133
Whether by conflict or cooperation, translation has played a major role in the evolution of societies and it has evolved with them. This volume offers different perspectives on, and approaches to, similar topics and situations within different countries and cultures through the work of young scholars.
Practical Guide for Translators by Geoffrey Samuelsson-Brown
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 1282657127
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
This work looks at the profession of translator on the basis of developments over the last few years and encourages both practitioners and buyers of translation services to view translation as a highly-qualified, skilled profession and not just a cost-led word mill.
Global Translators Handbook by Morry Sofer
Call Number: Available as ebook and print (6th Floor P306.2 .S667 2013)
ISBN: 9781589797598
A practical guide to translation as a profession, this book provides everything translators need to know, from digital equipment to translation techniques, dictionaries in over seventy languages, and sources of translation work.
Electronic Tools for Translators by Frank Austermuhl
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9781315760353
Publication Date: 2014-05-01
Electronic Tools for Translatorsoffers complete explanations of a wide range of software products, information resources and online services that translators now need to understand and use.

International Encyclopedia of Linguistics This link opens in a new window
This encyclopedia encompasses the full range of topics in linguistics.
The Encyclopedia encompasses the full range of topics in linguistics, including such areas as historical, comparative, formal, mathematical, functional, philosophical, and sociolinguistics. Special attention is given to interrelations within these branches of the field and to relations of linguistics with other disciplines. This interdisciplinary focus makes the encyclopedia an invaluable resource not only for linguistics but also for scholars working in the fields of computer science, mathematics, philosophy, the social and behavioral sciences, and literary studies.

English Language Dictionaries

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive online dictionary of the English language.
The most comprehensive dictionary of the English language. It traces the development of English from approximately 1150 AD up to the present day. It covers the full spectrum of English language usage, from formal to slang, as it has evolved over time. Contains the complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition, first published in 1989, together with its 3-volume Additions Series.
Dictionary of American Regional English (DARE) This link opens in a new window
A dictionary representing the full panoply of American regional vocabulary, from Adam’s housecat to Zydeco.

Using Interlibrary Loan

Need a book or article that we don't own? Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service that lets students, faculty, and staff of UNC Charlotte borrow materials that are owned by libraries at other institutions.