History Databases

Scattered through twelve repositories, these documents reveal a great deal about topics such as social life, education, trade, finance, politics, revolution, war, women, Native American life, slavery, science, medicine, and religion. In addition to reflecting the origins of the United States, the digitized materials also document aspects of life and work in Great Britain, France, Canada, the Caribbean, and Mexico.

Provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience

Documents from pre-18th through the 20th century relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government.

A collection of sources on Southern history, literature and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century. Includes: First-Person Narratives of the American South; Library of Southern Literature; North American Slave Narratives; The Southern Homefront, 1861-1865; The Church in the Southern Black Community.

From University of Wisconsin Digital Collections

Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750's to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.

A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 8,500 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.

A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 8,500 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.

A fully searchable edition of the largest body of texts detailing the lives of non-elite people ever published, containing 197,745 criminal trials held at London's central criminal court

Site includes correspondence, orders, reports, and returns of both the Union and Confederate armies. Series I: Formal reports, both Union and Confederate, of the first seizures of United States property in the Southern States, and of all military operations in the field. Series II: Correspondence, orders, reports, and returns, Union and Confederate, relating to prisoners of war. Series III: Correspondence, orders, reports, and returns of the Union authorities. Series IV: Correspondence, orders, reports, and returns of the Confederate authorities.