Research Guides: Theater Research Guide: Websites

Evaluating Websites

Author

Who wrote the page? What organization sponsored the page? Can you verify the author's credentials?

Purpose

What is the purpose of the page? Who is the intended audience? Websites can be for information or sales purposes, sometimes both.

Currency

Is the information up to date? Is the webpage dated? Recent updates do not necessarily indicate current information.

Objectivity

Relates to purpose. Is the intent of the website to inform or persuade? Are facts completely & accurately cited?

Support

Does the author provide footnotes or citations for the information provided?

Quick Website Checklist
From The University of Maryland Libraries

Fact Checking (from NPR)

Web Resources

Association for Theatre in Higher Education
The Association for Theatre in Higher Education is advocate for the field of theatre and performance in higher education.
Black Theatre Network
Dedicated to the Exploration and Preservation of the Theatrical Visions of the African Diaspora
Canadian Theatre Encyclopedia
Reference source for Canadian plays, playwrights and theatre practitioners.
Global Performing Arts Database (GloPAD)
GloPAD (Global Performing Arts Database) records include authoritative, detailed, multilingual descriptions of digital images, texts, video clips, sound recordings, & complex media objects related to the performing arts around the world, plus information about related pieces, productions, performers, & creators.
Images of 19th Century Actors and Actresses (Ringling Collection)
Images taken from cabinet cards, postcards, and photographs of American and British actors and actresses.
Internet Broadway Database (IBDB)
Covering the beginnings of New York theatre through today, the IBDB is the official database for Broadway theatre information.
Internet Off-Broadway Database
The Lortel Archives, also known as the Internet Off-Broadway Database, provides a catalogue of shows ever produced Off-Broadway
The Kilroys
A collective of playwrights, directors and producers in LA and NYC who are focused gender parity.
La Mama Digital Archives
La MaMa Experimental Theatre Club supports all aspects of the theatre. It produces work in theatre, dance, performance art, & music. Each season, they stage over 100 productions & over 400 in three theaters.
League of Resident Theatres (LORT)
Many theatres have history or archives sections on their websites. This can be a good way to find images and production information. LORT has a list of member theatres that represents a number of major theatres in the United States.
Literary Managers and Dramaturgs of the Americas
Literary Managers and Dramaturgs of the Americas was founded in 1985 as the volunteer membership organization for the professions of literary management & dramaturgy.
Lortel Archives
Also known as the International Off-Broadway Database (IOBDB), this archive provides a catalog of shows produced Off-Broadway.
more...less...
International Off-Broadway Database
Performing Arts Encyclopedia (Library of Congress)
This is a free resource provided by the Library of Congress that allows visitors to explore their collections of theatre, music, and dance.
Playbill
News, features, performance listings for Broadway, Off-Broadway, London and Regional theatre.
Records of Early English Drama
Records of Early English Drama (REED) is an international scholarly project that is establishing for the first time the context from which the drama of Shakespeare & his contemporaries grew.
Theatre Communications Group
TCG holds information, including past performances going back to 1995 for its 700+ member theatres.
Theatre Finder
Theatre Finder is a comprehensive, web-based, world-wide guide to theatres over 100 years old
Theatrical Lighting Database
The Lighting Database is a joint project of The New York Public Library for the Performing Arts, the NYPL Digital Experience Group, & the Lighting Archive.

Costume Design

Digital Dress Costume Collections
Digitized collections from The Henry Ford Museum, Wayne State University, Meadow Brook Hall, and the Detroit Historical Museums.
Drexel Historic Costume Collection
Database of a collection with significant descriptive notes and panoramic views of objects.
Columbia College Fashion Study Collection
Collection of over 6,000 designer garments, fashion history, and ethnic dress.
Costume Institute
Part of the Metropolitan Museum of Art. Holds over 35,000 costumes and accessories.

Set Design

The Set Designer's Job
From The American Association of Community Theatre
Read, Render, Realize
A step-by-step guide from Dramatics
Creating the Modern Stage: Designs for Theater and Opera
Drawn from the Morgan Library and Museum collection, the exhibition examines the origins of modern scenic design and chronicles the evolution of stage sets from 1900 to 1970.

Theater Research Guide

Evaluating Websites

Web Resources

Costume Design

Set Design

Broadway 101 from Playbill

Broadway.com on YouTube