Research Guides: ENGL 2301: Intro to African American Literature: Home

Welcome!

Welcome to the research guide for ENGL 2301: Introduction to African American Literaure. This guide contains selected resources and research tips that can help you with your course assignments. Please feel free to contact me (nornat@uncc.edu) if you have any questions or would like research assistance.

Primary Source Collections

Documenting the American South

Search for primary sources related to Southern history, literature, and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the twentieth century. Relevant collections:

Digital Schomburg

Digital Schomburg provides access to trusted information, interpretation, and scholarship on the global black experience 24/7. Users worldwide can find, in this virtual Schomburg Center, exhibitions, books, articles, photographs, prints, audio and video streams, and selected external links for research in the history and cultures of the peoples of Africa and the African Diaspora.

African American Women Writers of the 19th Century

Digital Public Library of America

A portal to digitized material made available by America's public libraries, museums, and archives.

Primary Source Sets on African American experiences

African American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Contains information about cultural life and history during the 1800's and includes first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, including the Mexican War, Presidential and Congressional addresses, the humanities, world travel and religion.

National Museum of African American History & Culture
The National Museum of African American History and Culture is the only national museum devoted exclusively to the documentation of African American life, history, and culture.
Project Gutenburg
Project Gutenberg is a library of over 60,000 free eBooks. Choose among free epub and Kindle eBooks, download them or read them online. You will find the world's great literature here, with focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired.
Digital Library of the Caribbean
The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.
Library of Congress: African American Perspectives
"African American Perspectives" gives a panoramic and eclectic review of African American history and culture and is primarily comprised of two collections in the Rare Book and Special Collections Division: the African American Pamphlet Collection and the Daniel A.P. Murray Collection with a date range of 1822 through 1909. Most were written by African-American authors, though some were written by others on topics of particular importance in African-American history. Among the authors represented are Frederick Douglass, Ida B. Wells-Barnett, Benjamin W. Arnett, Alexander Crummel, Emanuel Love, Lydia Maria Child, Kelly Miller, Charles Sumner, Mary Church Terrell, and Booker T. Washington, among others.

Atkins Library Primary Source Databases:

African American Newspapers Series 1: 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
Provides access to U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African-American experience. This collection includes historically significant papers and features many rare 19th-century titles.
African-American Poetry (1750-1900) This link opens in a new window
Text of poems written between 1750-1900 written by African-American poets.
Black Drama: 1850 to Present This link opens in a new window
The full text of plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 100 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries.

ENGL 2301: Intro to African American Literature

Atkins Library Quick Links

Your Librarian

Welcome!

Primary Source Collections