Research Guides: Campus and Community Resource Guide: Health and Wellbeing

On-Campus Resources

The UNC Charlotte campus has a variety of resources to address student needs. Schedule a consultation with the library social work intern to explore resources and assess what resources may fit your needs.

Student Health Center
The UNC Charlotte Student Health Center (SHC) provides primary medical care, disease prevention, health education, wellness promotion, and various specialty services to all registered UNC Charlotte students, regardless of the type of health insurance they carry.
University Recreation
University Recreation operates as a part of the Health & Wellbeing Unit within the Division of Student Affairs. The Unit, which consists of UREC, CAPS, the Center for Wellness Promotion, and Student Health, strives to assist and support students in amplifying their wellbeing journey throughout college and beyond.
Nutrition Services
UNC Charlotte Dining Services has a registered dietitian on staff who helps students with food allergies and students who are vegetarian/vegan navigate dining on campus, provides tours of the dining halls specific to students’ needs, and partners with student groups and campus organizations for wellness events and nutrition education.
Pharmacy Vending Machine
Pharmabox is a specialized distributor of over-the-counter (OTC) products and essentials. Our machine currently carries 82 different products and holds about 800 items, including face masks and hand sanitizer. The Pharmabox is located on the first floor of the Student Union next to the ATM and the public REPROS multi-function device.
Center for Wellness Promotion
The Center for Wellness Promotion uses a public health model and effective prevention and health promotion strategies to help students make informed decisions about their personal health and wellbeing.
Center for Integrated Care
The Center for Integrated Care (CIC) is a one-stop shop for referral and linkage to wellbeing resources both on and off campus.
Sexual Health Program
The Sexual Health Program is part of the Student Health Center. It provides services such as contraceptive appointments, The Safer Sex Station, Free confidential HIV Testing, and Educational workshops and trainings on sexual and reproductive health and healthy relationships.
more...less...
The Safer Sex Station, located on the Upper Level of the Student Health Center across from the Pharmacy, provides a wide range of fee safer sex supplies for students. Any student organization or department requesting Safer Sex Supplies in a large quantity should contact the Center for Wellness Promotion. PLEASE NOTE: To help prevent the spread of COVID-19, the Safer Sex Station will remain empty for the foreseeable future. Students may request condoms for free at the Student Health Center Pharmacy, or at the front desk of the Center for Wellness Promotion when staff are not teleworking during the pandemic.
Lactation Room
Locations in Atkins Library and the College of Health and Human Services (CHHS) for parents who need a private space to express milk.
more...less...
Located in Atkins Library, A Mother's Place "Too" provides nursing mothers with a private place to express breast milk for her nursing child as outlined in UP 101.20. Information about utilizing this resource can be found in the Mother's Place "Too" Guidelines or by contacting Cindy Edwards at 704‑687‑0658 or ckedward@uncc.edu or April Edwards at 704-687-0650 or april.edwards@uncc.edu.

A Mother's Place, located in Room 305 in the College of Health and Human Services (CHHS), and the University's first room set aside for mothers in July 2010 is also available for use. To request access to the CHHS room complete the form found at https://forms.gle/JAM7tQpm96XpCWv9A. Once the form is completed, Ashton Atmore with CHHS will submit your request and approve you for badge access for the CHHS room.

Mental Health Resources on Campus

Center for Counseling and Psychological Services
The Center for Counseling at Psychological Services (CAPS) is an administrative unit whose primary goal is to provide comprehensive wellness-related programs and services to UNC Charlotte students.
more...less...
CAPS offers individual and group counseling, consultation, referrals, outreach, and training.
Crisis Assistance
Phone numbers and resources compiled by CAPS for those experiencing urgent emotional or mental health concerns.
Black Student Mental Health
The resources included on this page center the mental health needs of Black students.
Collegiate Recovery Community
UNCC's CRC is a community for students in recovery from mind-altering substances. They provide students a sober community that includes therapy, volunteering, social and educational activities.

Self-Care Collection
by Christin Lampkowski Last Updated Aug 28, 2024 791 views this year

Collection of lendable books and technology devices to support self-care, mental health, and student well-being.

Prescription Drug Resources

Many Americans have difficulty accessing their medications due to affordability whether they are insured, uninsured, or under-insured. The following resources may help to make prescriptions more accessible and reduce the cost associated barriers with treatment.

United Way Prescription Assistance Information
A helpful list of prescription drug resources provided by United Way of North Carolina.
NC MedAssist
NC MedAssist is the only non-profit pharmacy service in North Carolina. They provide access to prescription drug medications and over-the-counter medications for North Carolinians in need.
GoodRx
GoodRX offers a searchable database of prescription medications, aggregates prices of all local retail pharmacies, and offers discount cards that reduce the cost of prescription medications.
SingleCare
Similar to GoodRx, Singlecare compiles prescription drug prices and offers discounts for medications at local retail pharmacies.

Off-Campus Community Resources

North Carolina Department of Health & Human Services Low-Income Services
NC DHHS lists healthcare, child care, housing, financial, nutrition assistance resources for individuals and families, regardless of income.
North Carolina Association of Free & Charitable Clinics
Another helpful database of state-wide community resources that are accredited by the NCAFCC.
Mecklenburg County Free & Low Cost Clinics
A database of free or low-cost healthcare clinics in Mecklenburg County, viewable as a map or list in English or Spanish
DSS - Adult Medicaid
Medicaid is a medical assistance program that pays medical bills for people who meet certain eligibility requirements (such as income, age, or disability) which are based on Federal regulations and State law.
Charlotte Community Health Clinic
Charlotte Community Health Clinic Offers free, low-cost, or sliding scale healthcare to patients. Most major insurance companies are accepted as well as Medicaid.
Camino Health Center
Camino Health Center is a bilingual and multicultural health center that provides excellent and affordable holistic care to the underinsured and uninsured populations. Their mission is to equip people to live truly healthy lives.
Atrium Health
Atrium Health is a nationally recognized leader in shaping health outcomes through innovative research, education and compassionate patient care. Based in Charlotte, North Carolina, Atrium Health is an integrated, nonprofit health system with more than 70,000 teammates serving patients at 40 hospitals and more than 1,400 care locations.
Safe Alliance Sexual Trauma Resource Center
Safe Alliance's mission is to provide hope and healing to those impacted by domestic violence and sexual assault.

Services offered:
- 24/7 Greater Charlotte Hope Line: a free, safe, confidential 24/7 hotline staffed by highly-trained advocates
  - 980-771-4673
- Assistance in client's primary/preferred language
- Safety planning
- Crisis intervention
- Counseling (remote or in-person)
- Support groups for adults and children
They also provide ongoing advocacy, education, and emotional support to victims and their non-offending loved ones.