Research Guides: ITLN 3051: Topics in Italian: Rome Virtually: Language Resources

Italian Language Learning

Better Reading Italian by Daniela Gobetti
Call Number: 6th Floor PC1129.E5 G63 2012
ISBN: 9780071770330
Sharpen your Italian language skills through readings about its speakers' daily lives and culture. Better Reading Italian offers you entertaining, "real world" texts to help you understand and learn more Italian vocabulary and phrases.

BBC Guide to Italian

The Big Green Book of Italian Verbs by Katrien Maes-Christie
Call Number: 6th Floor PC1271 .M34 2005
ISBN: 9780071431217
Destined to become the new verb bible for English students of Italian, The Big Green Book of Italian Verbs includes: 555 of the most useful Italian verbs, fully conjugated.
Italian Grammar Drills by Paola Nanni-Tate
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 0071472320
Publication Date: 2007-07-03
Covering all facets of Italian grammar, from prepositions and pronouns to verbal forms and tenses, 'Italian Grammar Drills' helps you learn often-perplexing topics with fun and engaging exercises.
Easy Italian Step-By-Step by Paola Nanni-Tate
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9780071453899
Publication Date: 2008-11-18
Your quickest route to learning Italian is through a solid grounding in grammar basics. In this book you get an original, step-by-step approach to learning Italian based on the way people naturally acquire language. Gradually, through a series of interconnected "steps," you logically progress to more common concepts that govern how Italian is spoken and written.

Italian Dictionaries

Oxford Beginner's Italian Dictionary by Oxford (Editor)
Call Number: 6th Floor PC1640 .O88 2006
ISBN: 9780199298556
Designed specifically for English-speaking adult learners who are either learning from scratch or refreshing lost language skills, it offers an easy to use dictionary, extra help with vocabulary, and essential information on living and interacting in the Italian-speaking world.
Italian College Dictionary by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd. Staff
Call Number: 6th Floor PC1640 .C38 2005c
ISBN: 9780060749088
The new edition of HarperCollins Italian College Dictionary has been completely revised and updated with thousands of new references to cover all the latest vocabulary, notes on life and culture in the Italian -- and English -- speaking world, and Web addresses to enable further research.

WordReference Online Dictionary
English-Italian Dictionary

Language Learning Tools

Transparent Language This link opens in a new window
Transparent Language Online provides a fun, effective, and engaging experience for learners of all levels looking to build their listening, speaking, reading, and writing skills in a foreign language. There are over 110 languages to choose from, including English for speakers of over 30 languages.
Please note: If you want to save your progress, you'll need to create an account.

Duolingo
Free language-learning tool also available in IOS and Android
BBC Languages
Free online lessons and language guides
Live Lingua
This project is the internet's largest collection of free public domain language learning materials. It hosts thousands of free ebooks, audios and videos for over 130 languages from around the world.

Pronunciation Help

Forvo
Forvo is the largest pronunciation guide in the world, the place where you'll find millions of words and phrases pronounced in their original languages.
Google Translate
Listen to the pronunciation of words and statements in different languages

UNC Charlotte's Language Resource Center

The Language Resource Center is an active learning, technology-enhanced facility focused on foreign language and ESL learning and teaching. The Center and staff support the students and faculty in the Department of Languages and Culture Studies and the English Language Training Institute.

The Center is located on the fourth floor of the College of Education Building, Room 434, and is open Monday through Friday from 8:00 am until 5:00 pm.