Geography Research Guide

Full text coverage in agriculture, ecology, energy, natural resources, geography, pollution and waste management, public policy, social impacts, urban planning and more.

The GeoRef database, produced by the American Geosciences Institute, is focused on comprehensive coverage of geoscience literature published worldwide. The content is indexed with geoscience terms from the GeoRef Thesaurus, and geolocation data (latitude/longitude) is also assigned, when applicable. GeoRef is the most in-depth A&I database available for geoscience literature and research. It helps researchers to address some of the most urgent environmental concerns.

This multidisciplinary database includes a citation mapping feature that allows you to track research across time, including almost 1.7 billion cited references allowing for comprehensive searches.

Provides access to 45+ journals in the earth sciences as well as the GeoRef abstract and index database.

A research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched but accessible information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Comprised of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, GreenFILE offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment.

The database provides a unique solution for agricultural and environmental research also including: agricultural economics; animal and veterinary sciences; aquaculture and fisheries; farming and farming systems; food and human nutrition; forestry; and plant sciences.

Includes records, some with full text, covering areas of the urban studies disciplines: urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas relevant to the discipline. International in scope.

A great database to get started with for your research on any topic. Use it to search for articles from scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals, newspapers, and magazines.

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.

Sanborn Maps are large scale plans of a city or a town, drawn to a scale of 50 feet to an inch. These historical maps from 1867–1970 list street blocks and building numbers including numbers in use at the time the map was made.

Journals, books, and book series in the sciences including: chemical sciences, computer science, engineering, environmental sciences, geosciences, life sciences, mathematics, medicine, physics from the publisher, Springer-Verlag.

The most comprehensive bibliographic database of technology and engineering research literature, containing citations and abstracts of articles and technical reports from over 5000 engineering journals and conferences.

Literature across all fields of science and social science. Comprehensive coverage of literature across all fields of science and social science. Provides access to more than 850 of Elsevier's primary research journals, which focus on scientific, medical, biomedical and technical areas.

Provides access to academic journals and books covering a wide range of disciplines; it also includes some limited primary source collections.

TRID provides access to over 900,000 records of transportation research worldwide.

1970-2020 Tract level Census data from GeoLytics. The data for years 1970, 1980, 1990, 2000 and 2010 are recalculated and normalized, and the report uses the 2020 tract ID (FIPS code). This allows you to compare data for various years within the exact same boundary definitions. Limit one user at a time.

Provides in-depth coverage of cultures, nature, science, technology and more with comprehensive, relevant articles and legendary photographs and maps.

Includes indexes and full-text of doctoral dissertations and master's theses.