Research Guides: For All the People: A Century of Citizen Action in Health Care Reform: Atkins Library Resources

Featured Film: Escape Fire: The Fight To Rescue American Healthcare

Escape Fire: The Fight to Rescue American Healthcare by Heineman, Matthew, director, producer.; Froemke, Susan, director, producer.
Call Number: RA395.A3 E833 2012
Publication Date: 2013
Escape Fire looks at a U.S. health care system designed to profit from disease not health, reward quantity over quality, and promote high-tech over high-touch. It interweaves dramatic personal stories with the efforts of leaders battling to transform health care at the highest levels of medicine, industry, government, and even the U.S. military.

Trailer: Escape Fire (2:30)

Newspapers and magazines

New York Times Historical Archives (1851-2020) This link opens in a new window
Major global newspaper including news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, as well as photos and advertisements.
New York Times (1980 - Present) This link opens in a new window
Major resource for national and international news and current events, provided by Nexis Uni. In the guided search, choose "A Publication", then your search term(s), then choose "New York Times" in the "Find Publication" box.
NewsBank This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspaper articles covering international, national, and local news. Includes the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Washington Post, Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, Charlotte Observer, and many others.

Congressional Documents

ProQuest Congressional Hearings This link opens in a new window
Access congressional publications dealing with the wide variety of topics addressed by Congress.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set This link opens in a new window
Reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, 1817-1962.

Books

Origins of American Health Insurance by John E. Murray
Call Number: HG9396 .M87 2007
ISBN: 0300120915
Publication Date: 2007
From Company Doctors to Managed Care: The United Mine Workers' Noble Experiment by Ivana Krajcinovic
Call Number: RA413.7.M55 K73 1997
ISBN: 0801433924
Publication Date: 1997
Grassroots Medicine: The Story of America's Free Health Clinics by Gregory L. Weiss
Call Number: RA965.W45 2006
ISBN: 0742540693
Publication Date: 2006
150 Years of Obamacare by Daniel E. Dawes; David Satcher
Call Number: RA395.A3 D39 2016
ISBN: 1421419637
Publication Date: 2016

eBooks

The Making of Our Bodies, Ourselves: How Feminism Travels Across Borders by Kathy Davis
ISBN: 0822340453
Publication Date: 2007
Body and Soul: The Black Panther Party and the Fight Against Medical Discrimination by Alondra Nelson
ISBN: 0816676488
Publication Date: 2011

Scholarly articles and books

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A great database to get started with for your research on any topic. Use it to search for articles from scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals, newspapers, and magazines.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
References to journal articles and other sources on the history of the US and Canada. See Historical Abstracts for world history.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and full text articles primarily for nursing and allied health professionals. Coverage from 1937 to present.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts of over 620 journals with a focus on literature in the field of Economics.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
This resource covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources. PAIS Archive is included in this database and includes the content from printed volumes published 1915-1976.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Contains millions of citations for biomedical and health literature from MEDLINE and other sources. To access full text from Atkins Library's journal collections in addition to full-text content from PubMed Central and open access publications, use the links provided on Atkins Library web pages.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science, international relations, law, public administration, and public policy.

Films

PBS Video Collection (in Films on Demand) This link opens in a new window
A collection of high-quality documentary and educational video programs produced for the Public Broadcasting Corporation.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
This resource provides high quality streaming videos about a range of subjects. The videos include award winning documentaries plus interviews, training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.
Alexander Street Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online includes streaming access to documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage.
Films on Demand: Health and Medicine Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection of streaming videos covers a broad range of subjects including diseases and disorders, human anatomy and physiology, careers in health and medicine, investigations into public health issues, programming on nutrition and wellness, and instructional films on health care and treatment.