Microaggressions are everyday comments or actions that subtly, intentionally or not, express a prejudiced attitude towards a member of a marginalized group.
Learn about race, inequality, and social justice through these free online Summer and Fall courses offered through Coursera.
Explore course offerings in American Studies, History, Women and Gender Studies, and beyond through the course catalog.
Topics in AMST: Race in the U.S. and Latin America
Topics in AMST: Mass Incarceration in the United States
Intro to American Studies: The 1990s
Seminar in AMST: Difference in America
Topics in Women's Studies: Black Masculinity, Health, and Sexuality
Topics in Womens Studies: Critical Race and Feminist Theories
Intro to Lesbian & Gay Studies
Topics in Women's Studies: Race, Sexuality, and the Politics of Personhood
Changing Realities Women's Lives
Disney: Gender, Race, & Empire
Topics in Women's Studies: Contemporary Queer Culture
Topics in Women's Studies: Social Activism
Gender, Activism, & Leadership
Democracy in America: A Historical Perspective
Anti-racism includes the actions, policies, and theories that challenge and oppose discrimination, inequality, and prejudice based on race.
Books
How to Be an Antiracist by 
So You Want to Talk about Race by Discover more books on racism in the United States in our catalog by searching with these subject headings:
Articles and Podcasts
Atkins Library Special Collections:
These materials are available through the Atkins Library Special Collections and University Archives.
Taylor and Richardson families albums- This album contains materials documenting the life of Charles Samuel Lafyette Alexander, who was an African-American barber, soldier and firefighter that was active in social activities and politics in Charlotte, North Carolina. The collection covers the years of 1876 to 1953 and show a glimpse of Charlotte during the Reconstruction Era and the years following. The collection focuses predominantly on Taylor, Ella Louise Pickens Taylor (his second wife), and his two daughters, Harriet and Louise Taylor. It contains mostly photographs but also newspaper clippings, family letters, stocks, and wills. Along with the physical collection there is a digitized copy here.
Kelly Alexander Sr. Papers Concerning the NAACP- Kelly Alexander Sr. was a prominent figure in Charlotte as a funeral director, community member, and NAACP leader. These papers focus on his work with the local, state, and national levels of the NAACP and include minutes, correspondence, reports, and speeches. Along with these physical papers, they are also available online through Goldmine.
Julius L. Chambers papers- Julius L. Chambers was a Charlotte attorney who became well-known for the Swann v. Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of Education case that helped to integrate the Charlotte-Mecklenburg School System. Chambers argued on behalf of the Swanns, who were attempting to enroll their son at his neighborhood school rather than the pre-dominantly African-American school he was assigned to when they first moved to Charlotte. These papers include legal briefings, personal notes, and maps. Along with the physical papers, this collection is also available online through Goldmine.
T.J. Reddy Papers- T.J. Reddy was a student at UNC Charlotte, artist, and poet. He came to national attention when he was a member of the Charlotte Three, a group of three young black men who were wrongfully convicted of burning down a horse stable in Charlotte. Along with his own case, these papers include information about the Wilmington Ten, his work with the North Carolina Political Prisoners Committee, and civil rights materials. This collection also contains some paintings as well.
Atkins Library Oral Histories
Books
Women, Race and Class by 
Bad Feminist by 
Wordslut by Discover more books on sexism in the United States in our catalog by searching with these subject headings:
Articles and Podcasts
Atkins Library Special Collections:
These materials are available through the Atkins Library Special Collections and University Archives.
National Organization for Women Charlotte, NC Chapter Records- These papers detail the activities of the Charlotte-based chapter of the National Organization for Women. The Charlotte, North Carolina chapter was founded in 1972 by Judith Lightfoot with a Metrolina regional chapter established in 1977. This collection includes newsletters, photographs, and realia from the group that documents their involvement in abortion rights and the Equal Rights Amendment.
Winifred Nance Papers- This collection covers the sex discrimination case of Winifred Nance against the Union Carbide plant in Charlotte. These materials include legal correspondence, correspondence between Nance and women's organizations, and her personal notes and diaries.
Books
It's Not Over by 
When We Rise: My Life in the Movement by 
The Gay Revolution by Discover more books on the LGBQ community in our catalog by searching with these subject headings:
Articles and Podcasts
Atkins Library Special Collections:
These materials are available through the Atkins Library Special Collections and University Archives.
Time Out Youth Records - Time Out Youth Center offers support, advocacy, and opportunities for personal development and social interaction to lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer and questioning (LGBTQ) youth ages 11-20. Their mission is to support lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer and questioning youth by offering vital programs, fostering unconditional acceptance, and creating safe spaces for self-expression through leadership, community support and advocacy.
Charlotte Pride Committee Records - Charlotte Pride presents the annual lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, questioning and queer (LGBTQ) Pride festival and other events in the Queen City. The annual festival is the largest LGBTQ Pride event in the Carolinas and the largest between Atlanta and Washington, D.C.
Charlotte Black Gay Pride- This collection highlights the development of Charlotte Black Gay Pride. This event was conceived in 2002 by Damon Blackman and Jermaine Nakia Lee and the collection includes physical objects and a timeline of the project.
Atkins Library Oral Histories
Books
Nonbinary by Discover more books on trans lives in our catalog by searching with these subject headings:
Other Resources and Podcasts
Digital Collections
Transgender Archives at University of Victoria
Digital Transgender Archive from the College of the Holy Cross
Oral Histories
Janice Covington Allison is a transgender woman and political activist in Charlotte. Through her two oral histories, she covers her career, the LGBT scene in Charlotte, and the conflicts that she faced as a transgender woman.
Atkins Library Special Collections:
These materials are available through the Atkins Library Special Collections and University Archives.
Sue Henry papers- Sue Henry was a local activist in the Charlotte area and also owned the Rising Moon Books and Beyond bookstore. Henry was primarily focused on gay and lesbian issues and this collection contains copies of All the Beautiful People, a newsletter for the local trans-sensual alliance in Charlotte.
Ableism is the discrimination and prejudice against people with disabilities or perceived disabilities.
Books
Nothing about Us Without Us: Disability Oppression and Empowerment by 
Disability, Human Rights and the Limits of Humanitarianism by 
Ableism: the Causes and Consequence of Disability Prejudice by Discover more books on disability rights and ableism in our catalog by searching with these subject headings:
Other Resources
Antisemitism by 
Maus: A Survivor's Tale by Discover more books on anti-semitism in our catalog by searching with these subject headings:
Atkins Library Special Collections:
These materials are available through the Atkins Library Special Collections and University Archives.
Harry Golden Papers- The Harry Golden Papers comprise an extensive collection of materials reflecting the multi-faceted career of the author and civil libertarian. The collection's emphasis is on Golden as editor and publisher of the Charlotte based Carolina Israelite (1942-68), a bi-monthly newspaper that liberally addressed political issues, Jewish and minority concerns, and the daily lives of the common individual from the perspective of an American Jew.
Oral Histories
Gary Silverstein and Maxine Silverstein - Longtime Charlotteans Gary and Maxine Silverstein discuss their lives as members of the city's Jewish community and as travel industry professionals. Mr. Silverstein, whose family has a long history in the Charlotte area, recalls his grandfather, Benjamin Silverstein, who was one of the founders of Temple Israel in Charlotte. He also discusses childhood experiences in Hebrew school and his and his son's bar mitzvahs.
Rare Books at Atkins Library Special Collections
Carolina Israelite- This newsletter was started by Harry Golden with the tagline of "Serving the interest of Christian-Jewish welfare in the Carolinas".
American Islamophobia by 
Terrified: How anti-Muslim fringe organizations became mainstream by 
Leading While Muslim by Oral Histories
Dr. Sidney Freeman - Rev. Dr. Sidney L. Freeman, the longtime minister of the Unitarian Universalist Church of Charlotte (UUCC), recounts his involvement in the city's civil rights movement. Originally from Wisconsin, Dr. Freeman moved to Charlotte in 1957 to take the ministerial position at the socially progressive UUCC. He discusses Charlotte's transformation into a diverse multicultural city over the past thirty years (1970s-2000s); in particular, the growth of the Muslim community and the positive work organizations like the National Conference for Community and Justice have been doing to bring diverse religious groups together.
