Music Research Guide

More than 50,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments, notation, genres, and individual works. Includes the Oxford Dictionary of Music. (limit 11 simultaneous users)

Includes trade journals, magazines, books, and newspapers covering theater, dance, film, television, stagecraft, broadcast arts, storytelling, and more. Also includes the Music Periodicals Database.

Primary source for scholarly music research.

Naxos Music Library (NML) is the world´s largest online classical music library. Offers streaming access to more than 175,000 CDs of both standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new CDs are added to the library every month.

Over 185,000 tracks of top jazz music. This database is limited to 10 simultaneous users.

Offers a wide range of World music, from legendary historical musical performances to contemporary world music. Includes music from over 1500 cultural groups from more than 150 countries. This database is limited to 5 simultaneous users.

Singers Babel offers tools to help you learn the meaning and pronunciation of texts found in oratorios, secular and sacred choral music, cantatas, art songs, and song cycles.

An extensive collection of music and articles ideal for music history and theory courses, featuring over 600 pieces of music from antiquity through the twentieth century.
Please note: To access this resource off-campus, you will need to be connected to the Charlotte VPN.

Includes indexes and full-text of doctoral dissertations and master's theses.

Provides a comprehensive bibliographic and full-text database of education research and information for educators, researchers, and the general public.

Provides access to multiple collections with thousands of journals covering the arts, humanities, performing arts, and more.

A great database to get started with for your research on any topic. Use it to search for articles from scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals, newspapers, and magazines.

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.

Scholarly journals and ebooks in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.

An index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities, part of the Web of Science Core Collection. (Indexing: 1975+)

Provides access to academic journals and books covering a wide range of disciplines; it also includes some limited primary source collections.

Delve into the cultural study of music and explore content from across the globe with this diverse and comprehensive collection including audio field recordings and interviews, educational recordings, film footage and field notebooks.
Please note: To access this resource off-campus, you will need to be connected to the Charlotte VPN.

This resource provides high quality streaming videos about a range of subjects. The videos include award winning documentaries plus interviews, training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.

Academic Video Online includes streaming access to documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage.

This database provides access to thousands of full-length productions in theatre and dance, supporting the study of the performing arts and artistic expression.
If you use Google Chrome, you will need to download the latest version of Chrome to watch content.

A collection of high-quality documentary and educational video programs produced for the Public Broadcasting Corporation.

Website that delivers full-length, high quality contemporary performance films that introduce audiences to artistic innovators who are defining the future of dance, theater and music.