Public Health Research Guide

This site is dedicated to making high value health data more accessible to entrepreneurs, researchers, and policy makers in the hopes of better health outcomes for all.

Created for Harvard's Kennedy School, this custom Google Search can be used to find policy reports from more than 600 think tanks.

A project of the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation.

Look in the People and Society section of a country's profile for health-related statistics.

Compare statistics from different countries.

The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development

The United Nations Children’s Fund

Health statistics from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

Public health information from the US government. Includes information about conducting systematic reviews.

Health information searchable by topic.

Health Service Research and Public Health Information Programs page, with links to data sets, structured evidence queries, research publications, etc. Excellent resource.

The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) is the agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that leads public health efforts to advance the behavioral health of the nation.

Healthy People 2030 sets data-driven national objectives to improve health and well-being over the next decade.

Evidence-based resources are published reviews of studies and interventions to improve health. We’ve organized them into intuitive topics so you can easily find what you’re looking for. Pick a topic you’re interested in and explore relevant resources that can help you work to achieve Healthy People 2030 objectives.

Public health alerts and news. HealthMap has 3 main sections, easily accessible via the tabs: "Global", "Local" and "News".

The Native Health Database contains bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. The database provides information for the benefit, use, and education of organizations and individuals with an interest in health-related issues, programs, and initiatives regarding North American Indigenous peoples.

Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS) are nationally-representative household surveys that provide data for a wide range of monitoring and impact evaluation indicators in the areas of population, health, and nutrition.