History Databases

Access millions of pages of primary source collections across the entire portfolio of Adam Matthew Digital, spanning content from the 15th-21st centuries.

Contains information about cultural life and history during the 1800's and includes first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, including the Mexican War, Presidential and Congressional addresses, the humanities, world travel and religion.

Provides access to U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African-American experience. This collection includes historically significant papers and features many rare 19th-century titles.

Provides access to a collection of newspapers reporting on the African American experience in segregated southern America from 1870 to 1926. The collection contains editorial pieces that expose the racial discrimination and violence that many suffered through, and also includes light-hearted pieces that focused on other civil affairs, events, local gossip, and more throughout the local community.

Searchable American newspaper collections, including African American Newspapers Series 1, 1827-1998; Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876; South Carolina's Historical Newspapers; Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980; and selected historical newspapers.

Includes over 8,000 periodicals with coverage of American and World History from 1684-1912

The American Hebrew was a weekly Jewish newspaper published in New York City. In 1903 it merged with the Jewish Messenger. Covered many topics of Jewish interest internationally.

A collection of national periodicals as well as local community news and student publications from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada

Full text periodicals published between 1740 and 1940.

American Prison Newspapers brings together hundreds of newspapers published within prisons by incarcerated people over the past 200 years. When complete, the collection will contain newspapers from prisons in every state, representing penal institutions of all kinds, including women-only institutions.

Newspaper includes obituaries, stocks and editorials.

140 newspaper titles from 22 islands from the 18th and 19th centuries. Research Colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, New World slavery, and more. Most of these newspapers were published in English, but some non-English titles are also included.

Charlotte Observer online from 1886 to the present.

Includes obituaries, stocks, editorials and first-hand accounts of events.

A leading African-American newspaper, with more than two-thirds of its readership outside of Chicago.

The oldest existing black periodical in America. Focused on religious news, but also includes articles about education, voting rights, equality and other secular issues that affected the lives of black Americans.

Covers social and political issues of the 19th century. Published in Washington, D.C. the newspaper routinely featured articles on religion, politics, education, military affairs and black fraternal organizations.

Dedicated to abolitionism and social reform, it was one of four newspapers published by Frederick Douglass.

Formerly known as the North Star, publisher Frederick Douglass decided to make the title change in 1851.

The first American newspaper written by blacks for blacks.

Platform for cross-searching a range of historical UK newspaper and periodical collections, including 19th century British Library Newspapers (Parts I and II); 19th Century UK Periodicals, Series 1; Times Digital Archive (1785-2006); and, Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive (1902-2007)

A 19th century illustrated newspaper from 1857-1912. Includes news stories, illustrations, cartoons, editorials, biographies, literature and advertisements.

Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during 19th and 20th centuries. Many of these newspapers were published bilingually in Spanish and English.

Newspapers.com North Carolina Collection includes digitized content from over 1,000 NC county newspapers.

19th Century African American newspapers, American County Histories to 1900, American Civil War Primary Sources, and more.

An open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers and magazines produced by feminists, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, and the extreme right-wing press.

First-person accounts from interned Japanese Americans during World War II.

Founded in 1932 as The Palestine Post, this paper established itself as the top English-language paper of the Middle East and Jewish world. The publication fervently supported the struggle for a Jewish homeland and freely opposed British restrictions on Jewish immigration. Over the decades, the paper espoused a left-leaning perspective that shifted to the right in the 1980s.

Founded in 1902, this is the oldest continually-circulated English-language Jewish newspaper in the United States.

Carried news of developments in Israel, efforts to rescue Jews the world over from repressive regimes, and the ever-expanding role of Jews in American public life.

Full-text access to more than 30 Latin American newspapers published 1805-1922.

Series II of Latin American Newspapers expands the number of titles available from this region, including from some countries and cities not represented in Series I.

Contains color digital images of rare books, ephemera, maps and other materials relating to 18th, 19th and early 20th century London.

Issued weekly in D.C. for more than 13 years. With emphasis on literary reviews and commentaries it was the paper in which Uncle Tom's Cabin was serialized.

Provides in-depth coverage of cultures, nature, science, technology and more with comprehensive, relevant articles and legendary photographs and maps.

This leading Black newspaper of the 20th century reached its peak in the 1940s. It was a strong advocate for the desegregation of the U.S. military during World War II, and also covered the historically important Harlem Renaissance.

Major global newspaper including news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, as well as photos and advertisements.

Full-text newspaper articles covering international, national, and local news. Includes the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Washington Post, Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, Charlotte Observer, and many others.

Contains the most significant British pamphlets from the 19th century held in UK research libraries. Pamphlets were an important means of public debate, covering the key political, social, technological, and environmental issues of their day.

Eight Centuries (formerly 19th Century Masterfile) is a database covering primary source materials from 1106 until 1960. Provides access to articles, newspapers, books, U.S. patents, government documents, and images.

A major multi-part series of periodicals which covers the events, lives, values and themes that shaped the 19th century world.

North Carolina Historical newspapers from late 1700s to 1859

African-American newspaper devoted to the cause of Liberty, Humanity and Progress. Edited by Frederick Douglass and M.R. Delaney, the paper was dedicated to the abolishment of slavery and in support of women's rights.

The oldest continuously published black newspaper dedicated to the needs and concerns of the fourth largest black community in the U.S. During the 1930s the paper supported the growth of the United Way, rallied against the riots in Chester, PA, and continuously fought against segregation.

Devoted to anti-slavery, temperance and general literature, with no affiliation to a particular political party. Edited and published by blacks in the Province of Canada West (now called Ontario) where many fugitive slaves from the United States had settled.

Index for general-interest, news, and opinion magazines published primarily in the United States.

A collection of over 300 newspapers, from key nations across the globe that took part in the conflict, that brought information, entertainment and camaraderie to the forces at home and overseas.

South Carolina Historical newspapers from late 1700s to 1859.

Historical newspaper archive with full-text coverage of the Times from 1785 to 2013. Supports research across multiple disciplines including business, humanities, political science, and philosophy with coverage of all major international historical events.

Full coverage from 1902-2019. Reviews of books in many disciplines, theatre, musical performances, art exhibitions, film, media, and other cultural events as well as editorial and commentary articles.

A unique source of information on the common serviceman and woman’s experience of the war. Limit your search by language, unit name, type, origin or location, etc.

News Orleans-based newspaper covering 1923-1988

Provides access to newspapers, news websites, and blogs from leading publishers throughout the world.

Full text of The Washington Post newspaper from Dec 4, 1996 - present

African-American newspaper published weekly. On March 4, 1837, issue number 9 of the newspaper was published under the new name of The Colored American.