AutoCAD
Architectural drawing--Computer-aided design
Architecture and energy conservation
Architecture--details
Building - details - drawings
Building materials
Buildings - performance
Buildings - specifications
Computer-Aided Design
Computer Graphics
Digital computer simulation
Heat exchangers
Heating and ventilation
Indoor air pollution
Intelligent buildings
Materials--Thermal properties Tables
Organic architecture--Computer-aided design
Sustainable architecture
Other options:
Sustainable buildings
Sustainable buildings - design and construction
Sustainable construction
Sustainable design
Thermodynamics
Ventilation Equipment and supplies
--Design and construction.
--Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Virtual Reality
Windows - energy conservation
Advanced Building Technologies for Sustainability by
Practical solutions for sustainability In this timely guide, one of the world's leaders in advanced building technology implementation shows architects and engineers proven and practical methods for implementing these technologies in sustainably-designed buildings. Because of the very limited time architects are given from being awarded a project to concept design, this book offers clear and workable solutions for implementing solar energy, radiant heating and cooling floors, displacement ventilation, net zero, and more. It provides helpful tips and suggestions for architects and engineers to work together on implementing these technologies, along with many innovative possibilities for developing a truly integrated design. This book also explores and explains the many benefits of advanced technologies, including reduced greenhouse gas emissions, lower operating costs, noise reduction, improved indoor air quality, and more. In addition, Advanced Building Technologies for Sustainability: Offers detailed coverage of solar energy systems, thermal energy storage, geothermal systems, high-performance envelopes, chilled beams, under-floor air distribution, displacement induction units, and much more Provides case studies of projects using advanced technologies and demonstrates their implementation in a variety of contexts and building types Covers the implementation of advanced technologies in office towers, large residential buildings, hospitals, schools, dormitories, theaters, colleges, and more Complete with a clear and insightful explanation of the requirements for and benefits of acquiring the U.S. Green Building Council's LEED certification, Advanced Building Technologies for Sustainability is an important resource for architects, engineers, developers, and contractors involved in sustainable projects using advanced technologies.
Architectural Technology by
... it gives me great pleasure to support the first everpublication to specifically address the area of research, and inparticular its relationship with practice, in the discipline ofarchitectural technology...not only ground breaking because itis the first book of its kind, but also because it provides at longlast one of the accepted foundations needed to underpin theemerging academic discipline, namely a recognised researchbase. CIAT, in supporting this publication, is aware of the needfor books such as this to sustain the process of research informedpractice, as an aid for both students and those practising withinthe discipline of architectural technology. Norman Wienand MCIAT, Vice President Education, CharteredInstitute of Architectural Technologists Architectural technology is the realisation of architecturethrough the application of building science, forming theconstructive link between the abstract and the physical. Architectural Technology: research and practice demonstratesthe importance of research in architectural technology and aims tostimulate further research and debate by enlightening, informingand challenging readers. Chapter authors address the interplay between research andpractice in the field of architectural technology, examining theinfluence of political, economic, social, environmental andtechnological issues. The focus throughout is on creatingsustainable buildings that are constructed economically andfunction effectively and efficiently within their service lifecycle. The book's mix of chapters and case studies bring togethera number of different themes and provides invaluable insights intothe world of research from the perspective of those working withinthe architectural technology field - practitioners, academics andstudents. The underlying message is that architectural technologyis not just a profession; it is a way of thinking and a way ofacting. This is highlighted by contributions from architects andarchitectural technologists passionate about architecturaltechnology as a field of knowledge. Contributions range from thetheoretical and polemic to the pragmatic and applied, furtherhelping to demonstrate the richness of the field. About the Editor Stephen Emmitt is Professor ofArchitectural Technology at Loughborough University UK and VisitingProfessor of Innovation Sciences at Halmstad University, Sweden anda member of CIAT's Research Group.
Integrating Innovation in Architecture by
Today's design professionals are faced with challenges on all fronts. They need not only to keep in step with rapid technological changes and the current revolution in design and construction processes, but to lead the industry. This means actively seeking to innovate through design research, raising the bar in building performance and adopting advanced technologies in their practice. In a constant drive to improve design processes and services, how is it possible to implement innovations? And, moreover, to assimilate them in such a way that design, methods and technologies remain fully integrated? Focusing on innovations in architecture, this book covers new materials and design methods, advances in computational design practices, innovations in building technologies and construction techniques, and the integration of research with design. Moreover, it discusses strategies for integrating innovation into design practices, risks and economic impacts. Through numerous case studies, it illustrates how innovations have been implemented on actual architectural projects, and how design and technical innovations are used to improve building performance, as well as design practices in cutting-edge architectural and engineering firms. Projects of all scales and building types are discussed in the book, ranging from small-scale installations, academic and commercial buildings to large-scale mixed-use, healthcare, civic, academic, scientific research and sports facilities. Work from design firms around the globe and of various scales is discussed in the book, including for example Asymptote Architecture, cepezed, CO Architects, Consarc Architects, FAAB Architektura, Gerber Architekten, HOK, IDOM-ACXT, MAD Architects, Morphosis Architects, SDA | Synthesis Design + Architecture, Studiotrope, Perkins+Will, Richter Dahl Rocha & Associés, Snøhetta, Rob Ley Studio, Trahan Architects, UNStudio and Zaha Hadid Architects, among many others.
Inventions in Architecture by
In the beginning, architecture was synonymous with survival. Early empires built walls to keep enemies out and to define their territory. Inventions including the arch (which was first created by the Romans) and the steel frames that support skyscrapers have elevated architecture to an art form. Inventions in Architecture: From Stone Walls to Solar Panels looks at the innovations responsible for architecture as we know it in the order they were invented. The book also demonstrates how these inventions shaped each other and how they have wider applications, including the potential to change the way we power our lives.
Lectures on Innovation in Building Technology by
This book is a collection of articles written in recent years and used in lectures for students at the Faculty of Architecture at Delft and at Nottingham University. The lectures and articles are based on a mixture of innovations in academia and industry. They elucidate the relationship between architecture and building technology, as well as high technology, transfer of technology, innovative design, development and research in the Chair of Product Development at TU Delft. With his experience in both industry and academia, Eekhout's goal is to bridge the gap between the two worlds and to stimulate them both, to prepare students to be inventive, innovative and daring enough to materialize their own dreams in practice. The lecture articles are based on the adventures and experiences in Mick Eekhout's design & build experimental laboratory cum factory, which works on projects all over the world, and for many interesting clients. Eekhout was able to develop an innovative technical vocabulary for lightweight structures and claddings in architecture and encourages students to attempt the same.
Policies, Programs and People That Shape Innovation in Housing by
The goal of the proposed book is to create a foundation for the Housing Innovations Collection, anchoring it in the programs, policies, people, and literature that have shaped the innovation landscape within residential construction and housing policy. At the first book in the collection, this work will draw together, into a single volume, a review of the programs and policies responsible for guiding innovation research and practice in housing. It will also review the literature of innovation within housing, helping to identify the leading edge of knowledge. The book will help readers to acquire both a comprehensive familiarity with the history and current state of innovation of housing policy, programs, practices and literature. Readers will be presented with a chance to peer over the leading edge of scholarship and practice to see what's on the horizon; looking back to look forward. The authors seek to provide readers with a summary of how the innovation can be used as a lens through which to process and analyze the ever-growing data available on the building and housing industry. The first section of Housing Innovation will focus on and describe the major streams of academic and practical research literature including: what makes the industry different and the risks involved, the industry's view of innovation, federal programs encouraging innovation in housing and residential construction, industrialization as innovation on-and-off the site, and the path ahead. The second section will focus on the innovative practices of homebuilders over the last decade. For researchers, this book will summarize major highlights from diffusion literature, focused both on housing and the programs and policies applied to it. For practitioners, this book will provide information regarding trends in the industry and a window into the current state-of-the-art.
Product Development and Architecture by
From idea to product In the construction sector, demand is steadily increasing for innovative products. Product Development and Architecture presents selected examples that illustrate how the planning disciplines can contribute to such innovations in building. Introductory essays comprehensively explain the thematic and methodological framework. Case studies exemplify the transformation of ideas into prototypes or products. Creating dynamics, shifting boundaries, building and expanding networks, conserving resources, developing and optimizing planning tools, as well as implementing use-additive processes -- all these processes are discussed in order to clarify the necessary collaboration between various actors in the construction industry. Groundbreaking solutions clearly explain the role applied sciences play in the active collaboration between university and industry, as well as the interdisciplinary integration of disciplines and experts. This publication presents interdisciplinary collaborative projects such as the "Seaweed Facade," which resulted in the realization of a building with a bioreactor facade at the International Building Exhibition in Hamburg in 2012, or the "Printed Envelope," the result of a collaborative research project in which free forms for the facade design were generated from 3D computer-generated processes.
