Skip to Main Content

History Databases

Trial Access

Trials are only accessible on-campus or from off-campus using VPN.

ACLU Papers

Atkins Library currently has a trial of two parts to the American Civil Liberty Union Papers. It is offered as part of the Making of Modern Law series from Gale.
 
Trial Access: https://link.gale.com/apps/ACLU?u=char69915

The trial expires on May 3rd. Trial links are limited to on-campus access or through VPN when off-campus. Please send me any feedback you have after exploring the resource.
 

Part I: 1912-1990: Brochure

Drawing from the records of the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU), it focuses on civil rights, race, gender, and issues relating to the U.S. Supreme Court— topics intensely relevant to today’s curriculum and debates at both national and local levels.  

The American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) has throughout its history consistently stood at the center of controversies involving the rights of Americans. Its records offer researchers a unique view of the inner workings of the organization and the hundreds of groups with which the ACLU interacted. Covering the years from before the ACLU’s official founding in 1920 through the 20th century, this archive offers an array of primary source materials on some of the most important issues that affected the United States.


Part II: Southern Regional Office: Brochure

Comprised of never-before-digitized materials, this unique collection documents the ACLU’s legal battle to enforce the Civil Rights Act of 1964 in thirteen Southern states. This collection is an indispensable resource for understanding the complete history of the civil rights movement. Consisting of case files, correspondence, newspaper clippings, manuscripts, and more, this collection offers a primary source perspective on civil rights issues from voting rights to the dismantling of the Jim Crow system.

The ACLU's Southern Regional Office, which was founded after the passing of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, used the provisions of the act, which made segregation in public accomodations unconstitutional, to address violations in the targeted areas of voters’ rights and racial discrimination. Its records offer researchers a unique view of the inner workings of the ACLU's regional offices and the organizations with which the ACLU collaborated with such as the NAACP.

ProQuest Primary Source Collections

The trial can be accessed at this web address on-campus or off-campus while on the VPN:

Trial Access: https://trials.proquest.com/access?token=VRhPsttkvoyUaEPfLRNUUoQtb

Note: For the History Vault collections click on "Browse" at the top of the screen.

The trial expires on May 5th.

Collections included in trial:

Note: Links below offer information about the resources. Click on Trial Access above to browse and search through the collections.

African Diaspora, 1860-Present
Black Thought and Culture
History Vault Immigration (Immigration Records of the INS, 1880-1930)
History Vault Plantations 1
History Vault Plantations 2
History Vault Plantations 3
History Vault Plantations 4
Latinx Thought and Culture: The NPR Archive, 1979-1990
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories
North American Indian Thought and Culture