Research Guides: Services and Resources for Faculty: Resources and Services

Databases

Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Part of the Web of Science Core Collection, this is an index to the core journal literature in the social and behavioral sciences. Although you can search for topics, the main emphasis of the database is to locate articles that CITED a particular article or book.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to academic journals and books covering a wide range of disciplines; it also includes some limited primary source collections.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A great database to get started with for your research on any topic. Use it to search for articles from scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals, newspapers, and magazines.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Provides peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health and is produced by the American Psychological Association.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database includes a citation mapping feature that allows you to track research across time, including almost 1.7 billion cited references allowing for comprehensive searches.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Database of full-text, peer-reviewed articles in psychology. These journals also are accessible through PsycINFO.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Database of journals in business, humanities, social sciences, science, and technology.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Journals in the physical/life sciences and in the social sciences.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
References to journal articles and other sources on the history of the US and Canada. See Historical Abstracts for world history.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Searchable American newspaper collections, including African American Newspapers Series 1, 1827-1998; Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876; South Carolina's Historical Newspapers; Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980; and selected historical newspapers.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
References to journal articles and other sources on the history of the world (excluding U.S and Canada).

Course Proposals/Accreditation Reviews

As part of the course and program approval program, your department will need to include a Library Consultation in the proposal. Please send these requests directly to me along with a copy of the proposal. I will conduct a review of our resources and provide a summary of that review along with the appropriate consultation form. This consultation helps us better prepare for the research needs of your students.

I will also prepare support documentation for any unit/departmental accreditation reviews.

Electronic Delivery

Book Chapters or Articles Delivered

If Atkins library owns an item and the item is available in the general collection or microfilm/fiche, a scan of a chapter or an article may be requested through Document Delivery at no charge. To make such a request, the patron should enter the bibliographic information into the appropriate electronic form in his/her interlibrary loan account. Typically delivery time will be within 24 hours, but this may vary depending on staff availability. All copies will be delivered electronically.

Requirements for Document Delivery Requests:

ONE chapter from a book may be requested.
35 page maximum.
A complete and accurate bibliographic description of the requested material is needed.
No abbreviations, please.
Library patrons are responsible for using materials in accordance with Copyright Law (Title 17, US Code) and its guidelines.

All correspondence concerning document delivery requests will be sent to UNC Charlotte E-mail accounts only. All students, faculty and staff requesting document delivery must have a valid UNC Charlotte email account. This service is not available to members of the public, Community borrowers, or Early College Students.