Research Guides: ITLN 3051: Topics in Italian: Rome Virtually: Scholarly Sources

Finding Scholarly Articles

Also known as "peer reviewed articles", these are written and reviewed by disciplinary experts and scholars. They usually focus on a narrow subject or single case study.

Start with one of these article databases:

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to academic journals and books covering a wide range of disciplines; it also includes some limited primary source collections.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A great database to get started with for your research on any topic. Use it to search for articles from scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals, newspapers, and magazines.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
References to journal articles and other sources on the history of the world (excluding U.S and Canada).
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and ebooks in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
Benezit Dictionary of Artists This link opens in a new window
Benezit Dictionary of Artists is a comprehensive and definitive resource for artists’ biographies, published since 1911. This resource includes 149,000 biographies as well as auction records, exhibition histories, and over 11,000 images of artists’ signatures and stamps of sale.
Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture This link opens in a new window
This encyclopedia spans every art form, medium, and civilization of the era, tracing the development of the art forms in Classical civilizations.
The encyclopedia contains hundreds of updated, revised, and expanded entries from the expansive scholarship in the Dictionary of Art and Grove Art Online, as well as dozens of new, specially-commissioned entries.
Art and Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage for periodicals and books in art and architecture. Specifically covers fine, decorative and commercial art, plus architecture and architectural design.

VIDEO: Peer Review in 3 Minutes

Video produced by NSCU Librarians: https://www.lib.ncsu.edu/tutorials/peerreview

Getting Research Assistance at Atkins Library

This video highlights the various ways to get research assistance from Atkins Library.

Credo Reference

Finding Artwork

Artstor This link opens in a new window
A collection of images from major museums. ARTSTOR images cover art, architecture and archeology. Useful for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations. ARTSTOR is available solely for educational and scholarly uses that are noncommercial in nature. Images may NOT be placed on publicly accessible websites. UNC Charlotte students, faculty and staff can register for an account which allows off-campus access; this registration must happen while on campus.